We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the Beach”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Circle, mid Feb 2012, and which has just been refurbished. Best rooms are oceanfront, ok, they cost more than partial ocean views, but give views of Waikiki Beach as good as any other hotel in the area at a fraction of their prices. The unusual shape of the hotel (like a Chinese lantern) was ideal when the property was built, as can be seen from the black and white photo in reception, when the property was surrounded by sand dunes and palm trees with a view in every direction. Progress has caught up, and hotels and condo's have now almost encircled the hotel. However, the position, is superb, it's at maybe the best spot on Waikiki Beach. For price and sea view, it's a winner, with a balcony. Room size, well, it is a circular building and is rather quaint and "compact". Room comfort and cleanliness, very good. Amenities, it's just a place to stay. There's no restaurant, however, there is an Eggs n' Things diner at the front (no business connection to the hotel). But it's only open from 6.00 am to 2.00 pm, and there's always an endless queue of mainly young Japanese tourists waiting to get a seat and serving. Would I stay there again, most certainly.

Room Tip: If like me, this is your first time to Oahu, it's worth the extra for an ocean front room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    451
    139
    40
    19
See reviews for
272
492
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is possibly the most noisy hotel I have ever used. We had room 704, with Ocean View, for 3 nights. The problem is that Waikiki's main road is between the hotel and the ocean, and there is minimal soundproofing. We were woken around 5 am each morning by the beeps of the reverse warning of a truck collecting garbage.

There are no public facilities, no breakfast offered, not even any wine glasses available. The hotel follows the outdated business model of offering Ethernet Internet access at $9.95 per day, when the current model is to offer free wifi.

On the other hand, it is well placed and only a short walk from the centre of Waikiki, and the front desk staff were pleasant and generally helpful.

Overall, not bad value compared to other hotels in Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My late husband and I stayed here on our two trips to Hawaii. The first time for a week and the second time for a whole 26 days!! We love it. GREAT location!!! We sat on our lanai and watched the runners light the torches every night and watched the sunset......low price and best location!!!

Room Tip: ASk for the ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for a few nights after a long flight. We found the location fantastic. Despite being on the main street, it was quiet in the rooms. The views were spectacular if you have an ocean view room (or even partial).

The rooms were clean, albeit a bit cosy. The bathroom was tiny, but that was ok for us as we were only using the room to sleep. There isnt much room to really spread out outside the beds. We had an ocean view room with a fairly small balcony and a TV with cable that worked... kinda! The facade of the hotel is noticable - being the only circle shaped hotel on the main road. Dont let the foyer put you off. When we first got there, the foyer looked like a cheap tacky motel, but the staff were nice and helpful, and rooms a good win. I have recommended this hotel to a few people and they have said it was fantastic considering price and location. Definitely a find. I would stay there again if I was after somewhere cheap and clean, and still close enough to all the action.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Looking4NextHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This cool little hotel is a steal, just across the street from Waikiki Beach. The rooms are just big enough, and stylishly decorated. Essential amenities are great quality. Beach towels, chairs and toys are free for the asking. The view of the beach from many rooms is unobstructed. Best of all, the hotel fronts the Kuhio Beach Pavilion, where the nightly hula show takes place. You are just a short walk from the famous shops, restaurants, parks and zoo. And just a hop across the street to a gorgeous, family friendly beach. We took advantage of the partial day room rental on our last day, which gave us the opportunity to fully enjoy our last hours on the Island by taking a sunset cocktail cruise, then showering and packing and squeezing in one last great dinner before our midnight flight home.

Room Tip: Higher floor, beach front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bdobbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

As very seasoned and, we admit it, rather “spoilt” international travelers we were truly in doubt as to choice of hotel for our 4-night stay at Waikiki Beach as we didn’t want to spend a fortune on the accommodation but neither wished to deviate from our demands for a central, front-row and direct beach access location as well as a full ocean view. By co-incident I stumbled across The Aston Circle – and, voila, here was the perfect match to meet our criteria. Following good conversations here on TripAdvisor pro and cons were turned with fellow members - and we are more than happy that we made this hotel our final choice.

We booked one of the slightly more expensive oceanfront rooms and attached a request to the form for upper level – absolutely worthwhile. The latter had been duly noted and the receptionist handed us with a big smile the key to a room on the 12th floor (the hotel is 14th story high “only”). Our feet were swept totally away when we entered the room and met with a 180 degree undisturbed view of Waikiki Beach and the turquoise ocean as an endless backdrop! No reason to draw the curtains as you have complete privacy and hence, this panorama unfolded for our eyes every morning as could be fully enjoyed from the bed as well. To the room is a small balcony with a couple of plastic chairs and a coffee table. As the name so very well indicates, the hotel is shaped as a circle and hence the rooms do get sort of a funny shape. In spite of same and although likewise on the small size, the room was very light, airy and with a tropical decor and offered a good king size bed, a tiny corner with cloakroom and sink and a small bathroom with shower. Basic with no frills, but definitely clean and well maintained. American guests may not think much of the little bathroom, but we were all fine with it. And we loved the little humoristic features such as a tiny children’s sand bucket with shovel placed in the bathroom and a tiny orange rubber fish greeting us on the edge of the sink.
OBS: If you are suffering from claustrophobia you may not like the open-fenced balconies that are placed outside the building as, admittedly, a couple of times it did feel a bit scary “hanging” on the wall in that height, but yet again, the view is so breathtaking that it’s all forgotten in a split second. Further, you have the option of a lower placed room, of course.

The hotel has no other facilities as such apart from a tiny open air lounge/reception area and a tour-operator desk. But what else do you really need, when you have the mile long golden sandy beach and the bluest water just across the street? No need for a pool. Beach towels could be picked up with the reception, so all you had to do was to put on your swimsuit and flip-flops in your room, take the elevator down to the reception, pick up your towel and make your way across the street and place yourself in this water-wonderland! OK admittedly, it would have been nice if some sun-umbrellas and beach-seats could have been provided for – but you can find same at a small public beach-booth located just where you cross the street and from which surfboards and other watersport equipment are for rent. Neither does the hotel have a restaurant, but yet again – who need that when you have the entire Waikiki Beach with its numerous restaurants just next to you. It’s really only up to you to make your pick! Next to the hotel you do likewise find an ABC convenience store and several of the traditional budget take-away restaurants such as McDonald etc. Further, pick-up/drop-off for the many tour-coaches take place just a few yards down the side-street. Finally, a tiny green area/park is also to be found just across the street. Here several late afternoons we experienced free luaus – or even better – we could watch most of it from our very own balcony and hence at the same time enjoy a sundowner and the breathtaking orange sunset on the waters… We couldn’t have asked for a better location!
OBS: Having no own garden-terrace, ocean-bar, restaurant etc. we enjoyed very much to stroll the short distance to legendary Moana Surfrider where we dined or sipped cocktails al fresco listening to the lapping water or local live music.
OBS OBS: Even better than to rent sun-umbrellas – go to ABC and purchase your own at USD 15!

The staff at The Aston Circle we experienced all to be very friendly and accommodating. We arrived midday and as our room wasn’t ready this early, we were immediately offered to change our clothes at a small toilet by the reception and leave the luggage with them in order for us to get as much out of our day as possible. Whenever we came to pick up a beach towel or to ask for directions we were met with a smile and a helping hand. Check-in/check-out went fast and smooth and one of the added bonuses to staying at The Aston Circle you are never wasting time as with its only 14 floors and limited number of guests you are never stuck in queues anywhere.

As you may reckon we were fully satisfied with our stay at The Aston Circle and will most certainly choose to stay there again should our way take us to Hawaii again. As long as expectations are kept in perspective you’ll have a good time here and most certainly get value for your money. Especially, Europeans

Room Tip: It is so absolutely worthwhile to pay the little extra for an upgrade to an oceanfront room. And the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sask.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my 4 time at the Circle--rates have gone up a bit but then everything is a bit more expensive in Honolulu.. Same good service, same beautiful view.I didn't care too much for the new coffee maker in the room--prefered the coffee at mcdonalds. For good value I highly recommend this hotel--hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hosta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Shore Waikiki
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Address: 2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki's best value - directly across from Waikiki Beach. This whimsical ocean-themed hotel's distinctive circular shape offers panoramic views and great rates surrounded by shopping, dining and ocean activities. All rooms have private lanais, most with an ocean view. Playful ambiance, beach proximity and affordability make this hotel a much sought-after jewel in Waikiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing