We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here for a week and a half. At first I was nervous when we checked in. Another guest came to the front desk complaining about garbage. She said that she could see it from their window. There were also non-mentioned charges for coffee, paper, internet at $10 a day. Parking is $15 a day (standard). When we got to the room it ended up being a really nice suite. Clean and well organized. The full kitchen allowed for saving some cash at the local restaurants for breakfast/snacks. The pool is small but roomy enough for the kids. There is a small store that carries all types of items you may need or have forgotten. The location is close to Waikiki beach and the Zoo. So overall it was a decent hotel at a good price that was clean and utile.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4Zs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Aloha 4Zs,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    618
    264
    88
    59
See reviews for
792
207
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at Aston Waikiki Sunset in April of last year and were pleasantly surprised by both the amenties and the location of the hotel itself. We stayed as a family of 4 (two being teenagers) and we had plenty of room amongst the four of us.
The kitchen was adequately equipped with all amenities and utensils you could need which was helpful as we bought groceries for the week for cost effectiveness and ate all breakfasts and some lunches in our room, as well we dined one evening pool side with the BBQ's provided. It was an opportuniy to spend a nice quality evening with family.
The hotel was pleasant upon arrival as were the hotel attendants. The front foyer was open air with ceiling fans and foliage and plants blowing in the entrance way what a treat coming from Canada.
The hotel itself is somewhat off the strip which suited us just fine, it allowed for daily walks to the beach which was very enjoyable and only 10 minutes away. At the end of the street is a fantastic bar and grill called Tiki's and is a must see. The beach you can see almost immediately upon exiting the hotel. You can enjoy all the cute shops and eateries along the way to the heart of waikiki beach.
We enjoyed this hotel and Oahu immensely and our planning our next family vacation there for Christmas break. How can you go wrong doing a Hawaiin Christmas.
Other points of interest were the Dukes restaurant also along the strip and a tepanyaki restaurant further up the strip inside a mall. Check out the paradise cove luau for some authenticity, and make sure to book your parasailing and snorkelling at Hunama Bay are an absolute must.....The honolulu zoo is up the street from this hotel as well.

Room Tip: we stayed on a higher level of the hotel I think it was above the 14th floor as these were all renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Aloha MsBeaton,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your stay with us and for your suggestions to our readers. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our accommodations, service and location. Yes, eating a meal in our rooms will save a lot of money versus eating out. I'm happy you found great value by staying with us.

By the way, Hawaii loves Canadians!!!

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit in December 2012. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed a week at the hotel recently and it was a very enjoyable experience. The one bedroom unit facing Diamond Head was very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped so we were able to cook most evenings. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and it it down the quieter end of Waikiki which suited us well. Car parking is conveniently located next door and easily assessible.
The bed was one of the best we had ever slept in!
Staff were also very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macca41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Aloha Macca41,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, accommodations and location.

There's great value in staying with us as you found out. Eating out every night can get expensive so by just eating one meal a day in our room will save you lots of money.

Mahalo for your great comments and we look forward to your next viisit. Until then, Mahalo and . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We spent a week here and really enjoyed it! The hotel isn't on the beach but it's just a short walk down and close to all the action. We walked everywhere, even with our toddler and infant. I liked that it wasn't on the strip but off a little so we didn't get all that beach noise. We had a nice view of Diamond Head as well. The pool was nice and the full kitchen a plus! I would have rated it 5 stars but it could use a little updating furniture and bedding wise.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah58504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Aloha Sarah58504,

Mahalo for your great comments on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, service and location. Yes, we're in the quiet part of Waikiki and it's just a 6 minute walk to Waikiki Beach and a few more minutes to most of the major attractions.

Our full kitchen makes it very convenient for families, especially for the young children. You can prepare their meals and save lots of money too.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUCKLAND
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

There are 12 of us stayed for 12 days starting on 18/02/2012 - 27/02/2012. We had a fantastic time and staff are very helpful. We enjoyed every moment in that place. Room are so tidy and clean all the time. Everything in the kitchen spotless and clean can't complain. We feel at home every minute we entered the front door. I am looking forward to come back soon.

Room Tip: Corners suites are larger and sunny nice view to the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REPEKA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Aloha REPEKA L,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words about our service and accommodations and especially about feeling at home. I will be sure to share this with our staff as it's important for them to know that their effort to provide exceptional guest service is both recognized and appreciated.

Mahalo for posting this on TripAdvisor to share with all of our readers. We look forward to your next visit and until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Some of the reviews of this place were a little off putting but I think some people are maybe too fussy or just want to complain!!

As a group we had a single and 2 bedroom condo on the 27 floor. The double room was well set out with a good kitchen and had everything we needed. It had a great view of diamond head and the ocean. The single room was just as well set out with an ocean view. Unfortunately this room had the balcony door locked due to the renovations going on outside but this didn't affect us greatly- we were there to be out doing the touristy things, going to the beach, etc- not sitting in the room! There was also a laundry room on the floor which was put to good use. The 6th floor has an area for free wifi which was useful - unfortunately no wifi in the rooms only landline internet.

Otherwise it was a great place to stay and I would happily recommend it and would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ausbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Aloha Ausbk,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you found great value in our accommodations and enjoyed our location and service.

Yes, two bedroom units have a great unobstructed view of Diamond Head, and in my opinion, it's the best in Waikiki. As for your one bedroom unit, my apology about not having access to the lanai. For the safety and comfort of our guests as well as the safety of the construction workers, the contractor has restricted access to the lanai in the areas they are working on. Your understanding is greatly appreciated.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights starting on 2/11. The unit we had was a 2 bedroom with Diamond Head view on the 28th floor. The condo was nicer than we expected. Everything in the kitchen was new. The linens were also new. Jennifer who greeted us upon our arrival could not been more gracious and helpful. All of the staff we encountered were great.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Diamond Head side has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Aloha lsfexec,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our service and accommodations and I'm sure you also enjoyed the spectacular view of Diamond Head. I forwarded a copy of your posting to Jennifer as it's important for her to know that her efforts to provide exceptional guest service is both recognized and apprecitated.

Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Property: Aston Waikiki Sunset
Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing