We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden costs, shabby place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden costs, shabby place”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

For those who are planning to stay near Waikiki beach for the first time - get ready for hidden costs when booking your room! It is called amenity fee, it is around $20 per room/night and is not included in the price of the room. They also do not tell you they gonna take $100 from your card as a credit hold when you are checking in + parking is $15/ night. With all these hidden costs, the room was not really that great value. Room itself was nice and clean (BUT - we found someone's old soap in the bathroom and half finished bottle of rum in one of the kitchen cabinets!), but the rest of hotel is old and shabby. I did not get a good sleep there - lot of A/C noise during night and way too soft beds. Sauna was supposed to be open from 9 am, but it was still cold when I went there at that time. Next time I will definitely go somewhere else. Not reccommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KackaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Aloha KackaS,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear that you found items in your room upon arrival. I will be addressing the issue with our Director of Housekeeping.
As for the hidden costs such as the amenity fee and parking, these are services we've had for quite some time. The amenity fee has been introduced in 2011. Parking has always been here, the only exception would be the change in price. Both of these services have been communicated to all Travel Agents and Travel Partners. I'm hoping the travel agent you booked your stay with did inform you of the services.

Thanks again for your comments and for staying with us.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    631
    273
    89
    59
See reviews for
811
214
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oil City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel! It was very comfortable and had everything our family needed. Only a few steps to the beach & all the restaurants & shops in Waikiki. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 986AngelaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Aloha Angela S,

Thank you for your great comments on your recent stay with us. We're glad to hotel was able to meet your expectations.

Mahalo and we will be looking forward seeing you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay for a week in November. The hotel is in a great location close to the beach, shops and lots of restaurants. The rooms are neat and tidy and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The room service staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a lovely view of the ocean and diamond head which made our stay that little bit nicer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Aloha Sheree W,

Thank you for your great comments on your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms, especially the view and service. I will forward your compliments to share with the staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I never write reviews but believe I must warn others. We felt misled by the photos and hotel description. The hotel is VERY dated and overpriced. Upon arrival we were put into a DIRTY room (unmade bed, full garbage cans, etc). We were left in the lobby while (ambivalent) staff promised to have the room cleaned (since the hotel was "full"). After an hour we checked for progress and were promptly given a different room because the problem hadn't been dealt with. The new room was marginally better and we knew immediately we did not want to stay. When we tried to check out we were informed our three nights were prepaid and non-refundable. We left anyway after one sleepless, noisy night. No refund, no apology, no service. Wow, what a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Aloha Sandy M,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your honest review. We are truly sorry about the negative experience upon your arrival. We are sincerely sorry for not meeting your expectations and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I have forwarded your comments to our Director of Housekeeping for her immediat attention.

Again, Thank you for your honest review and for staying with us.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I never write reviews but felt like I had to after my great stay at the Sunset.

I booked my hotel for a budget stay for my family's spring break vacation from 3/6-3/12. Honestly, I was hesitant after reading the reviews here. It was a great stay in almost all respects.

The building is older like many properties in Waikiki. However the lobby and our room #1404 was spotless. Our family of five was very comfortable and happy when we were assigned a room with a partial ocean and Diamond Head view even though we booked a city view. We also liked the PS3 and free BluRay and DVD rentals. The location was great for us as it was close to great eats like Teddy's, Beachside cafe and Sansei sushi (definitely try the 50% off early dinner!). Never used the pool or tennis courts as we were normally at the beach.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze. The elevators were somewhat slow but that was a minor annoyance given all the positives.

Considering price for me this was 5 stars. When I booked this a saved $400 over other options so maybe I had low expectations but my family and I loved it and will book it again on a return trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearsnsunsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Aloha bearsnsunsfan,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you found our property met your expectations and more.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!!!

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After reading the reviews, my expectations were not really high, but our stay was really great. There was a little confusion at check in (at 2AM). We were put in a mountain view 2 bedroom, when we reserved an ocean view 2 bedroom, but it was quickly resolved the next morning. As far as the view, we were on the 32nd floor, so the views could not be beat, especially the diamond head view from the living area. The ocean views from the bedrooms where really great to wake up to in the morning. Everything was clean and in working order. All the staff was great, very friendly. We were greated almost every time we walked through the lobby. We didn't use the grills or pool area, but they looked o.k. to me. Newspaper was at the door every morning (part of amenity fee). I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have the best views due to tall buildings between hotel and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernladyAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Aloha SouthernladyAlabama,

Thank you for providing your comments on your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear we were able to resolve the issue with your room. We're also glad to hear the service and product of the hotel made your stay more enjoyable.

Mahalo for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The good: Location was excellent for walking to Waikiki and other nearby beaches. Front desk staff were incredibly friendly -- some of the best we've encountered -- and other employees we met in the halls were also nice. The grills for guests' use were great and worked well. Shower was large and water pressure was good. The kitchen had full-size stove/oven, microwave, coffee maker, fridge/freezer. It also had a handful of cooking utensils, a large and small saucepan, frying pan and rice cooker, in addition to the standard dishes/silverware, wine glasses and a few larger mixing bowls. We were provided with dish soap and a wrapped, new sponge for doing our own dishes. The bed was comfortable enough, and the one bedroom plus living area was plenty for the two of us. We borrowed three DVDs from the kiosk in the lobby (also part of the amenities fee). One skipped pretty badly but was fixed by wiping down the disc.

The not-so-good: The internet (included in the $18/day amenities fee) worked only about half the time. That was disappointing, especially considering we were paying "extra" for the privilege of a spotty connection. When we first arrived, our unit smelled horribly of curry. Despite opening the door to the balcony and running the stove fan all night, the smell pretty much lingered our entire stay. The downside of being able to cook your own food! The parking spots are TINY and there are lots of dead ends in the garage. Housekeeping was hit or miss. Sometimes they'd forget to replace some of the towels, once they took our old dish towel and didn't replace it -- same for the coffee and tea.

Other: As others have mentioned, there is an $18/day mandatory fee, plus $15 per night to park. We knew this going in and just figured it into the room cost. I wish it wasn't done this way, but it seems par for the course. Decor wasn't great but wasn't as bad as I'd expected after reading other comments. We had to wait a long time for the elevators maybe twice during our week. Mostly, the wait time was about what you'd expect from a building that size, not too bad.

Overall, this hotel met our needs. We cooked most of our meals, saving a lot of money. From our 17th floor room, we could see the ocean between other buildings and could see Diamond Head from the lanai -- better than I expected. This is a great value for the price, and we'd happily stay here again, although I would also look into what else is available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SushiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Aloha SushiFoodie,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We glad to hear our staff and room amenities met your needs. As for the areas you pointed out, I will forward the information to the respective departments for improvement.

Again, Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon.

Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#48 of 84 in Honolulu
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Property: Aston Waikiki Sunset
Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing