We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location and Value for money”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is perfect if you intend on doing some cooking for yourself and spending a little more time at the hotel than you would in a normal room. We had what i consider a large suite for two people with good cooking and eating facilities.
Our view from all the windows and balcony was terriffic, of Diamond Head and the beach/ ocean we could have watched the sun rise and set every day.
We did not use many of the hotel facilities, i did use the pool a few times, although basic it was nice and quiet, a treat if the beach was too busy, the only problem was in the afternoon most of the pool area is in the shade.
The beach and park are a very short walk as is the zoo and aquarium there are also lots of shops close by to stock up on supplies.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Mads_852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Aloha _Mads_852,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We're glad you enjoyed the views from your room, especially the sunrise and sunset. Our location is close to most of the attractions in Waikiki and I'm glad you mentioned it.

Thank you again and for your review.

Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    625
    267
    88
    59
See reviews for
801
209
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

checked in early which was great after long flight from Aust. room clean and tidy and plenty of room for 5. kids
given
beach balls on check in. great kitchen and well stocked. shower not the hottest and we had trouble changing
over from bath to shower but this could have just been us. Internet is quite slow. great bbq and pool is not the best
but enough to cool off in. We had ocean views which was a great bonus. Hotel is about 5min walk to beach and
abc shop in 2 mins. It is a bit of a walk to the main strip though takes about 15 mins. overall great place to stay for the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Aloha Laura G,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review of your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear we were able to check you in early. I believe it makes a great difference when traveling from a long flight. It seems having a kitchen really made your stay enjoyable.

Thank you again for your review and for staying with us.

Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled to Waikiki for the first 10 nights of an 18 night stay before heading off to Maui for a relaxing resort style stay.
We did plenty of research on trip advisor before booking and chose this hotel for several reasons. Firstly being a block away from the beach cut the cost dramatically but did not effect out stay at all. We were very nervous prior to arriving and were not expecting too much of the hotel as we new it was rated as 'a little dated'. Even as we pulled up at the hotel we were telling the kids not to expect much as we only needed somewhere to sleep.
Walking into reception to check in, even the man behind the counter could not alleviate our worry as he was very official and did not greet us with the enthusiasm that is everywhere on the island.
By the way we booked through Flight Centre in Australia who suggested a transfer company that would have taken us on a 'timeshare sales breakfast' before going to the hotel. Once we realised what we were in for we changed to Roberts Hawaii who were half the price and greeted us at baggage claim at the airport.
Once we got into our room we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious, we had a room on the 26th floor looking towards the hills (which were amazing at night when lit up).
The kitchen was a full kitchen with a huge oven and full sized fridge. It was a one bedroom with lcd tvs in both thd bedroon and the lounge area. The pull out sofa was very comfortable. The balcony was pretty small but very secure if you are worried about small children getting out there.
The hotel is situated at the bottom end of Waikiki near the zoo but we didnt find it a problem. The breach was close and a portion is sectioned off by a small sea wall making it ideal for young kids.
Shopping at Waikele outlets is a must and so cheap, also Diamond Head is very close and well worth the trip. We were lucky to meet a local transfer guy called 'Kentucky'. He made our stay so much easier as he basically became our own personal guide. We would literally call him when ever we needed to go anywhere. Most of the concierge's will know him although they may resist giving his details because they presumably get kickbacks from the tour operators.
The pool at the Aston is basic and can get a little windy but overall the hotel is a good choice if you are a family on a budget.
We caught the bus quite a bit. Make sure when ever you catch a bus you ask for a transfer ticket. It means that you can get on a bus again within a couple of hours.
If you are into your coffee and I mean a flat white or latte then the best place we found was Vintage Island Coffee along the main Waikiki strip next to the Westin Hotel.
You will need to be a little tollerant of the many homeless people sleeping on the streets of Waikiki. They do not cause anyone any hassle but there are quite a few.
Waikiki is a very safe place to stay. The people are great and always willing to help.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Aloha Phil R,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Aston Waikiki Sunset. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms. The view towards the hills or mountains is very beautiful at night. Our rooms are geared towards families, so having a full kitchen is very helpful.

Thank you again for staying with us and also pointing out recommendations for future travelers.

Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We live on Kauai and took a long vacation to Honolulu to revisit the big city lifestyle we missed from our previous home in North Hollywood. A friend of ours recommended this hotel, because it is family friendly and has a full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. We booked the best room in the hotel, and the view is spectacular of the ocean, Diamondhead and the Waikiki hills. It is also very spacious and somewhat luxurious. However, the floors were very dirty and our two year old's feet were basically black. Make sure you call before you arrive, and ask them to clean your room we'll and take note of the piece of paper on your kitchen counter that shows your cleaner's name. If you get Josie, you are in trouble. ;-) Also, the AC was screwed up. We called technicians twice to our room, but even after that, the AC worked when it wanted to. Overall, a good experience for our family, but not great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael-Stollaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Aloha Michael-Stollaire,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the penthouse despite the problems with the room. We're sorry to hear about the condition of the room upon arrival. I will be forwarding your comments to our Director of Housekeeping to improve upon our service.

Again, Thank you for your comments and for staying at the Aston Waikiki Sunset.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel was ok. The building could use some upgrading. Our room had a "musty" smell when we walked in. Our view was awesome.

If you book through Costco Travel be aware of their false advertising. One of the reasons we choose this hotel was that kids 12 and under are supposed to eat free. When we arrived we were handed a coupon book. The coupon book contained exactly 1 coupon for kids to eat free (and that was only if we booked a dinner cruise). I went and asked the front desk again the day after we checked in and was handed another worthless coupon book.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Aloha Chris H.

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I do apologize for any misunderstandings of our Aston Aloha Book. There are a limited number of restraurants that do participate in this program.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the view of the room. As for the building, we are working with the Condominium Association on a lobby and public area renovation project that we hope to begin in the near future.

Thanks again for your review and Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This Waikiki hotel is near the zoo. Depending on where your room is located you can have awesome views of Diamond head. You are a about 2 blocks to Waikiki Beach or Kuhio Beach park. This is the quieter end of Waikiki. It is a bit of a walk to places like the Royal Hawaiian shopping center , but if you have a car rental the parking was super convenient and the entrance for the freeway was simpler than other parts of Waikiki. Most floors have laundry machines, super convenient. The pool area was very popular. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Aloha Margo H,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We're glad to here how our location was convenient for you for travel and for the beach. Thanks for pointing out our great views of Diamond Head as well.

Again, Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again!!!

Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is the second time staying at the Aston Waikiki Sunset for business and I enjoyed it once again. Room was on the 37th floor with a mountain view. The floor to ceiling windows in the living room provided a great view. Once again had great service at the front desk and housekeeping took notice of my schedule and ensured that my room was serviced so that it didn't interfere with my workday. I already have a reservation for my next trip in July. I also have 2 co-workers booked into the hotel and I'm sure they will enjoy it as much as I do. The room was clean, well maintained. The property overall is a little dated and showing age but the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The full kitchen saves on having to eat out continually. Brings a little bit of home to the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Aloha Phil099,

Thank you for coming back to stay with us!!! We're glad to hear you were able to enjoy your stay, even though you came for business.

Mahalo for staying with us and referring your co-workers to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Property: Aston Waikiki Sunset
Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing