We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Diamond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamond Head Beach Hotel
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A well located hotel which is also occupied by owners. We were fortunate enough to rent Unit 801 which is just high enough to be able to obtain great water views to the left and a peep of Waikiki to the right from the master bedroom. Like jaylance67 who made recent comments, we were amazed that there was a solid wall where the best views were to be obtained, but once you walked outside to the lanai, these views made up for it. This is where we spent most of our time, when relaxing there after a hard day at the beach or out shopping. In fact you don't even need to walk along to the local beach, as just to the left of the complex there is a stairway down into the warm tropical waters - so inviting. The cooking facilities are great, with a Safeway Supermarket not too far away. Also a treed park and fountain across the road if you like to be out of the rush and bustle but within walking distance to the hectic Waikiki area.

Room Tip: Any ocean facing condo from 801 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I have spent the last three days in Unit #105 at Diamond Head Beach Hotel, which is located in a very desirable strip of land between Diamond Head and central Waikiki.

The location could not be any better. The hotel is located directly on the water and within a short walk from Kaimanu Beach - a small but friendly beach thats not as crowded or caged in as the beaches directly on Waikiki. The hotel is across the street from a large park area where people are constantly starting soccer games - my brother-in-law has made a dozen new friends playing soccer in the past 48 hours! The restaurants, clubs and shops of Waikiki are about a 10 minute walk away, which is perfect because it keeps the crowds away but still remains easily accessible. At night, the area is quiet and peaceful - whereas Waikiki is a farm of pounding techno music and laughing club-goers.

The room is okay. It's basically the same as a motel room - there's two side-by-side queen beds in a big room with an attached kitchen and separate bathroom, and it has a medium sized outdoor patio. Nothing special, but the room has good AC and is on the ground-floor, which makes it easy to step outside. I imagine it is the cheapest room in the whole complex as its closest to the street and on the ground floor. Luckily, the area is more quiet than Waikiki so noise isn't a problem.

The biggest issue is the fact that the WiFi has NOT been working, which is a huge deal for someone like me. Fortunately, there is a Starbucks right at the edge of Waikiki nearby so I've been able to use my computer there.

Overall, I would say it is perfect for someone looking to spend most their time outside enjoying Waikiki and the beautiful island of Oahu. The price was excellent ($100/night) - much cheaper than anything half-decent a few blocks away on the Waikiki strip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in Unit #801 and loved the lanai and views of the Pacific and surfers and the cool breezes (though we cannot believe the ocean view is obstructed by the living room wall!). However, the rental company did not give us instructions on how to enter the complex on a Sunday with the intercom not working and no one at a front desk! The other caveat is that there is something amiss with the water that was not resolved the week we spent there. We had a couple of days with no cold water at all--and had to run the hot water for a long time until the cold water kicked in--and took a couple of scorching hot showers! This is an aged building with a rickety elevator and is definitely NOT a hotel--no one is around to provide assistance or advice. But the unit has been remodeled and is clean, comfortable and well supplied. If you are lucky to get the water system to behave and to get proper instructions on how to enter the complex, then I would say this is worth a stay due to the location, the beautiful views, and the lanai. Plus it is very quiet, with good breezes due to good cross ventilation.

Room Tip: We were in unit #801. The higher the floor the better the view--we were just above the Ambassador, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank jaylance67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been staying at the Diamond Head Beach Hotel for the month of Feb. for the last 8 years. We have stayed in the same condo for the last 6 years. Suite 1003 is on the 10th floor and has fantastic views in every direction. Many of the same people go for the month of Feb. every year so we know many of the other guests. It is located in close proximity to Waikiki but not too close. The Elks Lodge is three doors away. Evenings on the back lawn give you a great location to view spectacular sunsets, We are booked for next Feb. and we highly recommend it. Our overall rating is Excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our last visit to Oahu was short and sweet…as was our stay at the lovely Diamond Head Beach Hotel. We got to stay in the Pikake Suite, and the 12th floor ocean view from the balcony was simply amazing! The room was clean and the staff there were very friendly and helpful, not to mention a great price too :) Just outside of Waikiki, the area is very quiet..if you've ever been to Waikiki at night, you'll know that's a very good thing! Will definitely be back again soon…hopefully longer this time, LOL

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I recently completed my tour with the military in Hawaii and have been renting a condo at the Diamond Beach Hotel from Ohana Beach Rentals Hawaii while we look for a permanent residence. This condo hotel has been perfect for our needs and in a great location. There is swimming, surfing and snorkeling right out front. There is also a nice lawn where the kids can play which faces the ocean and is a killer place to watch the sunset. We even saw turtles swimming in the water on a regular basis. It is a perfect distance from Waikiki for a relaxing environment, yet a short walk down the beach or through the park to get to Waikiki nightlife and restaurants. There isn't much parking in the building, but plenty across the street and around the park. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is quiet and beautiful. I'm attaching some of our pictures so you can see for yourself. We are sad to have to leave but highly recommend it to anyone visiting Waikiki.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just returned from a week at the Diamond Head Beach Hotel, a hotel/condo building on the "Gold Coast" of Oahu.

We've read many of the other reviews and think that some people haven't understood what they signed up for. This is NOT a "Hotel" in the normal sense of the term. It is a condo that has many rental units in it.

The bad news: You get no housecleaning, no 'sheet turrndowns' or mints on your pillow, no room service, no front desk or concierge service, etc... Yes, you'll probably use the same sheets the entire stay unless you change them yourselves. No pool. No sandy beach if that's what you really want. This building is smooshed between two other buildings on either side. The unit we had (603-Tierra) had no water view and side view of Diamond Head. There is no parking but you can usually find metered parking on the street across from the building.

The good news:
1) You are on the Gold Coast of O'ahu! You are steps away from great snorkeling, swimming and surfing! You get into the water via the seawall; a long concrete bulkhead that has been there for decades and is holding up all the condos. It is what allows for the condos to be, very literally, right on the water. So close that there isn't even a beach. The buildings are about three feet from the water separated by the seawall. The seawall has a set of stairs that you use to get into the water. Right at the bottom the snorkeling is great and gets better the farther out you go.

2) You don't go to Hawaii to stay in your room... so the view isn't a big deal. Our unit had a kitchen and we made many meals there and took them down to the front grassy area that looks right out over the water. Lovely view!

3) It was clean and ready to be used.

4) It had spare sheets, plenty of towels (both beach and bath) and a fully equipped kitchen.

5) The building is removed from the noise and tourists of Waikiki but close enough to walk. We walked into Waikiki a few times for coffee, dinners, and exercise. Lovely walk along the park that fronts the beach. Perfect location.

If you stop thinking of this place as a 'hotel' and more like being able to use a friends condo while they're gone, then you get a better idea of what it's like. It's not cheap, but the payoff is good.

The only contact we had with staff was the woman who ran the rental office. She was definitely working on "Hawaiian time" but was otherwise very helpful. Other than that there were no staff to be seen except the woman who cleans and sweeps the public areas.

Complaints: It's a bit spendy, but it is Oahu. The cleaning fee ($250) is pure robbery for a couple like us with no kids and who are very clean to begin with.

Yes, we would stay there again. Our unit (603) was great but we might try for one higher up for better views. We would also bring a "kitchen kit" of condiments that don't necessarily want to buy at Safeway... the unit only had salt and pepper, nothing else.

Overall we had a great time. I feel it helped knowing what we were getting into. It matched our expectations and we had a great time in Honolulu!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SteveDeligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,669 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Beach Hotel

Address: 2947 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4655
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: £190 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Head Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diamond Head Beach Hotel is a vacation treasure that lets you discover the beauty of Waikiki as you’ve never seen located on the beach in Hawaii’s Gold Coast which is secluded from the traffic and the bustle of Waikiki. This oceanfront vacation property is just walking distance from the Waikiki strip and the best beaches on the Oahu South shore. For once in your life, enjoy an enchanting Hawaiian Vacation with ocean front accommodations, picture-perfect views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean and unrivaled tranquility. Come see why the Diamond Head Beach Hotel welcomes back returning guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Diamond Head Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Beach Honolulu
Hotel Diamond Head Beach
Diamond Head Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing