We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Fairway Villa”
Review of Fairway Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairway Villa
Vancouver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great stay at Fairway Villa”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in unit 1612, part of the Vacation International Timeshares. Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay except for no wifi. We were on wait list for 5 days to rent a wireless router at $5 per day but none was available so we visited Starbucks and McDonalds a lot to check our emails and surf the net. The unit was clean and the beds were comfortable. The A/C was a bit noisy. The free parking was awesome and such a great convenience. The location is excellent. There were no shampoo, conditioner and beach towels. We used our special shampoo brought from home and purchased our beach towels at Costco for $7 each. We used the blender to make smoothies daily and also made sure that we threw out our garbage once or twice a day. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yeungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This unit is part of Vacation International Timeshares. We stayed in unit 1914. The unit was very clean and well supplied. Quick elevator service. The small pool (which was not heated!) and a very small hot tub plus separate mens and women's saunas are located on the 29th floor, the rooftop rec. area. Plus there were three large BBQs there for our use - we could not get any of them lit for dinner but they were kept clean. Generally good condition one bedroom/one bath condo unit. Good security. The parking was a bit hairy the first time entering- had to find the exact parking stall on level 4 (for us) and then walk down the ramp to level 3 to catch the elevator which was not a big deal once we got used to it. The building is located on the Ala Wai canal which means more green space on the north side looking over a large golf course, the canal and a large school and stadium. We loved how close the beach was - less than a 10 minute walk - easy to carry your bag of beach gears. Some beach folks, we noticed, used a suitcase to bring the days worth of food/clothing, etc. to the beach. Lots of one way streets to get in and out of the area but easy access to the main areas of the city. I would recommend this stay to any VI timeshare holder. There are also several privately rented condos there and I cannot speak to the cleanliness or bug free zones of other units. After all, this is Hawaii and there are critters that live in damp places. Visitors need to monitor some details themselves (like removing garbage and not leaving food on counters or fruit peels in garbage very long - common sense for that climate!).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ronandelaine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

After waiting five years to take a honeymoon I was highly disappointed in the accommodations…which is a word I use very lightly for this “Villa”. First of all there was no shampoo or conditioner in the room, there was no maid service, no concierge (instead there are security officers), and cockroaches that invaded not only the kitchen sink and bathroom but also my BED! I felt so dirty and disgusting in this place that my husband and I left a day early and checked into a beautiful hotel down the street. Also, beware if you are assigned a parking space on the second floor of the building as there is no elevator – this forced us to lug our four heavy suitcases through an emergency side entrance and have to go down a flight of stairs just to get to the lobby…by the way, there is no bellman so the security officer just looked at us as we struggled down the stairs with our bags. Also, what the online pictures do not show is if you get a studio room you will have a Murphy Bed (these are the beds that fold out from the wall) and the TV will be on a bureau right next to the bed making it impossible to lay in bed and watch TV…I saw about ¾ of the screen on my side of the bed. Now you may say, “who goes to Hawaii to watch TV?” but trust me when you are staying in this room the last thing you want to do to unwind is sit in there reading a book because if you are like me it makes you think too much about how depressing the room looks. Finally, the filth – I felt so dirty in the room that I bought Lysol wipes and did some cleaning myself – with every wipe of the wipe I got dirt which just made me feel gross. Please note, this is NOT a hotel…it is an apartment complex that has rooms allotted for timeshare customers. It is really sad that what started off as a lovely gift from my relatives turned into a nightmare…a true thriller at the Villa.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
15 Thank ElleMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked this rental through our timeshare, we had never been to Honolulu before. So this is our opinion
Pro's: Walking distance to beach, shopping & eating. Grocery store right at the corner for eating in to save money. Coffee shop in the grocery store. Tour bus to pearl Harbor picked us up at the corner, so easy. Did not have to drive after we arrived, walked to most places. Clean unit which is important to us. Security was good. Murphy bed was comfortable. We loved walking to the beach and relaxing all day enjoying the beautiful views. The roof has a nice view of Honolulu which was nice and they have BBQ there for use.

Con's: it was very hard to find, the room was an end unit and very small for 3 people. Sirens went off all night and could barely sleep, walls are really thin, air conditioner made some noise to drown out all the sirens, didn't like how high up we were with only a glass door between us & the edge. Not a lot of utensils to use for cooking family meals or BBQ but if you can improvise power to you.
Would we stay again? I am not sure would really have to be our last option.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gigi805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This room was a total nightmare and ruined at least 3 days of our vacation; the night we arrived there was a note that it would be sprayed for pests the next day. That was the first clue, then that night my husband was up all night killing cockroaches; they fogged and sprayed the next day and we were free of them for 2 days, then the bugs reappeared, bathroom and kitchen. It wasn't because we kept food out; it was secured in the frig, and we kept the garbage sack in the freezer to deter them. We did not cook or do any food preparation in the kitchen.

We booked this place with Worldmark who has a contract with Vacation International; only 19 rooms here are of that corporation--the rest are apartments. There were holes in the drapes and the lampshades; behind the toilet were many chunks of rust I guess were from the pipes. I felt filthy staying here. Totally disgusting---we booked room #1512 (random choice per computer) No one from either Timeshare did anything to help us. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank whimsey104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Booked apartment #1410 with Captain Cook Resorts for 2 weeks to get over jetlag and before we headed off to the Big Island. We didn’t plan to spend much time here, as we expected to be out most of the day.

Pros
• Fairway Villa is very well managed. Security is top notch (the reception staff are always at their desk and looking at the cameras). Staff is friendly and building is clean. Parking for #1410 is spacious.
• Our Guest Services Rep, Bryon was waiting for us when we drove up to the condo. He took us up to our assigned parking spot, showed the apartment to us, noticed there were some start-up amenities missing (washing up liquid, sponge etc) and promptly replaced them.
• Washer and dryer (good for small loads) in Studio were extremely useful.
• The 29th floor deck is great for watching fireworks and life going on below in Waikiki. BBQs are immaculately maintained.
• The two single beds weren’t too soft.

Cons
• My biggest gripe was the air conditioning unit. Even after the service staff came to fix/clean out the unit, it continued to rattle, shake, and make loud noises whenever the compressor kicked in. We could not figure which was worse and more detrimental to our sleep quality – sleeping with the air con on or with the windows open and being woken up throughout by traffic/sirens/drunks below.
• Even though the unit has a kitchen, don’t bother cooking here – the exhaust fan doesn’t work. We made breakfast one morning and the smell of bacon and eggs just didn’t leave the room.
• Periodically expect other cooking smells to waft in from other people’s units (even with the doors and windows closed).

Overall, if you are looking for a budget apartment with parking in Waikiki, this might suit you. But as a previous reviewer mentioned, don’t expect to get any sleep until they change the air con unit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank happy2bealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

When we booked online pictures looked great & 2 bdr. 2 baths sounded wonderful for about $120 a night. Boy were we wrong! This place is old & has had little or no upgrading since it was built , probably in the 60's. It is dirty even though they charge a cleaning fee... We bought supplies & did it ourselves. The kitchen is gross.. Dead cockroaches in the silverware drawer as well as grime. I wiped the shelves off & rag was visibly dirty. The dishes & few pans are on these shelves. The kitchen is poorly stocked barely enough to get by not to mentioned everything feeling dirty even after being washed by us. The one bedroom is hot & bed is very uncomfortable. There are 2 A/C units that are older than dirt but help if u r right in front of them. We called about early checkout or being moved but were told we would lose our $400 deposit & have to pay for the duration of our stay. I could go on & on. Bottom line don't waste your money! It is false advertising.. You are NOT getting what's in the pictures online! Don't stay in room 2101...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Klemme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ilima Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#79 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Waikiki
444 Nahua
444 Nahua
#26 of 45 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Waikiki
Royal Kuhio Resort
Royal Kuhio Resort
#10 of 45 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Villa

Property: Fairway Villa
Address: 2345 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2968
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairway Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Villa Hotel Honolulu
Fairway Hotel Honolulu
Fairway Villa Honolulu
Fairway Villa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing