We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice in Waikiki”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were a little nervous when we booked this hotel because it seemed like a wildcard, being a boutique hotel and having conflicting online reviews, but as soon as we checked in we knew we had struck gold! We stayed in the one bedroom suite (for which I could hardly find any reviews) and it was awesome. The bedroom was very spacious with plenty of room to open all of our (many) suitcases and still walk around. There was a nice leather recliner by the window. The furnishings were tasteful and the bed was extremely comfortable (I am picky)! There was a real door to close, so I could sleep while my spouse had the lights on in the other room (main room). The main room was a combination of a living room (couch + coffee table + a giant TV screen) /dining room (round table + 2 chairs) plus an eat-in kitchen. There was also a partial ocean view from this room. The kitchen had a microwave, a fridge AND a (big) wine cooler, a Keurig coffee maker, nice granite countertops and 4 barstools (in case you invite guests?). Too bad we didn't see pictures of this before we booked, though I can see pictures NOW on the website (so y'all can have a look a priore, not like me who went in blind). This room was on the 10th floor (top) and for someone like me who prefers to take the stairs most of the time, it was nice that the building stairs were accessible at all times and were lit at all times (not by motion sensors like most Waikiki hotels). Since the lobby is on 2, it was only 8 short flights up and down, far quicker than the elevator.

Now about the staff. They were the best. Attentive, available, very pleasant, and also able to keep their distance when we didn't need anything. There is clearly someone on staff who is very good at origami, because there were pieces of paper AND TOWELS shaped like animals all over the rooms. I've never stolen anything from any hotel in my life, but I was very tempted to take the towel folded in the shape of a duck home with me :)

There was a professional photographer at the hotel when we were there (who tried to grab me into some shots - I declined), so hopefully that means more pictures will be online, which I think is great.

The pool barely exists, but I didn't care (there's an ocean, yo). The hotel is not in the hub of waikiki but almost at the edge, right by the canal. That was fine for me, but if your plan is to experience Waikiki 100% of the time then you might want to be more centrally located. Other than that I have nothing else to caveat.

Room Tip: Get the suite. Great value. I only wish the hotel had more than 1 of these, because if it's not...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yos9694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for The Equus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Little concerned about the hotel given location right on Ala Moana blvd. Found the hotel to be very well maintained, great room (little small) clean well appointed. The staff was excellent. Two drawbacks, with windows open you will hear traffic, however I've been in places in Waikiki that charged twice as much and had worse noise. Oddly accessing the hotel from the parking area is a little bit of a challenge. From parking to the lobby you go out to the street down the sidewalk and up two short flights of stairs and then into the lobby. It was easy but if you have any mobility issues at all it could be difficult. With all that said for $130 a night including tax and parking in Waikiki it was a great value for a quality place. No question I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garyp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a great weekend here - the room was comfortable and the staff at this hotel are the best! The hotel is located in an area that is within walking distance of Ala Moana's mall and beach park. There are also a lot of really good restaurants in the area which make a night out on the town very convenient. We also loved the polo theme!

Room Tip: I read some of the other reviews and will attest that the lower rooms are not at all noisy. The roo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Renee checked us in & she was so very warm and welcoming! Decor & furniture was very handsome & beautiful..yes both.:-) Manalo served us delicious welcome drinks & happy hours special while we met other guests. Relaxing, lovely & a great ending to our trip..perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, furthest away from the elevator, great location.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have visited Oahu, so far, on six occasions, usually as a stopover on the way home from the US, and on the last three occasions have stayed at The Equus, simply due to the value for money, décor and location. I have a serious dislike of gaudy floral patterns and bamboo furniture, so the first time I checked in to the Equus was a delight. Love that "European" styling. The rooms are lovely, with a relaxing colour scheme, comfortable bed and good sized flat screen tv, refrigerator and coffee machine. The location is very handy for the Ala Moana Shopping Centre, which is a hub for the public buses and has a large food court and Waikiki is a comfortable walk away. I have to agree with previous comments regarding the noise, on my last visit particularly I noticed the noise from traffic on Ala Moana Boulevard. Aside from the traffic noise, this hotel is a little gem.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you're a very light sleeper.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clova2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We did an overnighter at the The Equus, and my daughter and her friends had a fun time swimming in the pool, going on a Selfie Scavenger Hunt in Waikiki and watching the Friday night fireworks rooftop on the 40th floor at the Waikiki Marina Tower next door. Best view in Waikiki! Renee and her team were awesome and made sure our rooms were ready and spotless. They even had fresh pineapple waiting for us upon check in for the special occasion. For happy hour (which I learned the hotel does on Thursdays and Friday afternoons), Justin poured some delicious pineapple guava drinks for the birthday girl and all her friends on the hotel's lanai before they walked over to the Hilton Hawaiian Village lagoon for an afternoon swim. In the morning, the girls enjoyed a short walk to IHOP for breakfast. We've done birthday sleepovers at The Equus for the past two years and plan to keep coming back! Thank you for another great stay!

Room Tip: If you want a more spacious room, opt for one without the lanai which peers into hotel rooms directl...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandShari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I am in the last few days of my (nearly) month long stay at the Equus Hotel in Waikiki, and my stay here was nothing short of what I'd want from a hotel. The staff was always friendly, helpful, and caring. They made me feel like family from the first day I was here. It is not a 5-star hotel, but I received much more than I expected for the price paid. The location of the hotel is ideal....just over a block from beaches in two directions, a block from the mall, and walking distance to MANY restaurants. It is at the Ala Moana side of Waikiki, meaning it is still near the 'craziness' of the heart of Waikiki (walking distance), but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet too. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and I am sure at some point in the future I will. Mahalo to all the Equus staff for making my stay enjoyable!

Room Tip: The marina tower would be my preference, if a view is desired
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alohaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

alohaorbust,

Big mahalos for your review! We are pleased to hear that our team here could provide you with great incite and suggestions during your visit. It was a pleasure to have you visit us, and we are happy to have provided a great value for location and service. We look forward to your return!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,898 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
1,364 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,430 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £95 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing