We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Although I would prefer a vacation rental outside the hustle and bustle of Honolulu, I was on a tight budget during my most recent trip to Oahu. We (my husband, 6 month old baby, and self) chose the Equus as our home base.

Our room (two double beds with a mini fridge on the 8th floor) faced other hotels and the marina. Our total for five nights with taxes plus parking was just over $650, which is a steal in Waikiki. The room wasn't too noisy, it was clean and had decent water pressure. The customer service was excellent. The folks at the front desk and the concierge were very friendly and helpful.

The only things that might be negative (which were not issues for us at all) were that you have to climb a flight of stairs to get to the front desk. I could be mistaken but I did not see an elevator to get to the front desk. So if you have a lot of bags or are unable to walk this could be a problem. The other issue was that there are only about ten parking spaces under the hotel. These are $20 a day. There is parking across the street for the same price. We were able to get a parking space on site for each of the six days that we were there.

The location was very close to the Waikiki Beach the Hilton resort complex with all of its restaurants and shops.

The next time we have to stay in Honolulu for budget reasons we will definitely return to this friendly hotel. It was a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisainAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
LisainAK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Equus. We appreciate your detailed feedback, and will be sure to improve our services from your recommendations. We are happy to have been able to provide you and your family with value in Waikiki. Our goal is to provide an outstanding experience for our guests, and to host them like 'ohana.

Regarding the stairs, there is a one-flight staircase off the street to check-in at the lobby. We provide Bell Service to assist with luggage storage and any other needs checking in or out. Parking on-site is limited to 16 stalls and the rate of $20/night is one of the lowest in Waikiki. We do offer an off-site lot at the same price, if necessary. However, our location is perfect for walking to both Ala Moana beach Park, or Waikiki Beach, as well as shopping at Ala Moana Center. We would recommend renting a car only during the times in which you will travel around Oahu, as parking in Waikiki is generally expensive, and driving is not ideal to experience everything in the area.

Again, we appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your experience, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    469
    175
    69
    49
See reviews for
266
561
182
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waialua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was impressed when I first walked in. There is great attention to detail I really appreciated the time they put in to making me feel welcome. The room was so beautiful and the beds were super comfortable I slept like a baby. There was an awesome Kurig and little fridge with a freezer which came in handy! I loved the huge mirrors all over it made getting ready a much smoother process. I would definitely recommend it to all of my friends and anyone who comes to visit Oahu.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livlovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Livlovetravelin,

Aloha and thank you for your recent visit to The Equus. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are pleased that we were able to provide just what you were looking for during your stay. We look forward to many more visits in the future!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

It's the little things that count. After arriving from Chicago for a 1 week trip in Hawaii, I was greeted with juice while I was checking in. I stayed here only 2 nights of my trip and had a pleasant experience. The room was neat and clean with the best shower (awesome water pressure!) you could ever ask for after a long day at the beach. I would stay here again for sure.

Nick - Chicago, IL

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Nick A,

Thank you for your kind remarks, and for taking the time to review your visit to The Equus and Waikiki. We are happy to have made your trip a memorable one, and especially that we were able to make the details to count (like water pressure :). It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you visit again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Spent three days in this hotel as a "staycation." The close proximity to shopping, beach and restaurants was wonderful. And the staff were accommodating to all our needs with aloha. I hope to return in the near future. Mahalo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonystanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Anthonystanford,

Big mahalos for taking the time to review your stay. It is great to hear that we were able to accommodate your requests in a timely manner with aloha. Our goal is to serve our guests as family, and we look forward to continuing to host you in the future.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to shopping, beach and restaurants! Beautiful, clean rooms. Comfy beds, updated decor and nice balcony. Wonderful staff, helpful and make you feel comfortable! Will stay again when we go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Katharyn R,

Mahalo nui loa for your efforts in reviewing your visit to The Equus. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are pleased to have provided the perfect combination of location, comfort and service. It truly is a pleasure to host guests like you, and we hope that you return again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean rooms, Beautiful décor, and extremely wonderful guest service. Absolutely love the waterfall in the main entrance, and the pictures in the waiting room. Right down the street from all the shopping you could want to do, not far from the beach, and bus depot. Easy in and out access parking. Love this little gem and planned to stay there every time I visit my family in Wahiawa.

Room Tip: Personally the view from the top of the towers is the greatest. You get some pretty awesome pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Julie H,

Many thanks for your review of The Equus. We are happy to provide you with great value in accommodation when you visit Hawaii. It was a pleasure to host you, and we do hope that you visit your "home away from home" again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Need clean, firm bed, and a super shower

Hotel Equus surpasses all

easy in & out

Waikiki can be a mess --- close to a big mall and beach

The staff works at making one feel like a GUEST

Mahalo nui loa from Hawaii

Room Tip: Get close to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptb2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
ptb2929,

Mahalo nui for your continued support of The Equus. It is always a pleasure to host you each time you come for a visit. We look forward to seeing you many more times over the years, and appreciate your kind remarks. Your feedback is always a great resource for us to improve our services and for our fellow travelers to make informed decisions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
474 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,610 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
587 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing