We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honolulu Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honolulu Adventure”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've been to Hawaii many times and this trip I had the pleasure of staying at the Equus Hotel in downtown Honolulu. To begin, the location of the hotel is really great - one block from Waikiki beach and one block from the big Ala Moana shopping mall, plus lots of restaurants. My room was spacious and kept meticulously clean by Ricky. And the bed was very comfortable. I usually find it difficult to sleep the first night in a new place, but not this time. There is parking under the hotel which is an added plus. Also, getting to and from the H1 highway is very direct making it very easy to get around, something I can't say for other hotels I've stayed at. The staff was always friendly and would go out of their way to help in any way. While this is not a five-star hotel located on Waikiki beach, you will not pay a five-star price. In short, this is a great hotel and I would definatlely stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: I was on the tenth floor toward the back of the hotel so there wasn't much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dave M,

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Equus. We very much appreciate your efforts in sharing your experience with us and your fellow travelers. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our property, our team and that the location was convenient for all of your needs. We will be sure to share these kind comments with our team, and they will serve to inspire us to provide outstanding service.

Thank you again for your consideration, and choosing to stay with our Equus 'Ohana. We do hope to make your next visit even more enjoyable!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    437
    167
    66
    44
See reviews for
248
527
174
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was a birthday getaway and a really good find. It's close to everything as far as transportation, restaurants, stores and the room was cozy. Staff was excellent.
The price was budget friendly and although I could see some of the ocean from my room, views may be more city like.




  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w8ongod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
w8ongod1,

Aloha & mahalo for your recent visit to The Equus. We are grateful to have such wonderful guests visiting us and sharing their opinions about their stay. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our location and our team took good care of you. We hope your birthday celebration was a memorable one, and we hope to invite you back again to celebrate the next!

Mahalo,
Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haleiwa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Loved the Equus hotel! It's very conveniently located on the edge of Waikiki, a stone's throw from the Ala Moana shopping center. The Equus hotel was welcoming, clean, and the staff are friendly and efficient. The ambiance and decor were very impressive. If you're bored with generic hotels, this is the place to stay. For anyone with a love of horses, a must! Every wall has beautiful paintings and pictures including photographs of Hawaiian equine heritage. I stayed
in a lovely suite, which had beautiful furnishings and personal touches (such as throw rugs on the couch) which made it very comfortable. I slept really well in a giant and and extremely comfortable bed........Finally, I would like to mention not only is the Equus luxurious but Eco friendly right down to the toiletries in the modern bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prugraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Aloha prugraves,

Many mahalos for taking the time in writing such a thorough review of your visit. We very much appreciate your efforts in sharing your experience and each detail you enjoyed throughout the hotel. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hotel was nice, good price and location. Staff was very helpful and friendly. John helped us to do some trips and surfing lessons.
We stayed 23 nights, and there were no place to put our clothes or dry swimmingshorts and bikinis.( 4 people)
But beds were good and clean and airconditioner worked.
Good place for travellers.
We booked from internet, and no disappointments. Our teenagers liked too, and wi-fi worked ok !
Beach and cityholiday in the same !!!
Good restaurants near for breakfast and dinners.

Many Mahalos to John and Rene,hope to see you again.

Happy family from Finland :) :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Niko L,

Big mahalos to you and your family for your recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay with us, and are glad to hear you all arrived home safely. It was a pleasure to host you and we will be sure to pass along your regards to our entire team. We look forward to your next visit to Hawaii for more surf and sun!

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Wow - what a great location! The staff was extra courteous and friendly . My room was nicer than expected and the bed very comfortable. I also really enjoyed all the fantastic historic photos displayed inside and outside the rooms. Definitely recommend staying at the Equus
I know I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skibdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Skibdog,

Big mahalos for choosing to stay at The Equus. We are pleased to have you as part of our Equus 'ohana, and appreciate your efforts in sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice and cheap, close to everything, dealt with John during our stay and he couldn't have been friendlier, he took the time to show us around town and was really informative, definitely coming back, thanks for a great stay guys :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BlakedD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
BlakedD,

Big mahalos for your kind review of your recent visit to The Equus. We are pleased to have provided you with outstanding service and location. We will pass along your regards to our team, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

it was nice to be close to the beach. we got one bedroom appt. the ceiling a bit low, what gives u claustrophobic feeling. a bit insects, but who cares, to be in honolulu and stay at the room?a bit dirty as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Elutka,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback, and will take every opportunity to improve our services. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have been caused, and assure you that this is not the experience we strive to provide. We invite you to return again to The Equus, and allow us to provide you with a much improved stay on your next visit to Hawai'i.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
209 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,421 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
526 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,232 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing