We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all my expectations!”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Equus hotel with my best friend and it exceeded all of our expectations. The room accommodations were beautiful. The staff were so friendly, attentive and helpful. Especially the front desk manager "Rene." She was the queen of aloha spirit. The location of the hotel was great. Really close to all the main attractions. And compared to other hotels it was very affordable. I am definitely staying here again the next time I visit Oahu!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konawahinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Older hotel - rooms have been remodeled and are very nice. flat screen tv, nice furniture, good bedding Close to business and Ala Moana Shopping center. we were there for 2 nights for business - it had a great rate and was conveniently located. Unfortunately due to the street noise the rooms facing the street were noisy all night, limiting sleep.
no restaurant but rooms had small refrigerator and 1/2 block from ABC store.
Good for a quick business trip -- tiny pool, not a place to try to lounge around the pool

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road --
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleLwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I had stayed with this boutique hotel for three nights, the guest services agents were on top with my requests and had made sure it was delievered to my room without an waiting period. My housekeeper which I believe is Romero,(handsome young man) he had done an amazing job servicing my room starting from my bed to the restroom. Where he had organized the amenties, towels and the whole room as if it was my first night at the Equus. They made me feel if I was at home at an higher standard. Would definitely recomend this hotel. Just one problem, the street noise but overall my stay was spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cilla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After reading the reviews, we chose The Equus Hotel for our month-long stay in Oahu. We're glad we did! Guest Services host Puka has been very accommodating to our party of three, which includes a disabled person. He ensures that all our needs are met, with the assistance of his gracious staff. Our room is comfortable, clean and cozy and we are not disturbed by ongoing traffic.
The location is excellent, close to Ala Moana Beach Park and the shopping center, as well as downtown Honolulu. We are still here, and look forward to having a most pleasurable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed one night and were booked for 7. Really welcoming staff and bed super comfortable. Newly furnished room too and very clean. Problem was the 6 Lane traffic on the street below was constant! No sound proofing and sleep was difficult even with ear plugs! Staff were very gracious about us checking out. So if you need relative quiet don't stay here. We were moved to floor 9 and still couldn't stand the traffic din.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lizpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Loved this hotel! We are locals and it's nice to stay downtown in a place that does not have a lot of tourists. They paid so much attention to detail in the way they furnished the rooms, including towels folded into birds and swans awaiting our arrival. Definitely recommend this hotel to both tourist and local people!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AConsolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

OMG what a place to stay! Had such a ball here as the staff were amazing and hours of conversations with them. Rooms were modern and always kept clean by the cleaner. It is really close to the shopping mall and to the main square. Very family orientated but also good for business with some spectacular views. If you here for a long time or just a stop inn - stay here!!

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
613 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
584 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,379 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £96 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing