We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Waikiki”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Waikiki”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We absolutely love this hotel! The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and clean. The Polo themed decor is a really cool - from the pictures and guestbook all the way to how they fold a small horse origami in your room, they really pay attention to fine detail. Rene, Paulo and the rest of the staff care to your every need and really make you feel special. Located at the beginning of Waikiki there are plenty of places to shop and eat nearby. The harbor is located a block away and offers spectacular sunset views for those who like to explore.

Room Tip: The hotel is surprisingly quiet - from what we have seen every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Gary P,

Many Mahalos for choosing to stay with The Equus, and for your kind comments. We appreciate the extra time you took to let us know about your experience. It is important to our team to provide excellent service and leave our guests with fond memories. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the small details that we offer. We will be sure to pass along your gratitude to our team. Your review will provide us with great motivation to continue hosting our guests with aloha. Please contact us anytime regarding Polo as we would be happy to provide you with complimentary passes as each of our guests at The Equus receive during their stay.

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    466
    174
    69
    45
See reviews for
263
557
181
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wahiawa, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I found this hotel through kayak>amoma.com but had some issues with amoma.com. Amoma originally had reserved for three night and wanted to add an extra night. Had some issues adding an extra night and talked to customer service via email and phone at Amoma and they assured me that an extra night was added and processed. Checked my reservation a little while later and they still had me for three nights but charged me $122 for another night (which was never added). I called equus and spoke to an amazing staff member at the hotel named Rene. Originally they could not find my reservation dates or name at all, Rene found out the hotel was never booked in my name but in my gf's name (my guest which I listed) and it still stated I only reserved for three nights instead of four. She went the whole nine yards and more to investigate and see what was going on(called them and waited on phone and emailed them, told me to recheck bank acct, and did amazing follow ups via email and phone for two days). Eventually amoma contacted myself and Rene,they stated they would refund me the $122 because they charges for a night when there were no open rooms at that time (weird to charge for nothing).

Never again will I book through Amoma, poor customer service, impossible to get a hold of them. It was very frustrating trying to get stuff processed but Rene assured and was by my side on top of everything and extremely friendly. She found out the problem and took her time to fix it(reserved an extra night for a lower price than Amoma's rate). I should of booked straight from hotel. Talking with Rene eased my mind because she showed professionalism, kindness, was thorough, & thoughtful. Wanted to say much mahalo to Rene. Appreciate all the help and aloha spirit through all the hecticness of me and my gf moving from Hawaii to Las Vegas. Much luck to you Rene! Aloha! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Andingle,

Our sincerest apologies for such an ordeal while booking through a third party site. We do not wish such an experience on anyone, and only hope that we were able to provide some assistance during this time. We are happy that Rene, our Guest Service Manager was there to guide you through the process, and you were able to solve the issue in the end. Auwe! We hope that you are faring well in your new location, Las Vegas, and that you will let us know when you return to Hawaii on your next visit!

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMPA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed at the Equus in March 2014, and I must say this was the best Local hotel I could of chosen. I was welcomed with nothing less than a warm Hawaiian welcome and my arrival was given the very best attention that exceeded what was expected. The Equus in my experience, rendered to me as a customer more than what was paid for. I was greeted by Ms. Renne and the entire staff was so pleasant and helpful. While I was checking in,, my bags were taken to my room and everything was set up for me without me even noticing that it was being done as I couldn't keep up with the swiftness of the service. The Equus is a very nice clean and comfortable Hawaiian Hotel that makes you feel at home. It is located on Ala moana Blvd., which is near to the Ala moana shopping center and near to Waikiki Beach. Just a few minutes walking and everything about a great stay in Hawaii is at your reach. They even helped me with my tours on the Island, like the Polynesian Center Tour and the Island Tour, and was very helpful to provide information about any questions that I had. The rooms are very nice and they have a wonderful staff who attends to whatever your needs are in a very prompt manner. I must say that I had such a wonderful time at the Equus that after returning home I had to call them to say Thank You for making our stay the most wonderful experience we could of ever imagine of having in Hawaii. My name is Nick and when you stay there ask for Renne or Packu, They are just a few of the wonderful people on the entire staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annlauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
annlauth,

Big mahalos for taking the time to review your experience at The Equus. It is a pleasure to have hosted you during your visit to Waikiki, and we are happy to have made a positive impression. We are pleased that you feel you received a great value for the price paid for service, location and amenities. We strive to provide a customized experience to each of our unique guests. We truly enjoy getting to know our visitors and hope to host them as part of our 'ohana while they are in Waikiki. It is our duty as ambassadors of the islands to share our culture and ensure that our guests experience Hawai'i to its fullest.

We hope that you continue to share your experiences and created lasting memories during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We visited Hawaii for two weeks in March 2014 and our first few days were spent at the Equus.
While in Hawaii we stayed at the Equus, Hilton, Marriott and Hyatt (we used points earned during previous business travel for everything but the Equus)

The Equus is a quaint boutique hotel on Ala Moana in Waikiki. The rooms, while small, are well equipped and very well maintained. The hotel is well staffed with helpful, friendly personnel. Wi-Fi is fast, reliable and FREE!

This property, all things considered is the best value in Waikiki. When you visit Waikiki you don't spend any time in a hotel. You walk around, go to the beach, shop, and hit the bars and the restaurants.

Stay at the Equus for less than half of what you would spend at any other property and use the savings to enjoy Waikiki.

I give this property a five star PLUS! I will stay there again on my next visit to Waikiki.

Green Features: The rooms are designed to minimize energy consumption. I loved the fact that there was no alarm clock. With a smart phone or a tablet, who uses an alarm clock? Way to go Equus management!
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoary H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepeekeo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Mahalo to puka, rene and jackie for making me and my family feel at home, always going over and beyond, my housekeeper fely for doing an excellent job with her service, I will come back to this hotel. I will also let my friends and family know about the equus.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maile2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Rene, the property manager, was great and she took great care of us and made sure we were happy and comfortable. The room on the 10th floor was nicely decorated and very large for what I've experienced in the area.

Highly recommended. Convenient. Affordable.

The only negative is the parking situation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NeverEnoughVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Equus hotel with my best friend and it exceeded all of our expectations. The room accommodations were beautiful. The staff were so friendly, attentive and helpful. Especially the front desk manager "Rene." She was the queen of aloha spirit. The location of the hotel was great. Really close to all the main attractions. And compared to other hotels it was very affordable. I am definitely staying here again the next time I visit Oahu!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konawahinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
434 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,574 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,331 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing