We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Equus Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ramada Plaza Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$242
US$213
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$393
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$361
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$271
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$641
US$621
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$329
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveller rating
799
492
188
73
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
492
188
73
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsala moana blvdmarina towerred lobsterabc storealoha spiritwaikiki beachwithin walking distancestreet noisesmall hotelflat screen tvconvention centeracross the streetlight sleepercoffee machinethe entire staffsmall poolbus stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,423 - 1,428 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2008

While the staff are very nice, the amenities are lacking. I specifically chose the Equus for the free high speed wireless internet which was not working. They also could not get the internet to work in my room through the cable, so they had me switch rooms and once again didn't work. The continental breakfast is poor and the elevators are slow. I also didn't realize I'd be paying so much to park.
The rooms were nicely decorated and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skyblueeyes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

My stay was beyond comfortable! It was very pleasant! The staff was extremely warm and friendly and I would definitely stay here again! I highly recommend The EQUUS.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PurpleRainForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Good location, within walking distance to Ala Moana Centre (for shopping and dining) and lagoon/beach. Bus stop nearby to Chinatown (more dining) and Pearl Harbor. Large and clean room with two double comfortable beds. Free internet (with own laptop) and free in-room safe. Friendly and helpful front desk.

No privacy from windows so kept shutter closed at all times. Only one elevator and housekeeping tended to hold it for a long time. Stairs to front lobby from street level poses problems with carrying heavy luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AubreyTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

After many visits to Oahu, and numerous bland stays at the large resorts, I decided to take a friend's suggestion and try this delightful renovated boutique hotel, THE EQUUS. Wondering what a hotel with a Latin name was doing in the tropics, I walked along Ala Moana Blvd. and came upon this charming property with its brass stairway and intimate design. The lobby is open-air and very smart...the front desk staff were professional and personable. I took a room on the 8th floor that featured Hawaiian style bamboo bed and furnishings, Everything was clean and first-rate, and the bathrooms featured new marble and tile.
The location of the hotel is perfect for us business travellers, as it is a block away from Ala Moana Center, and the convention center. Sure beats having to rent a car...
Although there is no hotel restaurant, there is the Hawaii Prince Hotel and their fine dining right across the street, and our very favorite Honolulu restaurant , CHART HOUSE at the Ala Wai
Harbor also across the street. Ala Moana Center andd Ward Centers offer dozens of great places to eat, as well as those located around Waikiki.
Laundry facilities, tennis, and a jacuzzi are right next door at the Waikiki Marina, another hotel operated by the Aqua group.
My room featured an entertainment system called INN
NE TWORK which was teriffic! 32" flat screen TV doubled as monitor for Dell computer, and gave me movies, radio, and the internet.
I would recommend The Equus for anybody visitng Oahu who wanted to be near, but not ON the beach. The west end of Waikiki Beach is only 2 blocks away, and offers the best swimming and beaching in the area.
I found out that The Equus is a family owned business, and I am sure that this is part of the reason the place is run so well.
I will be back

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gmanSantabarbara_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

I have stayed in this property more than a dozen times. It's within walking distance to Ala Moana Shopping Center and Kalakaua Ave in Waikiki. The rooms closest to Ala Moana Blvd can be noisy though closing the sliding glass doors keeps much of the noise out. The hotel rooms were renovated over the past two years and are really lovely to stay in - large comfortable beds, flat screen TVs, in-room fridge. The best part of the hotel is the really great staff who go out of their way to take care of everything you ask them. A continental breakfast and complimentary newspaper available in the lobby each morning is a real bonus. if you keep in mind that this is a boutique hotel, you will be very happy with your stay here especially given their extremely reasonable rates. Across the street from Ala Moana Beach Park with gorgeous beaches, restaurants and shopping very close at hand and the YMCA for those who like to get some exercise in. I will continue to stay here into the future.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daveonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews