We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Staff I've ever Met”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nicest Staff I've ever Met”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I arrived in Hawaii on August 6th at 4:30 AM. I was not able to sleep on the flight, but knew I needed to waste time before check-in at 3:00 pm in the afternoon. I went to breakfast, went to the Swap Meet and by the time I didn't know what else to do I decided to just drive to the hotel and see if I could check in early expecting to hear a " No" I was half prepared to take a nap in the lobby or walk the beach. At 9:30 AM I arrived at The Equus. I was greeted by the Valet (I'll get to their amazing service later). The valet helped me bring my luggage up where I was greeted by a smiling face. His name was Kevin. I asked if there was any possibility of checking in early. He apologized and said that check in was at 3. I explained that I hadn't slept in 24 hours, and if there was anything that could be done to please let me know. He said he'd look up and see what could be available seeing that the cleaning crews probably weren't available to clean a room so quickly. Kevin welcomed me to sit in the lobby, letting me know where a plug was so I could charge my dying phone. As I got comfortable in the lobby chair, and took a few work calls (real estate never stops, vacation or not) I all of a sudden saw Kevin come over and let me know that he found a room for me! I was ecstatic!! It had only been 10 minutes!!!!! I was able to check into my room at 9:45 AM. I felt like the staff truly cared! I had a little trouble getting into my room and a staff member stayed with my stuff while I went down to get a new key. Valet! Just as amazing!! After one day they knew exactly which car was mine and immediately ran off to grab it when I'd come around the corner! Totally worth the 20 bucks (ish) a night!! Always a smiling face, always a friendly attitude. I cannot wait to come back to Hawaii and I cannot wait to book another room at the Equus!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 9th floor was amazing - quiet except for a little street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved that you had to put your room key in a slot to turn on a/c ... I'm all about greener facilities!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanesa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    458
    174
    69
    45
See reviews for
261
549
180
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We first stayed at their condo rentals until I found we had critters ( roaches) staying with us. I called the desk and asked to change rooms. The person said they had nothing else available. So I carefully checked all our belongings, packed them in the suit cases, and walked down to the desk with all of our things. I told the man at the front desk I refused to stay there do he gave me the room keys to an upgraded condo on the highest floor. I went to the room to check it and as soon as I walked to the kitchen counter I saw roaches crawling all over it. I went back to the desk at told him I don't want to stay there at all. So he gave us a room at the Equus. A lot cleaner but no longer had a view and definitely downgraded in size. My main issue was that he was lazy and had none of these other rooms available before I walked down to the desk.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaiian Islands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I just booked a room for a special event in Waikiki and will be staying at the Equus...my favorite boutique hotel there. I left a phone message requesting my date with them and within hours I got a call from the manager herself confirming my reservation. An email followed with the confirmation and new info about handicap access to the hotel and that valet parking is now available. I am looking forward to my time with these nice people, and their hotel perfectly located right across from the Yacht club where my "in town" event is happening. Yay, Equus.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GOODART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

THANK YOU to everyone at the Equus Hotel for making my destination wedding so special! Having a group of family and friends travel from Australia to attend my wedding was one thing but all staying at the same hotel with great service and so accommodating was the cherry on the top! Thank you to Kika and Rene for overseeing accommodations for my family and friends and a special thank you to Puka for always greeting and being attentive to all my guests no matter what the request would be, and to Jackie for going above and beyond for my family. Thank you to all the staff of Equus Hotel for being so helpful during and after my wedding, my husband and I cannot thank you all enough! It was surly our home away from home! Location was so convenient to everything especially last minute shopping and this wedding was one that my family and friends would never forget! So thank you to everyone at the Equus Hotel for making our wedding extra special!
Love always, Mr and Mrs Foifua!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great WIFI service and are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Foifua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Are softball team stayed here for a tournament. The staff was incredible they were so helpful. They loaned us boogie boards for the girls and beach mats. Also very helpful with places to see and visit.
Thank you so much for the great stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stevo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had a room with at moin 5 dead cockroach by all. I reserve
 Two months in advance all inclusive I think like that have a nice room and I get the receptionist told me that the garden view room and it was a room with a view of nothing the worse of the hotel and I not think there's worse. incompetent and unhelpful reception. I never go back and I recommend anyone to go there !!! I'm really disappointed :(

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Helmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Admittedly a bit spoiled from our trip to Turtle Bay on the North Shore, we were somewhat disappointed with the Equus. Carpets were stained, walls were thin, and cigarette smoke kept wafting into our room (we were on the second floor). To its credit, the staff was vey friendly and the beds super comfortable. It was inexpensive and close to transit and walk away from beach. Although we would not stay here again, I can agree that the price point was excellent for the area.

Green Features: Wonderfully environmentally conscious! Requires a key to turn on main lights and A/C once in the room.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
371 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,547 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,315 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,262 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing