We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed and NOT up to Hilton Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed and NOT up to Hilton Standard”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Hiilton Village, Waikiki Beach did not live up to it's name. We would NOT recommend staying here for a number of reasons; at least a 30 minute wait to check in and check out as they do not have enough staff on during peak times, the resort fee of $30 a day is a rip off and obviously a money making scheme as which really only pays for the internet all the other perks it supposedly includes would be free anyway i.e fireworks, pools, the double beds in the rooms were too small and there are no sheets just duvets, the room we stayed in had rubbish on the floor on arrival, rooms were run down and old and decorated like the 1990s, small beach towels, self parking for $27 a day was pricey considering you can park around the corner for a much cheaper price. The distance of this hotel we felt was a far distance from the main Waikiki strip and not a lot of nice restaurants surrounding it. Don't recommend staying in the Tiki Tower

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsal003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Aloha dsal003,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We deeply regret to hear that we did not succeed in making your stay an enjoyable experience. It is our goal for each guest to have a memorable stay at our resort and we are truly sorry that we fell short in this. Our $30 resort charge includes many benefits such as internet, unlimited movies and playstation game rentals, Hawaiian cultural activities, morning exercise classes, etc.. at a discounted price. Our rooms are furnished with either with a king bed or two double beds and the top sheet is available upon guest request. We sincerely apologize for the oversight of the cleanliness of your room. We appreciate you sharing your feedback as it will assist us in making improvements as we are always striving to perfect our services for our valued guests. We hope you will reconsider and provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back for a more pleasurable stay.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,595
    4,988
    2,430
    886
    565
See reviews for
5,632
4,786
373
1,371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

There are FIVE pools at this resort. One was for guests only of the most expensive tower. Two of the pools are quite large and were full of screaming children. No empty lounge chairs in sight. The Tapa Pool was my oasis. Not only were lounge chairs often available, but the small pool was mostly quiet. The bar also provided pool-side service from the delightful Cynthia. Cynthia was a wealth of information about Honolulu and clearly loved her job. In fact, every employee that I woke with genuinely appeared to love working for Hilton.

Our room in the Diamond Head Tower was pretty basic but we couldn't hear the neighbors on either side so I was happy. Rooms were a bit dated.

It was a real pleasure to walk barefoot everywhere in the village including the stores. Money-saving tip- buy your snacks, sunscreen, even gifts, from the ABC stores. They're quite a bit cheaper than the other sundries store in the village.

On Friday night, the Round Table Pizza was hopping. Who goes all the way to Hawaii to eat pizza you can get at home? Sadly, a lot of tourists are not very adventurous. It would be very easy to never leave the grounds of the Resort but there's so much more to visiting Honolulu than the Village.

The Tropics restaurant on the grounds of the Village was hugely disappointing. I'll write a separate review of it but I wouldn't recommend visiting it.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose a room that does not overlook a pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningsatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It took awhile to like this place but I came to realize why so many people come here. First off, the caveats. Avoid the yet-to-be-renovated Diamond Head tower, which is tired. If you don't specify otherwise, this is where they will likely put you, particularly at busy times. The Alii Tower and Kalia Tower (the furthest from the front desk) are the nicest. We were in the Tapa Tower on floor 32.

Secondly, if you are looking for peace and quiet, look elsewhere, but that's probably not why you are in Waikiki in the first place. If you want to avoid the noise from the Tapa Bar, get a high floor. Once we did, we had no issues. If you are a REALLY early sleeper you can forget it because the luau takes place on an adjacent roof below you, but comes to a screeching halt at 8PM sharp.

All of that said, its a vary nice property (in a Disneyesque sort of way) with tons of activities, shops, bars and restaurants all within the complex. That the facility can accommodate the needs of 6000 guests and operate such a sprawling property smoothly is pretty impressive and the staff really do a good job to make you feel welcome and attended to.

Avoid the steep self parking charge of $27 per day and park around the corner by the marina. There is free street parking near the beach until 10:30PM or you can park in the marina lot for 24 hours for $12. There was always ample space.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 307ToddC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

With the ICBA, large conference, and a Hilton Diamond Member, for life - they made me that status for my longevity with the program. Ridiculous, bordering on insanity. 1. Two hour check in line. Really? 2. No "coupons" in the booklet for free water - so had to beg and explain after a super long day already. 3. Maintenance called to attend to the air conditioning, which is on it's last leg. called 7pm - no one here by 10:44pm. 4. Called operator and she asked, "when did you call"? It will be 45 minutes! NO, not acceptable. 5. Short on amenities. Not the usual Hilton wares - went to ABC store to buy stuff - housekeeping won't be able to get to that request til tomorrow.

This property is run down, over run, and in need of management update and/or investment in this property if it's to keep a Hilton hotel category of any kind. I'm paying $299 a night for what? my aggrevation and my aggitation - this is amazing.

Do yourself a favor and don't stay here - it will be much less stressful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Aloha artandbeer,

Thank you for writing a review. We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you encountered during you stay with us. HHV is committed to making every guest stay an enjoyable experience and deeply regret that we fell short in this goal. We are grateful for your loyalty as a Diamond Hhonors member and will certainly look into the areas of concerns as well as address it with our team. Thank you for sharing your feedback as it will assist us in making improvements to enhance our valued guest’s experience. We hope you will reconsider and provide us with another opportunity to service you for a true HHV experience.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is right on the beach, the 5 pools added variety (the $30/day resort fee needs to pay for something). We were put in the Diamond Tower which was not great, it was very run down and we were disappointed, especially for a Hilton property.
There were so many shops & restaurants right on the property, however it was more expensive than if you went off the property.
The hotel is in between the main Waikiki Hotel District and Ala Moana Shopping Center. It's about .5-1 mile away from everything. We're a walking family so we were okay with that. It's easy to catch the city bus or trolley if you want to go that route. All the tour companies usually make a stop at the Hilton Hawaiian Village b/c there are so many people who stay there.
Like I said, the Diamond Tower was very run down and looked like it had not been updated since the 90's. The bathroom was not that clean which was unpleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for anything except for the Diamond Tower (until it's remodeled). We faced the pool & Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JYCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we checked into this vast sprawling property, we were treated to Hawaiian hospitality.

This may be big, but the staff were very helpful....the restaurants were great and our view from the Ali'i Tower of the fireworks was spectacular.

Kids loved the hotel and pool areas. We were only there one night at the end of our stay ain't was, so our kids' complaint was - why weren't we here longer? We will be back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had realistic expectations of Honolulu/Waikiki in that we would be in the middle of a steel tower jungle, lots of people, etc. But this oasis in the jungle was so much more than what we had "prepared" ourselves for! The property is large yes, but there is a lot of space in between the buildings with beautiful pools and greenery, truly a lovely location. Their beach can't be beat on Waikiki - large swath of golden sand and there was always something going on.
Special Mahalo to Amy at the Hilton Honors check in desk for getting us a special room and upgrade in the Alii Tower. She had noticed on our reservation that it was our 24th anniversary and went to speak to the manager about getting us a great room (after we had learned the Alii Tower was full). The view to the east overlooking the beach and Hale Koa next door was so beautiful. The fact that Hale Koa has such a large open park area makes the view really nice - you aren't looking into the hotel room right next door! Fun to people watch from our lanai and enjoy the music from the live bands.
The only ding I would give is the restaurants were a bit disappointing - we are veteran Hawaii travelers and know that everything is much more expensive here - but we thought the prices pretty far out even for Hawaii standards. The best bargain in the place is CJ's Deli!!! Lots of great food for the price and the coldest beer of all of the restaurants!
We would definitely return to this hotel on our next Oahu visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwaipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,302 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing