We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton loyalty program gutted at this Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hilton loyalty program gutted at this Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I agree with dschandl. Well, here is another Hilton property that is stripping away benefits from being a Hilton Honors member. They have stopped the continental breakfast and are now going to give you a $10 voucher. Really, $10, if you have ever stayed at this place $10 will not cover much let alone a continental breakfast at any of their restaurants. Well, you couple that with a $30 resort fee and parking fees and I suggest there is no reason to stay at this place as Hilton Honors member! Go find another Hilton property that appreciates business travelers!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opdr444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,392
    4,838
    2,333
    849
    532
See reviews for
5,408
4,605
357
1,332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
santa clara, california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was very pleased that I was given an Oceanview Room even though I made the reservation a week before arrival. The suite was very spacious! With all amenities in the kitchen and extra dressing area with bath. Beautiful décor and extremely comfortable bed and linens. And the use of all the pools and amenities of Hilton Hawaiian Village is an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank pompyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

While I paid a lot of money to stay in a room we were hardly in, the resort was fabulous. They offered a complimentary room on Sunday after checkout so we could clean up before our late flight which I thought was awesome. BUT... take your own beach towels. Between the time of check out and the time you have for the complimentary room, they don't let you have access to their towels/products.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndz1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Location: At the north end of Waikiki beach. There are a few other hotels closer to the main beach, and this was about a 10-15 minute walk along the shore. On the other hand, it's also only about 15 minutes from Ala Moana shopping mall. Walking along the main road, there are cafes and shops within a few minutes including Eggs N Things and Wailana.
Hotel: A massive complex of about 5 towers with shops, cafes, pools and even a lagoon. The ABC shops are good value for money and have everyday essentials as well as souvenirs. There's a Starbucks and gift shops. There's also a great place for smoothies by the towel reception. They have other attractions that we didn't pay much attention to such as the penguin display for kids. It always felt like a hive of activity with live music at night and attractions during the day. There are a few pools including one with a jacuzzi, and they didn't seem to get too busy. Service was also great with reception staff in particular going beyond their duty to help us during check-in.
Room: Had a very spacious corner room with a balcony and view of Honolulu. It does look a couple of decades old but everything is clean and the beds are comfortable.

There may be better places, but this is very convenient and felt like a dependable choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldlywisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the HHV as part of trip to Hawaii to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. I was looking to have a unique experience and wanted to book a presidential suite for our stay. I started planning the trip 9 months in advance. I had no issues making for a suite at the Waikoloa Hilton on the Big Island but had nothing but issues with the HHV. I was originally told that there were no suites of that type available in either the Alii or Rainbow towers but later found tours of these on YouTube. I called at least once every 6 weeks only to be given a complete run around with excuses that the group handling suites was off for the day to the reservations group having no access to the suites.

When we arrived, we were given our backup rooms which was two rooms with a connecting door. As we have a handicapped daughter with a wheelchair and her supporting supplies, this is our minimum requirement when traveling. BTW, HHV charges $75 just to unlock the doors connecting the rooms. I eventually talked to on duty manager for a suite but she seemed indifferent to our needs. I finally contacted Hilton directly and the next day was moved to a two bedroom suite in the Diamondhead tower. While this suite gave my daughter the room that she needed to move about, the suite itself was very tired and not really what I wanted for this special occasion.

We also had issues making reservations for a trip to the Polynesian Cultural Center (well worth it, great facility!) as they initially seemed indifferent to the needs of my handicapped daughter. We did eventually sort this by contacting the PCC directly and having them intervene on our behalf.

All in all, the HHV experience soured the second half of a wonderful trip. The contrast between the Waikoloa Village Hilton on the Big Island and the HHV was startling as the former was very attentive to our needs while the HHV seemed to not care.

This facility seems to be more concerned about extracting every dollar from you than actually providing service that a premium customer expects. If we go back to Oahu, I will stay somewhere that actually appreciates my business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Aloha jlwatts,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor assistance we have provided your family in booking your special trip to Oahu. HHV has a range of suites to offer and we are very sorry for the frustration you experienced with reservations. Connecting rooms can be guaranteed at the time of booking (when available) for a fee of $75. Otherwise, our team will try our best to honor requests upon check-in based on room availability. We appreciate you taking time to post a review of your recent visit. We will refresh our Hilton standards of service with our team to prevent this experience from occurring again and ensure we are going over and beyond to share the true aloha spirit of HHV with our valued guests. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome your family back to HHV the next time you are in town.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

During our stay we upgraded our room to an ocean view in the Rainbow Tower ($20.00 a night), paid for the resort fee $30.00 a day ( which we only rented a movie one night and used the WiFi for 20 mins ) and didn't have an overall best time.

We had to ask house keeping to clean up or room twice.

When i called the front desk to see if the HHV offered room service they told me "no", but come to find out on our last night a company called "fresh connection" ( I believe that's the name ) did in fact deliver food to the rooms on the property. Which means the front desk representatives needs to be better informed.

Then we had dinner at Benihana's located on the village property where our table chef cut himself didn't stop cooking or clean his knife ... then served us the food. We left and altered the manager of Benihana's.

So need less to say for being a 5 star hotel ( so to speak ) I give this hotel a 2 star at best.

Stay somewhere else !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ValAlicajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Aloha ValAlicajic,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We sincerely regret to learn about the challenges that you experienced during your stay. The $30 resort charge offers our guests’ access to many benefits at a discounted rate. Please visit our website for the complete list of the benefits that are included in the resort charge. We extend our sincere apologies regarding the oversight of your room not being serviced as well as the information related to Fresh Connection not being communicated. Fresh Connection has replaced the traditional room service and offers fresh meals to go or for delivery during breakfast and dinner hours. We are sorry to hear about your experience at Benihana. It is our goal for every guest to have an enjoyable stay at our resort and we deeply regret that we did not succeed in this. We appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback as we are always looking for way to improve our services to enhance our guest stay. We hope you will reconsider and allow us another chance to service you for a true HHV experience.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

While we didn't spend every waking moment at our hotel, anyone who is looking for a laid back vacation very well could! The grounds and pools were immaculate, there is plenty of shopping and food on or within walking distance of the property. Rooms were very comfortable (2 adults, 1 child); check in was no trouble. Access to the beach was super easy. We did utilize the hotel to book our trip to the Pacific Memorial. See additional review of tour company... This was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! We stayed in the KaLia Tower, and while it was further from the beach, it was perfect for the view of the beach and shopping!
Overall - very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing