We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ali'i Tower was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in the Ali'i Tower in April 2014 and had a great time. The rooms were a good size and clean. There were 4 of us in the room and I didn't feel like we were stumbling over each other the whole time. My wife and I slept in the King bed and had the 2 kids in the pull out sofa bed. Linens for the sofa bed were in the closet and appeared clean. Housekeeping service was good. Always prompt service with plenty of towels. Valet service was great. Never busy. Same with the bell desk. We ate at Tropics a couple times for breakfast and the service was super and food was really good. The pool with the slides was ok and the sand around the lagoon was kinda funky. They rent paddleboards and kayaks to paddle around the lagoon in. Excellent for kids or beginners. The beach there is also a good size. If we go back to Oahu we will probably stay there again just because there is a lot to do at the hotel. More than any other hotel there. It is a few blocks away from the main Waikiki area but it has enough amenities that you don't really need to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKLEIN949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,952 - 6,958 of 15,158 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

I want to let you know that this was not my choice but a business conference. I was thankful that I had not booked this hotel for my family vacation as it was all the things I don't like: terribly overcrowded, overpriced (!!!) food, expensive shops, long lines, $15 a beach chair and $30 for an umbrella, small beach, even at 7:30 am chairs were filled at the pool, the pool at my tower was on the 4th floor and looked at a roof! The restaurants were understaffed with 20-30 minute waits with many empty tables. Conference rate was $250+ per night. In the middle of a very crowded city. This is not the best of Hawaii at all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Aloha Nancy S,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback from your recent visit. We would like to extend our apologies for the many disappointments you have experienced as our guest. We are sorry that our team was not able to meet you during your stay to resolve the challenges you encountered. We are truly committed to providing our guests a pleasant stay and sharing the aloha spirit of our island. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on our current resort offerings. We are continuously exploring options to enhance our guests’ experience and your comments will be shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back to HHV the next time you are in Honolulu to provide you a much more memorable stay.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We came here for a convention. I was told the hotel complex could accommodate 6000 people. We had upgraded to the Junior Suite (basically a very large room with big bathroom) in the Rainbow Tower. We had views of the Harbor (facing west) so saw the sunset every night from one of our two balconies. We were very pleased that we had made the decision to upgrade ($75 extra per night).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice hotel, nice room, variety of shops, close to other attraction and close to beach. I am only critical that room service is not available at all times. would stay there again and would recommend to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just left, moving on to the Big Island, hopefully it will be as good. You can't really fault this place, starting with the food there are lots of restaurants catering for different tastes from snacks to steaks and lobster. The grounds are lovely and mean that you can walk around without being caged in, not really that far to anywhere.

The parking is expensive, but plan your vacation. There are loads of things to do that you don't need a hire car for, then for those that you do rent one from National who have an office on site so you can keep the cost down.

We had a corner room in rainbow tower on a high floor, so 2 balconies one looking at diamond head and one out towards honolulu harbour. Definitely worth the money.

The staff are friendly without being overly friendly and around you all the time.

I would agree with a number of previous reviews, I have never paid for umbrellas or loungers before and if you want 2loungers and an umbrella that's $59 per day.

We have walked into honolulu, easy in the cool morning then grabbed TheBus back into Waikiki then walked back along the beach. Then hired a car and travelled the island.

Overall we really enjoyed our time here and hope our next hilton on the big island is as good!

Room Tip: Rainbow tower corner rooms have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 023Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in the Rainbow Tower and the view was incredible. The rooms were very nice the grounds are beautiful and there is always something to do. Hilton has just about everything you need from food/entertainment/rental cars/relaxation; one stop shopping:) The location is very nice, there is public transportation or tour buses right in front of the property so you can get just about anywhere on the main drag easily. I will stay there again. One note: If you can be in the Rainbow Tower that is where you want to be; obviously the higher floor the better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marpesia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here with my husband and two children for three nights on our way to the Big Island. Overall, the resort is OK, nothing special or magical. It is slightly run down in some parts, but nothing major.

The resort itself is huge, so there's lots of walking involved when you're with two kids. The resort is very much for families, I would not recommend coming here for a romantic vacation, but that was fine for us. There are quite a number of restaurants on site, including a Benihana's. Most of the restaurants seemed to need reservations and we ended up going out to eat most nights. Prices at the restaurants and bars seemed standard for Hawai'i: higher than everywhere else, but what are you gonna do?

The location on the beach and with the lagoon is nice, but the resort itself is a bit isolated from the rest of Honolulu. We found it to be about a 30 minute walk (though a nice one) into Waikiki and about 20 minutes (in the other direction) to the Ala Moana Center.

Next time we come to Hawai'i, we will not be staying here, mainly because of the location. I don't mind staying at an "isolated" place, however, I would need it to be a lot quieter and more peaceful in order to justify it being so far from everything in town. I would recommend either staying someplace on the North Shore or on another island if you want a more authentic Hawaiian experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taitailife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £168 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing