We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE Resort; plenty company”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“HUGE Resort; plenty company”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved our ocean view room, however there is a lot going on at this resort. It's almost like a mini city on an island. Great vacation for families/couples/singles. We had a much needed spa day and it was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gennie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,711
    5,079
    2,492
    913
    586
See reviews for
5,815
4,873
375
1,385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here our first 3 nights in Hawaii and feel it was the right place to get our vacation started. Waikiki has so much energy that it matched our excitement of being there. We choose the Rainbow tower ocean view room facing the harbor because we wanted sunset views. The room was nice and we thought our refrigerator was not cold enough so they brought us another refrigerator. We were happy to have two refrigerators in our room and the room was big enough for both. They handed us 6 towel cards on check in when there was only 3 of us so we thought that was nice. We were a little disappointed to see that there were no lifeguards or life vests at the pools. We went to the pool with the slide first and it was a little to deep for my 4 year old who is not a very strong swimmer. The best pool for the kids would be the Tapa pool as it has a shallow area with water spouts bursting out. We loved walking along the Waikiki beach and the ocean was calm enough to swim in. Our rate included the breakfast buffet which was pretty good with a omelet stattion and huge selection. We were there on Mother's day and that morning had the best spread. It was nice to have so many shops so close to walk to especially when we needed to stock up on snacks & drinks when we first arrived.

Room Tip: The Rainbow tower seems to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issey_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We LOVED our Rainbow tower room on the 23rd floor over looking Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. What a stunner. We did not want to stop looking at the beach, the swimmers, the surfers.... We ate dinner both nights on our lanai...no better seat in town! You can sit out and enjoy the music from the restaurant below. Just magical. The room was huge and while the complex is massive, we found our way around and could experience a lot in a short time. My only complaint is the mattresses were very soft....otherwise...A wonderful piece of Hawaii...

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveSPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved that this resort was just off the craziness of Waikiki Beach. But still easily within walking distance of everything Waikiki has to offer. We were on our honeymoon and so we splurged on an ocean front room in the rainbow tower. While the view was amazing, we realized that we were hardly in the room to enjoy it because there is just so much to see and do in Waikiki.

Some negatives were that our water (in the whole building) was shut off at least once for repairs so we weren't too happy about that after returning from the beach. Restaurant options weren't all that great and neither were the drinks. But then again, you are so close to everything there are many great options nearby.

We did enjoy our stay and do not regret staying here, but we would not return. We spent a few nights at turtle bay for the same cost and our room was far superior and the service was also much better.

The Hilton is just so large and busy, do not personal service from this resort. For us, we didn't mind this. Just be aware, if that is what you are expecting you wont get it here.

The Friday night fireworks are great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at this great resort three times. Once in the 1980's, 1990's, and 2013. This resort only gets better. Great pools, big beach, selection of views and buildings, and wonderful restaurants/bars. The Rainbow tower is comfortable, but the Tapa Tower is the best. Benihana of Tokyo is off the main lobby. This is REAL INTERNATIONAL RESORT, large, spread out, several pools, bars, convention center, and restaurants. It is right in Waikiki, a short walk to the International Marketplace and world class shopping. One thing you CANNOT MISS-THE ARIZONA MEMORIAL. To really understand cultural nuances, go to the POLYNESIAN CULTURAL CENTER (Great day trip, worth every dollar). The concierge can set up your travels with discount coupons, transportation, etc.
Don't miss out, if you want to take a great trip to Oahu, make this your 1st stop...then onto Maui. See my review of the Hyatt Regency Maui...

Room Tip: The Rainbow tower is comfortable, but the Tapa Tower is the best. Both have ocean or pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stopped on Oahu in between longer visits to Kauai and Maui. I chose this location because it was on the beach.

My first comment is that this is a very large Hilton complex. If you are looking for a quiet beach get away, go somewhere else.

That said, this resort runs like a well oiled machine. It is very large and was very crowded (during my visit). But I had no wait at check in or check out. I never waited more than 5 minutes for dinner with no reservations.

The room in the Tapa tower was very spacious. The room, restaurants, and resort were very clean. Parking is expensive, but easy for self parking. The beach and pools are very nice and clean, albeit crowded and do offer beautiful sunsets.

I enjoyed my stay and would certainly stay here again. Just be prepared for a lot of people traffic.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLtraveler766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose to stay at the Hilton so that our kids could enjoy the numerous pools, particularly those for the kids. We understood that it was a large international hotel, with a multitude of dining options, and on these perceptions we were correct. However, it seems that the Hilton has over-estimated their ability to cater for immense volume of guests. We often found the children's pool overwhelmed by guests, and the water slides closed somewhat early considering many guests would not return to the hotel after touring.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and compact, along with well-serviced.
Our greatest concern was the significant mark up of the restaurant and service options at the hotel, given their captured market. We may be naive, but being asked to pay 50% more for surfing lessons with four times the people, compared to the facility next door was a bit much.
Further, we decided to treat ourselves to breakfast in the hotel one morning, was our greatest disappointment. Firstly, the service was unacceptable for an international facility. We struggled to get the attention of our waiter, who was perspiring so profusely he was needed to continually wipe his forehead. He also reached across my son to pour my husbands coffee, whereupon, the coffee was spilt across my son. We also had to deal with the pigeons flying around as they dined upon the ever increasing mountain of used dishes. Then, when the meals did arrive they were underwhelming in quality and volume.
I figure if you are going to charge premium pricing, then provide premium service. Our lesson will be to avoid large hotels I the future, as we don't find that experience particularly relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,395 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing