We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation, central to Waikiki Beach and activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great family vacation, central to Waikiki Beach and activities”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed a 3-night stay at this hotel. It was at full-capacity and though definitely had a lot of people, it wasn't as crazy as I was expecting from some of the reviews I read. The pool with the slides was pretty busy, but we were able to get chairs each day, at various hours.

While the kids enjoyed the slides, they thought the water was cold so spent a lot of time in the hot tub or lagoon anyway. There is a great lawn area with lots of shade across from the lagoon that I really liked; great for a picnic and easy spot to watch everyone in the lagoon.

You do have to watch out on prices at some shops. While their on-site grab and go is decent for a kids meal, it is better to just walk a few more steps to the ABC store for anything you need, especially alcoholic drinks.

The rooms were very nice. We got the Tapas building and had a pretty decent view of the lagoon. We had a high floor, which I recommend.

A nice amenity is the DVD/game rental, which is at the Tapas tower. You can rent one free each night, which was great.

One tip - the pool deck gets very wet. Make sure your beach bag is waterproof if you plan to put it down. We had a small inflatable cooler too for drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberG8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,445
    4,883
    2,368
    861
    545
See reviews for
5,493
4,649
362
1,343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Been coming to HHV for 30+ years. My last trip there was 15 yrs ago and my how it has changed. Not for the better. This former grande beauty is now just a dump. I've stayed there literally 50+ times and never have we been so disappointed as this trip. Ali'i was our preferred tower, but not available so we opted for the only thing they had which was the Rainbow Tower.
Gone are the days of the in room mini bar, and room service, all the restaurants are closed down or just gone, and the ones the do exist are just plain poor food, and service. You can order pizza though... all you want. Except you can get all the pizza you want at home.
They charge you $30+ a day for resort fee, but you have to fight to get a chair at the pool, and they literally are low on everything there.... Our room went uncleaned for 3 days, and not because they didn't know we were out. We actually saw the maid service in the hall way and asked them to clean, and leave a couple extra towels and pillows, which never happened.
The phone system was broken, the air conditioner would barely cool past 74, the shower was rusted and just old. The quality is not even Motel 6 or Super 8, 3 starts is a stretch.....
We used to bring our children 3-5+ times a year back 15-20 yrs ago and it was a truly nice hotel in those days, now it is just a run down, over crowded, over priced, dump.

Save your money, there is NOTHING special about the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

Room Tip: My advice is to NOT pick a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Aloha Claude S,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We regret to learn about your disappointment with your stay. Traditional room service has been replaced by Fresh Connection, which offers freshly prepared meals for takeout or for delivery during breakfast and dinner hours. There are many eateries on our resort that range from casual takeout to fine dining to meet every guests’ preference. The mandatory resort charge offers many benefits such as high speed internet, DVD rentals, Hawaiian social activities, etc… (please see our website for the complete list) at a discounted price. We are sincerely sorry to hear about the various challenges that you experienced. We are committed to making every guest stay a special experience and apologize for falling short in this. We appreciate your feedback as we are continuously striving to enhance our guest experience. We hope you will return to HHV and allow us another chance to service you in the future.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Friends and I stayed here for two wonderful nights before boarding a cruise ship to Canada. The stay here made the vacation start great. We got an upgrade on the original rooms to a suite in the Rainbow tower, got to watch the Friday night fireworks from the balcony. The bar service was good, but the restaurants were bad, food cold, extremely expensive and service even worst, even at the Dairy Queen!!. So for the next four meals we left the village area, found lots of 1/2 off meals and coupons for freebies that were 1000x's better than at the village. We ordered tours from the tourist center there which helped us a lot - we didn't drive thank goodness. But the best was we wanted to go to a certain luau, but the sales rep told us another was better (Pleasure Island Retreat, just for a few dollars more person, but really worth it. BOY!! WAS HE RIGHT!! It was perfect in every way. That event made the whole trip, just hmmm. Would I stay there again, don't know, might have to think about it.

Room Tip: Shop around for price differences first. Just because it's the largest, doesn't mean it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had planned to stay 3 days with my cousin and his wife in Honolulu. When we arrived in Hawaii, Hurricane Willie had just come through. Many locals don't have air-conditioning, and the humidity was stifling. We were able to get a great room rate ( $199 per night) through Booking Buddy.com. It was wonderful. The room was well-appointed, and we had a view of Honolulu Harbor and air-conditioning. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. The amenities were terrific. I would never expect peace and quiet at a major hotel in Waikiki during the summer. However, it was quiet at night. This was a true Waikiki experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent one week in this hotel. Was very full, but no confusion.
The rooms are beautiful and clean.
The position is perfect .
There are a lot of shops and restaurants inside and 5 minute by walk from the famous street Kalakaua were people can find shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: To ask the room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonella A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The property is beautiful and huge. The location is fabulous; beach and lagoon. Everything you need is close, but that also means that everyone else is there, too. It is crowded in the restaurants and stores. Nothing in the hotel was included in the price; not a beach chair/umbrella, not a paddle board. Our two nights there can be described as a fast-paced Hawaii getaway.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for an ocean view but got one if we looked left from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hilton Hawaiian Waikiki Beach Resort was great!! Our check in was seamless. We had a room in the Tapa Tower. It was roomy & had a slight view of the ocean. Had a small issue with water standing in the shower but made a call to have it fixed and the remainder of the trip we had no issue at all. One minor drawback for us is that we prefer to have our rooms cool at night and our thermostat setting in our room would only go to 68. We prefer a couple degrees cooler. Other than that the beach is great, shopping & pools. Make sure to eat in the pizza restaurant!!! Pizza was very good!! It's always crowded so either call it in or be ready to wait.

Room Tip: If you want beach front stay in Rainbow Tower (it's closer to beach)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmacw3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,173 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing