We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Disney Version of a Tropical Hotel Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was a village full of family fun laced with ways to allow you to have the most fun and spend the most money without ever leaving the property. There are restaurants, shopping, bars, package stores, conference facilities, pools, activities and diversions amid the multiple hotel rooms, vacation rentals and residences. I was stunned by the sheer size and scope of all of the offerings. There are so many options that it would be better if the staff oriented visitors to the various towers and offerings in a more comprehensive manner on check in.

The spa was quite pricy, but comprehensive and indulgent. There were some areas of the men’s spa that were under repairs, but that was hardly noticeable in the midst of all the things that were present. Business travelers will appreciate the relatively central location of the property and dedicated bushiness and convention areas, but there are children EVERYWHERE and it always feels like a birthday party. One note of caution is that the bars and restaurants close down at 11:30 pm. And, there are limited late night social options. In addition beach services (chairs, umbrellas, etc) are suspended at 5:00 pm. Things typically do not open until after 7-8 for recreation, but there are locations for an “early” breakfast or coffee.

The coy ponds and landscaping were meticulous. The lagoon was a great place for “ocean” swimming for those intimidated by the surf. The only thing missing was an adult only pool. Kids are great, but not having a quiet area somewhere in public was noted and missed.

Room Tip: The higher the room up is, the better the view. The Rainbow tower is closer to the beach than some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sholas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,621 - 6,627 of 15,360 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here two nights as part of our 2 week Hawaiian vacation in July (we also visited the Big Island and Kauai). The property is gorgeous, well maintained, and beautiful. We had a room in the Rainbow tower with an AMAZING view of Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Hilton pools, and the Friday night Hilton Fireworks. We are so glad we splurged for the Rainbow Tower.

It is located right on Waikiki Beach with a beautiful spot for swimming in the sea. The boardwalk walkway also goes in front of the Hilton and you can take this and walk forever along all the different hotels and restaurants along Waikiki Beach.

What we didn't like about the hotel was that it was SO CROWDED. Just way too many people and way too many kids. Sometimes you had to wait 10 minutes or longer just to get an elevator. The pools were insanely crowded and swarming with kids. There are not enough hot tubs...and when you do find one, there's like 20 kids in a 10 person hot tub. After swimming in the ocean, it's nice to go in the pool or warm up in the hot tub and we were just completely overwhelmed at the pool. We usually had to put our stuff on the ground because there were no chairs to set our things. Everywhere you go you had to wait....because there were just too many people...

I have stayed at many Hilton properties before (I am a Gold Member) and I thought it was odd that there wasn't the usual gourmet room service... Because the hotel was so crowded, we wanted to order room service for breakfast to enjoy in peace and quiet on our balcony. They have this thing called Fresh Connection or Fresh Express (can't remember exact name) that was good...but it's more casual, comes in a grocery bag, and has a simpler menu. I was dreaming of something more like fresh made eggs benedict on a tray on my balcony for my last morning in Hawaii.... like what you usually get at other Hilton properties.

We ate lunch at Tropics 2x and thought the food was GREAT, and the drinks. The service was really slow, however. For dinner, one night we went to the luau (more later) and one night we wanted to eat on property, went to the Bali restaurant at a decent time but couldn't get in because they were all booked up so we ended up eating off property.

The luau was fantastic - the show was great, the food (buffet) was surprisingly good! Pay for the higher ticket - you get a real flower lei :-) and better seating. The thing we didn't like about the luau was that you couldn't charge things (extra drinks, photos) to your room...and, the tables were VERY crowded and they packed so many people in you feel very cramped.

One morning we had a very very early morning tour (we had to leave at 4:30 AM). I was surprised when I called the valet that they could not retrieve our valet-parked rental car for us. We had to go in person to request it. Usually when you stay at a luxury hotel you can call and they have your car waiting for you.

Overall the property is super impressive, beautiful, and well maintained. Our room was great and so was the view. Unfortunately, I probably would not stay here again because it's just too crowded and chaotic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KLJdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The beach and pool area were beautiful, but, oh so crowded. It was hard to find a chair at the pool. I think that it is outrageous that on the beach they charge $15 a chair for very worn ratty looking lounges and $30 for an umbrella.

At 7 pm we requested that our sofa bed be made up. When we returned to the room at 9:15, it was not done.

This hotel reminded me of Las Vegas - on the beach. Very crowded. The village is convenient for eating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kjzrsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This a great place for vacation. Everything you need is on the resort. We enjoyed all of the festivities there and the restaurants gave us good service.There are 5 pools on this property,and the beach is right outside. We also enjoyed the lagoon. You can ride on paddle boards,water-bikes, and swim here. This resort is also in a good location. It is close to shopping and other sights on the island. If you want to go on a tour, all of them will pick you up here. If you want to rent a car, you can rent one across the street from the hotel. If not, you can take the bus and get around. The best way to do Waikiki is to walk. There is so much to see and do at the resort, you might not want to leave . This is my fourth time staying here

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Forrest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for for 3 nights while on our honeymoon, and we were pretty happy about our stay. We had a bit of a "rough" start at the check-in, but it was all forgotten when we got our room!

Check-in took forever - there wasn't a line, but the lady that helped us was so slow and not very friendly. Instead of explaning to us that she couldn't find the reservation right away she just looked really unhappy and made noises. When I finally asked if there was something wrong, she told us that she didn't find our reservation. Finally she decided to call booking.com and figured out that the reservation was under my husbands middlename. I thought it was kind of strange that she didn't try that in the first place - it's such a big resort with tourists from all over the world with all kinds of names - instead we stood there for 20-30 minutes while she was looking at her computer.

We got a free upgrade - I'm assuming it was because of the check-in-problems, but still that was a really was a nice surprise. We hadbooked an ocean view room at the Alii Tower, and got upgraded to a suite in the Alii Tower, and we absolutly loved it! Two beautiful bathrooms, an amazing view - overlooking the beach and Dimond's Head. All in all it was a wonderful experience - the suite really made our stay here. And that's also why I give it 4 stars. The only negative thing about the suite was that we could hear the guests in the room nextdoor and their very loud TV.

The staff that cleaned the room on that floor did a really good job, and were always smiling and greeting us in the hallway. The resort aera is beautiful with trees, flowers and little pools with fish, turtles and birds. They also have parrots in some of the trees. Fun for both kids and adults. Free bottled water was also a plus for us.

The resort is absolutly huge - and there are so many people around everywhere. We didn't use any of the pools as we're more beach-people, but the pools looked busy from early morning until late at night. There are a lot of resturants on the resort. We tried a few and looked in some of the shops and were content, but when you first go all the way to Hawaii you kind of want to see something else then the resort aera. Parking was very expensive, but the pick-up aera to differnt activites worked really well. And we got a taxi to the airport really fast.

I would come again to stay at the suites, but it's probably better for families with kids than for couples that want to experience a lot. It you just want to stay at the resort and relax it's probably perfect - if you don't mind a lot of people around you all of the time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the HHV for a week. Huge resort, 5 pools, own lagoon right on the beach. Great place with kids with lots of activities. Walkable to Waikiki beach and royal Hawaiian shopping centre. We tried Tropics for breakfast, food was good, service was good not cheap though. Lanikai juices was a good find. Round table pizza was good about $30 for a large veggie pizza. Lapperts overpriced for what you get. Convenient to have ABC store so close by. We went to the Lua. The show was great. The food was average. Very limited vegetarian options. People were taking two plates at a time. I suggest you do the same as they close one side very early in the evening. Service was good and the dancers very professional.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank vim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

great location, great hotel, fantastic views, lots to do around the resort, loved the south african penguins and the south american parrots, could not fault this place. fast check-in and check-out, did not pay resort fees due to a stuff-up by my travel agent. consider these a total rip-off. all over, a good place to base whilst in honolulu. tourist buses at the door, ten mins walk to shopping zones,

Room Tip: join hhilton honours, lots of benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntyshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,186 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
6,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £168 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing