We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Florissant, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great overall resort”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Liked the beach ( much bigger than the beach in front of Outrigger Beach) and the lagoon. Plenty of shops and places to eat nearby. Rainbow Tower rooms were a nice size for 4, plus our room overlooked Diamond Head and we could see the Friday fireworks from our room. The lagoon was a great place to learn how to stand up paddle board.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twokidstwocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,713
    5,083
    2,492
    914
    586
See reviews for
5,819
4,873
375
1,386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort for three nights during a recent trip to Hawaii with my wife. We had a beautiful corner room on the 29th floor, near the top of the Rainbow tower, where we had breathtaking views of Waikiki Beach.
The hotel was very clean and well-decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There were groundskeepers constantly working on the landscaping of this immense property. There are four elevators to quickly get to the rooms. We had a large corner room, with lots of space, a small refrigerator, flat-screen cable TV, and two balconies that overlooked the beach, one that faced Diamond Head, and one that faced the ocean.
The area near the hotel is very nice and you can find a variety of restaurants if you walk a few minutes from the hotel. When we ate on the property, we ignored the Hilton’s pricey buffet restaurant and instead ate at the Pronto Pickle cafe. We also went several times to the Tropics Bar & Grill, which sits right next to the beach. The Tropics bar has a great live local band, the Piranha Brothers.
There are two ABC convenience stores located within the Hilton Hawaiian Village property, which we frequently used to buy coffee, food and other supplies.
We spent time at both the beach and the pool. When we spent a day on the sandy beach, we rented an umbrella and chairs, which was pricey but worth it. There were three swimming pools just near our tower, and several more on the property. The water in the main pool was surprisingly cold, considering it was July. Of course, it was tough to find a chair if you came down after 9 AM. There are no umbrellas at the pool, so if you want shade, you have to look for chairs under a tree.
On Friday nights, the hotel has an awesome free fireworks display that attracts lots of people from the hotel and local area. The fireworks are launched near the Rainbow tower just after dusk, but you can see the display from anywhere nearby.
The hotel does offer free Wi-Fi, but we found that it worked only if you were in the building.
I booked through Pleasant Holidays via a travel agent since this was a combination air/hotel/cruise trip that included transfers to the airport, and I was happy with the rate I paid for the hotel.
Overall, I was very happy with the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort. I would consider staying there again if I returned to Honolulu.

Room Tip: There are four towers on the property, the Rainbow tower has the best views, but is also more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus85204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

While my husband attended his conference I enjoyed a relaxing few days at this mega resort. We were in the Rainbow tower- 7th floor facing the lagoon. I especially enjoyed the view and afternoon sun on the balcony. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The resort is crowded and perfect for people watching. Waiting for elevators in the afternoon when loads of people are returning from the beach might be annoying but everyone seemed relaxed and patient. I enjoyed poking around the resort shops. The grounds are gorgeous and the breezes refreshing. It was fun seeing families having fun at the pools but the pools were swarming and noisy. The Lagoon looked like lots of fun. Food is expensive, a simple hot dog was 9.95 a turkey sandwich 15.95. Our favorite food at the resort was a scoop of macadamia nut ice cream from Lepperts ice cream store. Heavenly. I've seen several reviews compare this resort to a Las Vegas resort and that was a bit scary since I'm not a big fan of LV. While big and densely populated this resort does not feel like Las Vegas. The tropical magic is definitely in play here!

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower or Alli Tower. The others won't have a view. I'm not sure but the lagoon side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have just rung the reservations line to make a reservation for January 2015 and was advised the hotel does not have inter-connecting rooms, it was not that there was not any available the hotel just does not have them, which seems very odd. I was trying to book a 1bedroom suite with another room standard room in the Ali' Tower, I then asked what the options for inter-connecting rooms were and was advised inter-connecting rooms were not really available. I would appreciate feedback on if it is possible to get inter-connecting rooms, I have never stayed in a hotel that does not provide this, the reservation person did say Hawaii is unusual !! Without inter-connecting rooms I am struggling to understand how families stay in the hotel. Thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwil1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Aloha Kiwil1971,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We sincerely apologize for the misinformation regarding the connecting rooms. HHV does have rooms that are connecting; however, there is a charge to guarantee the connecting rooms. Please contact our in-house reservation, which is open Monday thru Friday from 7am to 5pm Hawaii time for more detailed information on the availability of rooms. We hope you choose to stay at HHV and look forward to welcoming you to our resort.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We checking in late in the evening and I'm so glad we did. Check it went smoothly for us. The next afternoon the check in counters were clogged with people and the whole area was covered in baggage and the driveway crammed with cars. This was pretty typical of this resort. They have managed to squeeze in as many units as possible onto the property making it one of the busiest places on an already busy island. We typically had waits in a crowded lobby (Rainbow tower) every afternoon.
The room was nothing special (Rainbow tower). We paid for an ocean view room and we ended up floor 7 on the lagoon side. We could see the ocean, but mostly we looked over to the other tower, the great lawn and the lagoon. You'll want to be higher up and "ocean front."
The grounds are beautiful and there is a lot to do here. You'll share the pools with lots of your friends so get there early to stake out a lounge chair for the day.
Fireworks on Friday was fun, but short and not overly impressive.
Overall, for the money, this place isn't really worth the hassle. We had more fun in Ko Olina.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha Jason w,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and providing us with feedback. We are glad to hear that your check in went smoothly and you enjoyed our ground features and our many activities that we offer. I assure you that we are consistently striving for improvement in accommodating all our valued guests in the plentiful assortment of pools and areas of our resort. Our hotel is committed to providing great memories for all our guests and regret to hear when our guest’s expectations are not met in any way. We have shared your feedback with our management teams and do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Such a great property right on the beach! We were lucky enough to tag along on one of my Dad's biz' trips, and even had a balcony room. Even though the hotel is steps from the surf, there is a ton of activity to lure ya in on the way to the sand. When I was there April of '96 the staff was putting on a Luau and fire style Dance every night by the pool, so that was an awesome plus! This establishment is very close to many interesting sites including the Pearl Harbor Memorial, Diamond Head Crater (ya gotta hike it, you even get a commemorative certificate) not to mention tons of shopping. There is even a really nice shop or two right on the hotel grounds. Definite place to stay when wanting to be close to the action, and treated like Hawaiian Royalty! I think I remember in addition to mints on the bed for the turn down option, the maid staff would even leave lovely local music floating into the room on the clock radio upon returning to our room each night. Perfect experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffMateas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I stayed here and it was wonderful! The rooms were very nice and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very nice and there is so much to do and see! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannonjaredjoe37312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,395 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing