We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed the Ohana and it was there for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I found this hotel from the recommendation of a friend of my brother. I was amazed when I arrived that the front desk staff already knew the sad reason I was in Honolulu, since I hadn't told anyone except my brother's firefighter friend. It turns out the Honolulu fire department thinks this is the best hotel near the airport--and the airport shuttle allows one to easily link to the hospital shuttles for Kaiser and Tippler at the airport.
I found the room clean and comfortable. When I looked out the window I thought I would be hearing road noise all night, but that wasn't the case--it was quiet. Everyday when I returned to the hotel someone at the desk asked how it was going and expressed their concern. They told me where I could find Starbucks and eating options other than the hotel restaurant which has limited hours/days of operation. And when it became necessary for our party to move closer to downtown Honolulu they made a reservation for us at another property.
I couldn't have asked for better service and Aloha than I received at this hotel.
Mahalo to Suzy, Noni and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hotel staff at the desk and housekeeping are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are in good shape. The hotel is renovating the pool. The Internet service here however horrible. The system is so slow opening a basic text email can take a minute. So if you need Internet service for business I'd suggest bringing a mifi card as it would be dramatically faster.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelproPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Aloha and thank you for reviewing us. Mahalo for acknowledging our team members on their courteous service, we will share your positive feedback with them.

We sincerely apologize that you found our internet service to be slow. We are actually in the process of upgrading our internet service to Free WI FI in all guestrooms at a much faster speed. This upgrade should be completed by June this year. Our pool renovation will be completed by mid May as well.

Please come back and visit us again to enjoy our new improvements.

Mahalo Nui Loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had a need for an overnight stay before flight and this was the best we could do. Took forever to check in and from what I could see, the manager, wearing long sleeves and thin was talking on his cell phone totally ignoring us in line to check in. The workers looked overwhelmed and he just walked away on his cell phone!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miransa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerGMHonolulu, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your comments to Trip Advisor.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvienence as you had to wait to check in at the front desk. As a Airport hotel, there are times when the desk is overwhelmed with fight delayed guests checking in all at the same time. The staff does their best to anticipate heavy check ins but at times the process may seem slow due to the amount of paper work needed to check each guest from the distressed airline.

We pride ourselves in providing the best guest service through our tenured, caring staff, we apologize that this was not conveyed to you and will strive to be more sensitive and efficient for all our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us another opportunity.

Mahalo and our warmest aloha to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel staff was friendly enough, the rooms was clean and the price reasonable. The shuttle service to and from HNL runs every half hour. There are very limited dining options in the immediate area (strip mall with take out/eat in and restaurant in a nearby hotel). The breakfast offered in the hotel is ok. The sound from nearby HNL and highway was less than expected but present. I would stay there again should the need arises.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ComfortWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerGMHonolulu, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for submiting your comments to Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to mention our great location to the Airport and clean accomodations. We pride ourselves in providing the best "Ohana" service. We hope you will visit us again when passing through Honolulu International Airport.

Our warmest Aloha to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

New hotels open at airports all over the world on a daily basis. Honolulu is an exception. Nothing new, nothing planned. There are two or three hotels here and they have been here for a long, long time. We arrived near midnight from Europe and did not want to waste money for an expensive room in the city that would not really be utilized to it's fullest. So we decided to sweat it for one night at the airport. For price ( rates are not inexpensive )we picked the Ohana which is part of the Outrigger Hotel and Resort chain. The shuttle picked us up quickly, check-in was typically Hawaiian, laid back without urgency to get it done quickly. The hotel is a trip back in time, 1960's standard, but it's clean, the rooms are large, bathroom was adequate and for a one night stay we had absolutely no complaints. I wish there was a more modern option at HNL, there isn't, but if we are in the same boat at another time, we would come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerGMHonolulu, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to submitting your comments to Trip Advisor.

Our location and proximity to the Airport makes our property special and accomodating. We have undergone some room renovation last year and plans are underway for future renovations. We hope you will visit us the next time you are passing through Honolulu International Airport.

Our warmest Aloha you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at Ohana Airport Hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed . Friendly staff , good service , conveniently located near the interstate . There is a fabulous Chinese take away nearby .
Compared to the hotel at Waikiki Beach , where we stayed afterwards, we found that Ohana Airport hotel was the better choice . We will come back .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterXAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerGMHonolulu, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to send your positive comments to Trip Advisor.

Your comments were shared with our "Ohana" and we appreciate the great comments you posted about our staff. We pride ourselves in welcoming all our guests with a warm Aloha. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will again visit us when you are passing through Honolulu International Airport and the city of Honolulu.

Aloha and A Hui Ho!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This hotel is very convenient to the airport and the free shuttle is great. The hotel is clean and the rooms are large, but the property is well worn and much in need of renovating. The elevators are very slow. The price is actually a little steep for basic lodging. I will shop around the next time I need to stay near the airport in Honolulu.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £122 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing