We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, stay at the Ramada Plaza Waikki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Crowley, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yes, stay at the Ramada Plaza Waikki”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was my husand, Martin and I first trip to Hawaii and our stay at the Ramada Plaza Waikki was a great one. The staff was helpful and courteous. The very first day the concierge, Pamela, gave us some awesome suggestions on how to get around the island and the best sights to see. She found us an awesome luau for the second night there, then she found us a trip to the Big Island, where we toured Hilo. The room was clean and quiet. The location was close to the Pink Line, so we travel around the island with no problems. I would return to this hotel if I took another trip to Oahu and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1114 is quiet and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBarbaraMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Aloha Margaret Barbara Morgan from Crowley Louisiana:

Thanks for recommending us and Pam at the concierge is awesome! I'm glad you stayed with us on your first trip to Hawaii. And that your stay was a GREAT ONE!

We really appreciate your recommendation and will pass along your excellent comments to Pam and the rest of our staff!

Mahalo and Ya'll come back!!
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    590
    249
    64
    22
See reviews for
332
476
121
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinner
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

After reading some of the 2- and 3-blob reviews we were a little dubious about staying here. (I always read the bad reviews first!)

However, it's clean, the staff are friendly and everything worked as it should. It's very close to the GOOD end of Waikiki beach. It does appear to be one of the oldest in the area however, and the 'complete renovation in 2009' did not include new windows. We were at the back of the hotel so it wasn't a problem - and I'm a light sleeper.

I fail to see how anyone can say it's 'difficult to find' - it's right on Ala Moana Boulevard and even has a sign that's visible from the street!

The Chinese/American buffet breakfast was good, but got boring after 3 days - I hope that the hotel manage to persuade them to vary the selection. (I read Pattie Furtado's comment). Don't lose the scrambled eggs though; when fresh from the kitchen they were the best ever!

Bottom line: I would stay here again. If you want a clean room, comfortable bed and a hot shower for a good price, this is the place. It's a 10 minute walk to the shore, so don't stay here if you want to be in a giant anonymous resort right on the beach or if you MUST have an ocean view!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Aloha Roy H Piner
I'm happy you read through the reviews. Yes we are located at the Good End of Waikiki near Ala Moana Center and restaurants and shopping! I'm glad you like the eggs in the restaurant. The restaurant is right now in the middle of renovations so we are going to let the breakfast go for a while - just too many negative comments,.

Thanks for staying with us and I hope you come back the future!

Mahalo,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

While visiting Waikiki, Hawaii in August 0f 2012 my wife and I stayed at the Ramada Plaza Waikiki. I found the hotel to be of excellent quality. The facilities were great and the staff were very professional, courteous and helpful. I would recommend Ramada Plaza Waikiki to all my family and friends who were going to visit Waikiki, Hawaii.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Aloha Robert H from Vancouver:
I'm sure glad you stayed with us and we are so pleased you were happy with our hotel.
We appreciate your comments about both the facilities and our staff!

We won Best of Ramada in 2012 out of the top 3% of Ramada's in America and appreicate our certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor.

Come back anytimg we'd love to have you as a frequent guest!

Warmest Aloha,

Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was very unimpressed with this hotel. It was hard to find; out of the way; and the staff was very discourteous. We chose this hotel because their website says they have a breakfast buffet with guest rooms. But they don't. Also; parking is supposed to be half off with a Ramada card; but they only took $5 off per night. The hallways were dark. The elevator didn't work. The gift shops were always closed. And the parking was very narrow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Aloha Mary C from Anthem Arizona

I'm sorry you were unimpressed but I have to tell you I love your malls in Anthem! Wish we had them here. I don't know why you weren't given the breakfast buffet - it's served in the restaurant in front of the hotel. Parking is supposed but be $10 as a Wyndham resward member you did receive a $5 discount. Parking is now priced at $20.00. Our stalls aren't huge but we have a parking attendance now full time to make sure that our guests have a space and it's secured.

I believe we failed to meet your standards and I apologize for that.

One elevator was out of service but it has since been fixed.

Please reconisder and come and give us another chance.

Hopefully,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have stayed at other hotels in Waikiki and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and safe I felt (I was traveling solo). I only stayed two nights but I would stay there agin for a longer visit and will recommend it to friends and family. The staff is wonderful and although I arrived too early for check-in (12 noon), I was allowed to leave my bags with the bellman and went out for lunch and a walk around the area before returning to check-in.

Room Tip: I was on the 15th floor nest to the elevators and although I am a light sleeper, there was very litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chall64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Aloha Challo form Hilo:
We are very happy you stayed with us and had such great comments about our staff. We are lucky our hotel is set back from Ala Moana Boulevard so I'm not surprised there was no noise to keep you from sleeping.

Mahlao again for those nice comments!

Since you're from Hilo - come back and let us know when you do..

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Very reasonnable price for the location. The hotel has all the services needed: small pool, microwave and fridge, coffee pot, GOOD internet access, loundry, many restaurants nearby, in a walking distance from a big shopping mall (Ala Moana Center) and close to the Hilton beach, which is very nice and open to all public. Waikiki area is also close, 10-15 minutes walking. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendirgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Aloha Kendirgi from Quesbec City, Canada:
We really appreicate your comments about our hotel. Central location, off beach prices and good amenities. I'm glad the internet access was good for you. We are going to have to step it up to obtain wireless access for all those wireless users but it's good to know you were satisfied.

Mahalo for the comments and yes, we are a "very good value"!

Warmest Aloha,

Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location, but is not as cheap as its battered appearance would suggest and only has views of concrete, not unlike other hotels in the US.

On the plus side, the check in process was wonderfully fast and the front desk staff were always very good. The room was a reasonable size and the bed comfortable.

On the downside, breakfast was a $7 Chinese buffet round the corner from the hotel. Unwavering in content, it was only truly hot when it was served at 6:30am. All you can eat tho. Also there was no in-room wifi and the communal wifi was patchy at best.

A reasonable place to get a budget bed, but best suited to its dominant clientele - airline crews.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondon_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Aloha Jondon_town from London: Ouch! We take your comments very seriously and although we didn't meet your needs I hope you will give us another chance. The hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2009 but I'm so sorry you found us battered. We are working on improving the outsourced restaurant. Even though the breakfast is included in the room price it really needs to be better! The owner has been given direction to renovate and improve the food and we trust that it will be done.

Thanks for staying with us and I wish we had made your stay more pleasant. .

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Property: Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing