We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, bad sound insulation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Turku
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value, bad sound insulation”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Pros: This hotel had an excellent value: good location - close to everything. Staff was polite and the maintenance guy was extremely fast and efficient when our safe did not work. They even gave us a nice wedding present.

Room was clean(except for the windows) and nice - very small though.

Cons:
Even though we had a nice high-floor room, the street noise was considerable. I found out the reason: the windows outside did not seal - meaning that there was always a crack left no matter what you did. The windows were also only one layer. That made street noise a lot louder than I would have thought. Windows were also dirty.

There is too little parking space.

Noise was a bit of an issue but I might still stay again if the price was right- I would just ask for a room facing the parking lot, not the main road.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Aloha Jakk1 - thanks you for pointing out that the window of the room you were in did not seal correctly. We will re-seal all windows facing the road. We sealed the back side of the windows facing the construction area behind the hotel.
Our location is great and our staff is very responsive. I’m pleased you also enjoyed your wedding present – Congratulations and thanks for staying with us during that special trip.
I’ve advised housekeeping to double check that all windows are clean – I wish I had an excuse but I don’t – we’ll follow up and thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.
Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    598
    256
    64
    23
See reviews for
342
481
124
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asotin
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We really enjoyed our maid and had a great visit at this hotel. Sleep was good most nights. One neighbor got a little loud at midnight and the staff security got it right. Use your rewards card to save five dollars a day on parking. Only stay issue was either an American Express issue or the desk issue on a one extra night charge we received. We disputed it with American Express since this was suppose to be our card on hold when we checked in. We paid for our eight nights and the one night stayed on our card when we last checked two weeks out. It appears the card on hold got charged a night extra.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Aloha Nancy A - yes our maids are the BEST!

I'll check with accounting and see why the American Express was an issue. It should have come back to us - we'll follow up.

Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate you letting us know about the Am Ex issue.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Great location, convenient microwave and fridge in the room. Nice staff, quiet neighboorhood and clean rooms!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Marcela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Oh YAY! Thanks Marcela V for giving us a good review.

We are so happy that you liked our property - the microwave, fridge - staff and our neighborhood.

We appreciate the time you took to respond on trip advisor and for the good comments!

MAHALO!!!!

Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The front desk staff was rude and extremely unaccommodating. We booked a king bed (I even called to clarify), but when we arrived they put us in a room with two full size beds. When we went down to request to change, the front desk worker was extremely rude and made it sound like it was all our fault. The rooms were small and rather dingy, there are no views, no continental breakfast, and you have to pay $25 a day for parking. The beach and shopping are close by, but that was all we liked. The walls were thin and we could hear the neighbor's tv on the whole time we were there.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Aloha Kristen M - NOT IMPRESED?

Sorry you had to go to such trouble to change beds - but I'm guessing we were sold out - the bedding type is on request and I'm sorry we didn't give you what you wanted.

At least you liked the location but not much else. We should have offered you the parking discount for joining Wyndham Rewards - gee we even failed at that. We apologize and wish your stay had been better.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
1,466 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
142 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
241 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Property: Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing