We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for budget travellers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hotel for budget travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Overall stay is pleasant for our stay during 27 Dec 13 to 2 Jan 14. We checked in into the highest floor (17th) (penthouse floor) with a huge balcony overlooked the Hilton Village and a little view of the beach which was great. Room size is OK, very clean, with all amenities like safe, microwave, coffee drip machine, mini fridge and daily replenish coffee , tea etc. Also it's extremely helpful to have coin operated washing machines, driers and free ice machine on the level 2. A few minuses of the rooms are: there is a motion sensor to switch off electricity of the room, I understand that is used to switch off the power consuming appliances like air-con when no one is in the room but when we are sleeping in the middle of night, (when we get idle), the air-con got switch off too and we got hot and have to wave our hand or moved in order to switch the air-con back on. So that is pretty annoying. Another thing is that our room is right next to the lifts which beep when they pass through every floor, sometimes in the middle of the night when everything got really quiet, we could hear the beeps which was really disturbing our sleeps. Apart from the cons, all was good and the staffs were really helpful.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, get rooms which are away from the lift that beeps when it passes through ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerrickNgMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha DerrickNgMel,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we love to hear back from our guests and are pleased to ear that you both had an enjoyable stay with us. I would like to take this time to apologize for the noise disturbance (from the elevators) and the power saver air conditioning feature. We hope to see you during your next visit to Hawaii and my sincerest apologies once again.

Mahalo nui,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    579
    243
    62
    22
See reviews for
322
461
120
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent hotel off the main stip, but a pleasant few minutes from Waikiki beach. The staff are friendly, rooms are very clean and comfortable. Very pleasant to be close to alltge shopping but not in the busy traffic congestion of people, cars in tge hotels, shopping districtnof Waikiki beach itself. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantic96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha Atlantic96,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review, we greatly appreciate it. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us while on your business trip and that our location was able to offer you access to many eateries and shopping places away from the hustle and bustle of Central Waikiki. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Mahalo nui,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The rooms were clean. The staff very very helpful and such a great team. Did like the coffee machine, microwave and fridge in the rooms. Bus stop was right out side the hotel which was great. Close to all. The beach was not far to walk. We would come back. Thanks you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winniepearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Aloha winniepearce,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we greatly appreciate hearing back form our guests. We are very pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your time with us and are glad that our hotel provided you with an ideal location for all of your tourist activities. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing your during your next trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo nui,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our one night stay was made very pleasant due to the very helpful staff. We went for a walk as we arrived mid morning before check in. It poured while we were out. Gene ensured we had access to our room when we got back even though it was still before 11. A 10 minute walk gets you to the start of the Waikiki shops. Bus tickets are $2.50 on TheBus and remain valid for 2 hours, the expiry time is at the top of the ticket. This gives enough time to go a few places if you quick.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Aloha Gefton,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to assist you with any questions, concerns, etc. We thank you once again and hope to see you again during your next visit to the islands.

Mahalo nui,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#82 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Property: Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing