We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value priced hotel with kitchen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value priced hotel with kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

People stop your complaining...if you want a five star then PAY for one and stop complaining... You are too cheap.....this is for the economical crowd who want a nice place to stay without paying alot.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    441
    86
    29
    13
See reviews for
332
291
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LABRADOR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights in early December 2013. We were happy with the location. Disappointed that our room overlooked buildings not the mountains as we hoped, I booked because of the view of canal/mountains. Easy walking distance to beach[2 blocks] and main street[1 block].We had a room with 2 double beds and kitchenette on 9th floor. Clean not smelly at all and a good size room. Staff helpful and pleasant. Free parking, wi fi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ROBYN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not quite a 4-star review, but better than 3 stars. We stayed here for three nights starting on Christmas Day. The room was huge! We faced the mountains and the Ala Wai Canal, so the view was very nice. The beds were comfortable and the room seemed clean enough. We were on the 8th floor, and it was surprisingly quiet given the busy streets of Waikiki. The location is excellent, close to all the restaurants and shopping, and not too far from the beach. There's a full sized refrigerator, stove, and microwave, so you can cook in your room and save on restaurant costs. It's an older hotel so the furnishings can be a bit banged up, but at the price we thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobster1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for 2 nights in December 2013, our choice based largely on the favourable reviews we read on Trip Advisor. Although the staff went out of their way to accommodate us on our early arrival, we were very disappointed with our stay. To characterise the overall condition of our suite as "shabby" would be kind. The drapes on the master bedroom window were stained and the room smelled. The only room in our suite that looked and smelled clean was the bathroom. In its favour, the hotel is well-situated in Waikiki, close to public transportation and shopping.
Needless to say, we wouldn't recommend this hotel and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeaHorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Aloha! free wi-fi good for me.Half block to main bus line,and ABC store plus International Market Place,right at corner.Great Staff.Washer/Dryer at garage level has view to Canal and main drag.Take #2o to china town and Wal-mart.I ride bus from Airport $2.50.May rent a Jeep for 1day top off,all rentals with in a half mile...this my second home from LA.Also,Subway half block turn left at corner,about 1 dollar more.Mahalo!

Room Tip: do alot of walking and ride the bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for a few days before a cruise. We initially had a room on a lower floor at the front of the building but found it quite noisy when the bars emptied out. We were moved to a huge room on a higher floor with a kitchenette and a great view over to the canal at the rear.

The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. The room rate was a snip compared to other hotels in Waikiki. The shops were literally 2 mins walk away and the beach maybe 10 mins.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uktraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coffs harbour
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently spent 10 days at the Ilima Hotel. The staff were always friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very large and being self contained made the difference of not always having to go out for meals. It is conveniently located to Waikiki Beach as well as bus stops. This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel and would certainly go again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing