We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ilima Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
376
466
97
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
466
97
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenthe ala wai canaldeluxe studiowaikiki beachfood pantrytwo blockslei making classrooms are hugequiet streetbeach matsbit datedolder hotelguest laundryother hotelssmall poolcoffee makerlaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We found this hotel to be clean & comfortable although the wallpaper & carpets need updating.
All the staff were friendly & helpful.
Our room had a queen bed plus a double bed. It also had a full kitchen which was perfect for breakfast or to prepare a snack.
Easy walk to shops, restaurants & buses. There is free parking available on a first come first served basis. They also have a guest laundry. Free WiFi was great as well.
The hotel can also organise a shuttle to the airport for $10 per person.
Overall this is a good hotel for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dealseeker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our check in was a breeze. We knew the room had 2 twin beds (perfect to share with my sister) and a full kitchen....what surprised me the most was the spaciousness of the room. It was about twice the size of most standard hotel rooms with plenty of closets (yes, that is plural) and storage space.The kitchen included a full refrigerator, a stove, oven, microwave, toaster and all the necessary dishes, utensils, etc. An added bonus was the free parking included in the price (first come, first served - - might be a problem if you plan on getting in after 8 or 9 pm).

The room was clean if a bit basic, but there was a small table for 2, a desk TV and balcony with views of the city (and other nearby high rise hotels). The only minor problem was the beach towels (that you had to get from the front desk) were actually just regular bath towels (white and not much. if any larger than the bath towels in our room). The pool is also a bit small and there is no hot tub (but I think there was a sauna and a 2 machine work out room, although we did not use these).

This hotel is about two blocks from Waikiki Beach. An easy walk but I would be cautious walking it at night (we did this once and it was a but scary, but there was a moderate police presence).

I would definitely stay here again. There are great prices available on the hotel's website (search for their "specials" tab or you will pay a bit more).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ilima Hotel with a group of 6. The hotel is located two blocks from the beach on a relatively quiet street. All the main attractions of Waikiki is in walking distance.
The layout of our room was good although the interiors are a bit dated. We had two bedrooms and a pull down bed. Wifi was strong. Parking is provided although first come first serve so don't get back too late. The air conditioning (the types that stick out the window) being noisy was probably the main complaint.
Overall a good experience in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smirrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Honestly, the best part of our 17 day trip to Hawaii. Had room 1002. I was next to a roof top sun area. Great place to visit with companions. The balcony off our room was great in the morning as it was facing the east. Sun in Morning. Shade in afternoon. The Ilima is 1 block away from what is left of the international market. Very clean. Comfy beds. Only weird thing is the charge for using the safe??? Odd with so many other things offered free.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee, filters, cream and sugar. None are supplied.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberta travel view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a nice, albeit very outdated, centrally-located Waikiki hotel that has everything you need for ~$140/night: free garage parking; free wi-fi; spacious, quiet, very clean rooms with comfortable beds; soft, clean towels and linens; a fully equipped kitchenette; a big, furnished lanai with a gorgeous mountain views or city view views; coin-operated laundry machines ($4/load for wash+dry); fast elevators with no wait, a sun deck and a pool. It is located on a quiet side street that is just a 5 minute walk from Waikiki Beach and plenty of dining, shopping, grocery, drug store, and entertainment options. You can have a very comfortable stay and still save a lot of money if you stay here. We opted to buy groceries from the Food Pantry around the corner and cook many of our meals at home, opting to enjoy our beautiful mountain view from our Lanai instead of the cramped, noisy pricy restaurants downtown. If you're not a cook you have many $5 take-out options within a block from the hotel (udon bowls at Murakaume, steak and egg scramble from Hi-Steaks, ramen from the ramen stand at Food Pantry, tacos from Surf n Turf, subs at Subway, etc).

Room Tip: opt for the deluxe mountain view rooms -- they are higher up and the view can't be beat, despite being almost the same price!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews