We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location, great staff, kitchenett in every room, free parking”
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you like a hotel that is centrally located near Waikiki, but affordable and clean, choose this hotel.
This is only few blocks from Waikiki beach, one block from the international market.
Every room has a kitchenett and they provide free parking (first come first serve). The room is not sumptuous, but is clean and staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vamsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent a week at this hotel with my daughter's basketball team. This is a great small hotel. It's not on the main strip but close enough to walk to everything. This is a perfect place for families. It was clean! They have a small kitchen in every room. It has a microwave, full size frig. small electric, 4 burner stove with an oven, coffee maker (ask for filters), and a small table. We stayed in the deluxe studio and it was very roomy. They also have coin-operated laundry machines. They have 4 washers and dryers! I found it very convenient! There was never a wait for a machine! The pool is small but they do have sun decks on the 10th floor. They people there were so helpful! It was a great experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a mid range hotel a couple of large blocks from the beach front main thoroughfare. The staff here were always very pleasant and helpful. The WiFi worked well. The room was clean and tidy with handy kitchen facilities. Balcony was nice, large fridge kept the beer cold. All quite fine.

Only negatives I can think of were:
- the pool and surrounds are very small
- they have a coffee filter machine in the room but do not provide coffee (unless you go and get it from reception which I believe is $1.00)

All in all, if you must stay in Waikiki, this is a decent mid-price option. Having said that, I was often jealous looking from my balcony at the very nice looking large pool facility across the road (at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a great time at the Ilima Hotel. It is an older style Waikiki hotel, but the rooms are very large and the rates are very reasonable for being in Waikiki, makes it worth the walk to the beach. Wonderful and very helpful staff. Nice clean hotel. Lots of wonderful restaurants with walking distance.
Our only negative is that the windows are the old style shutter glass, not very sound proof. Keep in mind that if you get an ocean facing room, that there is contraction going on nearby at the old "international marketplace" during the weekdays. No problem if you are up early & on the go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingFamily2941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Ilima is a basic but clean hotel with nice sized rooms. The bed was very comfortable.

What made my stay in the Ilima was the attitude from the staff, and one staff member in particular with the assistance she provided to my family and I during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank readshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the moment we walked in we felt welcome.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The hotel is a bit older but the rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean and well maintained.The beds were very comfortable and having a kitchen was an added bonus.The room was huge. We had a view towards Kuhio Ave & the the "former" International Market Place. Hotel was very central with a short stroll to many restaurants & shops. Only two blocks to the beach.The area was nice and quiet at night which made it easy to sleep. Free internet via ethernet cable or wifi provided for each room. We would definitely stay here again If you're looking for value for money, fantastic staff and large clean rooms, it's hard to go past The Ilima Hotel.

Room Tip: Canal / mountain view rooms for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smileymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Pros: cheaper than many other Waikiki hotels, coin laundry , friendly staff, small kitchen in room with a good sized fridge, lanai on room, small but nice pool, free lei-making class, free parking (park by 7 each night and rent a small car to ensure a space), walking distance from beach/restaurants/grocery store/zoo/aquarium/bus stops/etc... We even walked to diamond head, enterprise car rental across the street, cold A/C and they appeared to be updating several A/C units as well, quiet

Cons: looks old/needs updating, we had one cockroach in our room (only one in the 2 weeks we stayed. Just kept all food in the fridge to be sure we didn't attract any more), had to be careful not to be too late in evenings to get a parking spot in the free garage (Lots of spots in the garage but too many people rudely parked over the line taking two spots instead of being careful to park carefully as to leave space for others.)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kdl05a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,917 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £114 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing