We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very outdated and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very outdated and dirty”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 3 nights in August 2014. The room was very outdated: sofa was old and stained with a slip cover to hide the condition. Wallpaper was peeling, lamp shades were stained, and the bathroom walls were dirty. The bathroom floor around the toilet area was visibly dirty and was not cleaned even after the housekeeper cleaned the room on the second day. We were in Honolulu during tropical strom Iselle and Julio and the hotel shared emergency procedures. The rooms all had battery operated lights, but none of ours had working batteries. We requested that the batteries be replaced, but only 2 of the four lights were fixed.

The swimming pool water was slightly green and we did not use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    445
    85
    29
    13
See reviews for
335
291
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our first stay at this off-the-main resort listing. We were pleasantly surprised at the exceptionally large 'Superior Studio with Kitchen'. It was very clean, had lots of storage areas & perfect for our family with 2 older teens. The staff was great & informative in preparation for the Double Hurricane Threat. We didn't take advantage of the pool, fitness or rooftop sunning area since we wanted to be at the beach but it was nice to have the option to sunbathe or take a quick dip on the premises.

There were two pricing items that sealed the deal. The first was the free parking although not guaranteed which can average $25/day at other hotels. We did easily find convenient free street parking when we returned after 10pm one night then we moved the car before 7 AM the next morning back to the hotel. The second was no resort fee (avg $20/day). The kitchen was adequately equipped with a dated stove and microwave for cooking quick meals for budget-minded families. Newspapers, beach towels & straw mats were available for free at the front desk daily. We had a wonderful unobstructed view of the lush mountains due to neighboring low-rise buildings. I would definitely recommend & return to this hotel in the future.

Extra perk was the location to the extremely popular Marukame Udon restaurant at the end of the block on Kuhio for breakfast from 7-9AM with NO LINE compared to their lunch & dinner crowd! This was a great breakfast treat with their very reasonably-priced homemade udon noodles, tempura & delicious broth/sauce. Typically, I don't even like udon!

Room Tip: We had a corner north-facing room which was large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked two weeks at this hotel and it was great. The spacious room, value for the money and great service made it a great experience. The hotel offers free parking, which is a bonus for those renting a car.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
450 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you like a hotel that is centrally located near Waikiki, but affordable and clean, choose this hotel.
This is only few blocks from Waikiki beach, one block from the international market.
Every room has a kitchenett and they provide free parking (first come first serve). The room is not sumptuous, but is clean and staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vamsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent a week at this hotel with my daughter's basketball team. This is a great small hotel. It's not on the main strip but close enough to walk to everything. This is a perfect place for families. It was clean! They have a small kitchen in every room. It has a microwave, full size frig. small electric, 4 burner stove with an oven, coffee maker (ask for filters), and a small table. We stayed in the deluxe studio and it was very roomy. They also have coin-operated laundry machines. They have 4 washers and dryers! I found it very convenient! There was never a wait for a machine! The pool is small but they do have sun decks on the 10th floor. They people there were so helpful! It was a great experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a mid range hotel a couple of large blocks from the beach front main thoroughfare. The staff here were always very pleasant and helpful. The WiFi worked well. The room was clean and tidy with handy kitchen facilities. Balcony was nice, large fridge kept the beer cold. All quite fine.

Only negatives I can think of were:
- the pool and surrounds are very small
- they have a coffee filter machine in the room but do not provide coffee (unless you go and get it from reception which I believe is $1.00)

All in all, if you must stay in Waikiki, this is a decent mid-price option. Having said that, I was often jealous looking from my balcony at the very nice looking large pool facility across the road (at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a great time at the Ilima Hotel. It is an older style Waikiki hotel, but the rooms are very large and the rates are very reasonable for being in Waikiki, makes it worth the walk to the beach. Wonderful and very helpful staff. Nice clean hotel. Lots of wonderful restaurants with walking distance.
Our only negative is that the windows are the old style shutter glass, not very sound proof. Keep in mind that if you get an ocean facing room, that there is contraction going on nearby at the old "international marketplace" during the weekdays. No problem if you are up early & on the go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFamily2941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
207 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
1,398 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,420 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing