We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
West Monroe
Level Contributor
257 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

In fact I stayed at this property in 1975. WOW has it chamged. Did I say Great Location. On block from beach, one block from Aloha Landing, where all the tour busses pick up passengers. Denny's Restaurant and ABC store located on bottom floor. Ruth Chris across the street and really everything you need or want within one block. We took a sunset cruise at the beach behind the Sheridan Waikiki. Busses and taxi's and shuttles everywhere. We stayed on 12th floor, you need to be a little higher to see a big part of the beach. They have a owner's lounge on the 27th floor with a Awesome view!

Room Tip: Higher floors give better beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    284
    136
    44
    31
See reviews for
228
184
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Definitely the best part about this hotel/timeshare is the location. We stayed 5 nights at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach which is 75 yards away and that place is 5 stars and full of Aloha Spirit. We didn't encounter any rude employees at the Imperial they just don't have anything to hang there hat on other than location. Our flight got canceled so we had to scramble to find a nights accomodations and I booked this place for $200. We were put in room 1105 which had the slimmest of 'partial ocean views' that could be glimpsed between two buildings. The place is delapidated with budget carpeting. It looks as if refurbishment last took place circa 1985. We had a Banyan Suite; size was fine and there was a kitchenette but what was totally disgusting is that when we curled up to go to bed and I pulled a pillow in close I was hit with a waft of what smelled to me like horse manure!! Several of the pillows smelled like this and it was very present all night. I like lots of pillows but instead of finding a nice cool one to curl up with it was horse crap every time. This room and experience was worth $100 per night max.

Room Tip: Only very high up rooms will have a good ocean view--the Halekulani Hotel and the Sheration block mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winefellowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

the only thing saving this hotel in our estimation was the location and a Dennys resturant next door and an ABC shop.Room looked good on website, has a kitchenette and nice sofa table chairs etc but a pull out bed from the wall and a double one at that. Never ever have we had a double bed in all our travels around the world. Wouldn't have booked this place if we had known that. No room service but you could get more towels if needed. Charged a resort fee extra when we got there $6.00 for what I dont know. Carpet was absolutely filthy!! Room smelled like cat pee. They did offer to move us but by that time we had gone to bed and didnt want to move late at night.Extra charges 4 internet. This is a timeshare place and they were wanting to get you to see a promotion to get cheaper tours etc. was on 4th floor no view despite asking for room on higher floor.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor but we did and it wasn't acknowledged
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishermanWanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel can't get any better. This is my second time staying here and it was just like the first. You are greater with the Aloha Spirit from everyone. Lynette & Melvin at the bell desk are awesome and remember me from my first visit which was a year ago, how awesome is that. Don't get me wrong everyone at the bell desk was great I only remembered Lynette & Melvins name. Kainoa at the front desk was awesome and so was his smile. Again all front desk agents were awesome.
The hotel does need a renovation but remember each unit is owned by a separate person and the hotel rents it out for them when the owners aren't here. So the actual owner of each unit needs to pay for their renovation of each unit. The employees of this hotel are doing a great job on dealing and servicing on what they have. All in all this hotel is great. If your picky and need to be serviced on hand and foot and need to be pampered don't be cheap and pay the extra $$$$ that you will need to pay to get what you want. This hotel is awesome in my opinion. Mahalo to all the staff at Imperial Waikiki you guys are doing a great job.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Imperial is located in a very nice part of Waikiki. It is only a five minute walk to the beach and lovely park area. The shops and restaurants are in the other direction and even closer. The staff were friendly and helpful. The penthouse had a kitchen area as well that was modern and effective. Sitting on the one of two verandas watching and having a drink was very enjoyable. You get a birds eye view of the Holiday Inn Friday Fireworks from the main bedroom veranda.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Street noise will always be around so not much to do about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is part of a timeshare, but you can also book it for reasonable prices not in timeshare system. The location is fabulous, a block from the beach, across the street from shopping and dining, an ABC at the door. The service is also warm, personal, and welcoming. The front desk and valet area was always staffed with smiling, helpful people. This was our first time staying at the Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki, and it will not be our last.

Room Tip: Ocean glimpse rooms can be hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for six nights in mid to late July. Staff were okay. We stayed in the Banyan Suite with partial views of the ocean which we were happy with. Suite was decent sized, could've done with some complimentary coffee but that's not a huge issue. Otherwise it was clean, plenty of towels. As far as appearance is concerned, the hotel could do with some renovations I think. All in all, the location is EXCELLENT! Only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and few minutes walk to the shops. You have the ABC convenience store downstairs, plus restaurants at a stone's throw away. You cannot beat the location for this price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or suite with a view or on a higher floor, or both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Property: The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Address: 205 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1939
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! Mahalo for considering The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki. We are conveniently located in the epicenter of Waikiki and are steps away from the famous Waikiki Beach. We are surrounded by shops and restaurants for you to browse and enjoy. We know you will enjoy your visit, and are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing