We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service needs updates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We read all the reviews and shopped around. Based on the photos we booked here for 3 weeks. When we arrived the room was not as we expected...beds were nice, we asked for high floor to combat road noise, but even on 7th floor, it was loud. The room is dated and needs remodeling. Since my mom who was with me was a nurse, she is used to things being hospital clean and this room needed some attention. The service however from the front desk (Puna) and the bell hop with our luggage was OUTSTANDING...they even refunded our deposit when we decided after check in to go to another hotel. The service is wonderful and the need for remodeling is out of their control...management/owners need to look into this. The outside was finishing up remodeling and looked great. The inside of rooms needs updated bathrooms and the carpet was frayed. The closet doors were not cleaned well and the kitchen refridg either had food or bugs in it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool not the main road. Just know that this room is dated except for the beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJordan_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Aloha BJordan_14,

Thank you for taking the time to outline the inconveniences that you endured. We are very sorry for this experience and are most disappointed to learn that your visit was tarnished. All things considered, we should have been able to meet your expectations with satisfactory accommodations that you would expect from Aqua Hotels & Resorts and the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki.

I will personally bring your comments to the attention of our management team. Please know that we will address the details of your experience and retrain the appropriate team members.

If you have the opportunity to return to Hawaii, we sincerely hope that you will consider Aqua Hotels & Resorts.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

My spouse and I stayed at the Aqua Bamboo for five nights in June. I personally like the fact that the hotel is smaller than many of the other hotels in Waikiki. It's only a five minute walk from the beach.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The weekly "Bamboozled" event at the pool area was fun - free drinks and appetizers plus a good ukelele player.

Construction hadn't finished yet so we were not able to access the balcony from our first room (we changed rooms because we found the layout to be uncomfortable - very long and narrow room with the TV in an awkward location). I found that the room wasn't in perfect condition (i.e., knicked furniture, a few small stains).

Overall, this hotel is an excellent value for the price, the size of the room and location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoLeesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Aloha TorontoLeesar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the location to be a convenience and that you enjoyed our weekly Bamboozle reception. I understand that you found some areas in need of improvement and we are pleased to let you know that we are in the middle of a refreshment project to restore our furniture and other areas in need of improvement in each room.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had a great stay at the Aqua Bamboo in Hawaii. We like the fact that it was a small hotel and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Yes it is on the old side but clean and comfortable. The pool area was one of the reasons we decided to stay there and it was great. The kids had a ball.
The kitchen was good but lacked oven trays and microwave safe dishes. Rooms would have been better configured is the single beds could have been in the seperate bedroom and queen in the main area, easier to put children to bed and sleep.
My biggest suggestion would be to double glaze the windows of the rooms on the main road. We were on the 6th floor and it sounded like the traffic was right out the window as if we were on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road so it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camdimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Aloha Camdimc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay and that you and your children enjoyed our private pool area. We do understand that Waikiki is a city that is always in motion and can be noisy, and we apologize that this was a disturbance during your time with us. I have also taken note of your suggestions for a different room configuration and double paned windows facing the street and have passed on this information to our management team for review.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

It could be said that this hotel is in the heart of Waikiki, but from our experience this hotel is THE HEART OF WAIKIKI. The staff was awesome and catered to ones every need. The pool area was like a oasis in the middle of the Waikiki Jungle. The location is awesome everything you would need or want is within walking distance. I doubt that I would stay anywhere else on Oahu, unless it was free, and that is very unlikely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Aloha Randy D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed our private, tropical pool area. It is also wonderful that you found the convenient location to be a benefit to you during your stay.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The room we had was great, I immediately felt at home. Kitchen was well equipped and a nice balcony to sit out on. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool area is very well designed and tranquil. Really loved this place, and very convient location,

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen67070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Aloha Maureen67070,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very happy to hear how comfortable you were with us, enjoying the convenience of the kitchen in your room and the relaxing balcony and pool area. We are thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the location of the hotel.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

When I first arrived at this hotel, I didnt know what to expect, all I knew was that the building looked really old. I've stayed at many hotels as I do travel often for work and pleasure. I didnt know what to expect. But dont let the outside of the hotel deceive your opinion. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. And once I got to my room, I was delighted with how big the kitchen was. It was equipped with a FULL kitchen complete with a full size range and refrigerator, not to mention a microwave and dishes as well. There was macadamia nut chocolates on my bed and the way they set up the towels in the bathroom was so cute, decorated with real orchids! Needless to say I was very pleased with the service that I will be going back there in the near future. The staff is full of Aloha and being a local from another island, I say that is hard to come by. Most hotels now try to maintain that aloha feeling however, I can just feel it is not genuine as the staff at the Aqua Bamboo. For the price and location, this was a great bargain. I'd definitely recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: I would recommend to get a room with the full kitchen, especially if you have a family and are on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Aloha Lani B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and that you enjoyed the genuine hospitality offered by our staff. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of your kitchen while you were with us.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We spent six nights at Aqua Bamboo and it was perfect for our purposes. We had a good sized, well kept, self catering room which suited our budget with a supermarket nearby. The staff were all great to deal with and the pool area made for a relaxing time when not out exploring Oahu.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Aloha Trish C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a relaxing place to wind down when not out enjoying the island. We are thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our convenient location to shops and groceries.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
778 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,937 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
524 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £107 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing