We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The4Magyars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The4Magyars”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at Aqua Bamboo for 2 weeks in January and part of February. The room was very nice but with the sirens most nights, we did find it noisy. (We suspect the area overlooking the pool would be quieter). The room itself was very clean and we thank Cathyleen for her industrious efforts to make our stay pleasant. The hotel is very well located - 5 min. walk to Waikiki and for those who prefer a pool, the hotel pool is secluded and very well kept. We utilized the kitchenette on occasion and found the local Food Pantry very conveniently located. There are eateries everywhere but they are definitely not cheap in most instances. When we arrived there was a problem with closing our door and a maintenance person was sent immediately to repair the door which never gave us trouble again. There was also an issue with the slippery bathtub which also was remedied immediately. The Staff at Reception were very polite and helpful at all times. Would recommend the place to anyone and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are likely quieter with less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Aloha Wilma T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is wonderful to hear that you found the central location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, eateries and the grocery store to benefit you while you were with us. We are also thrilled that you found the staff to be helpful and polite. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered due to the noise of Waikiki. Please contact us in advance for your next stay with us and we would be more than happy to ensure you are accommodated in a Courtyard View.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    656
    219
    87
    47
See reviews for
386
769
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Perfect hotel right in the heart of Waikiki......this hotel is a few blocks from the beach, but for the price it cannot be beat. We elected one of the rooms with a queen bed and kitchenette...the room had two balconies and plenty of room.

We were impressed with the housekeeping services as the room was completely spotless and very well maintained. Technically, we could see the ocean from our room, but the best view was of the pool area below.....a beautiful oasis in the middle of a very busy city.

Parking was quite reasonbly priced, and although we elected to self-park in the public garage next door, the hotel charge was only $5 more.

Two things really impressed us about this property. First, we had a couple of minor problems with the clock and phone in our room which were promptly corrected by the front desk.....we were delighted with their responsiveness. Second, the Aqua company seems to specialize in renovating existing properties - something we value greatly. Instead of demolishing a perfectly good building, Aqua renovates the property to current standards while still retaining the charm of an older hotel.

Overall we loved staying here, loved the room, and found the front desk personnel to be extremely helpful and welcoming. Highly recommend, and we definitely look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinallyFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Aloha FinallyFlying,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be attentive and responsive to your needs throughout your stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and enjoyed your spacious room overlooking the peaceful pool area.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent 2 weeks at the Aqua Bamboo in Feb 2013.
Location = excellent located on Kuhio Ave just a 5 min walk to Waikiki.
Valet parking was $25/night
We had a room with two double beds and a kitchenette. We requested a room facing the pool (cost involved), but there wasn't one available... so we ended up facing a hotel view to the side of the building. As other reviewers have pointed out, the noise is definitely an issue. We slept with the balcony door shut and the noisy air conditioner on all night to block out the street noise which is at its worst at around 6am.
The decor is a little dated.
The room had a microwave, hotplates, large bar fridge, crockery and cutlery. Shower over bath. Beds were comfortable.
There is a coin operated washing machine and dryer for guests.
The pool area, though not large is relaxing and shaded.
We would stay again

Room Tip: Street facing rooms have a noise problem from 5.30 or 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringClancys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Aloha TouringClancys,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased you found the hotel to be a good value and the central location of the hotel was a benefit for you. We apologize that you were unable to upgrade to the Courtyard View rooms while you were with us. Please call us in advance for your next stay and we would be delighted to make sure you are accommodated in a Courtyard View room.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions within a space of 2 weeks. My husband and I travelled with our 2 almost adult daughters, and I have booked 1 bedroom apartment so that the girls could sleep on a fold out sofa, although this hotel offers 2 single beds in the lounge room in some of the suites.
The staff at this hotel are outstanding - you feel as though you are staying in a small B&B and not a multi-storey hotel, they are real people who can reply to a joke with joke.
The hotel is located 2 blocks from the beach on the street that has the buses which can take you to Honolulu, shopping etc. it also seemed to be right in the heart of Waikiki as when walked out to the beach and turn left there is a wondreful boardwalk along the beach, and casual eating places across the road; and if you turn right that's were all the big hotels along the beach and all the haute couture shops are, with many restaurants.
On our first stay of 4 days were actually upgraded to a 2 bedroom penthouse which was huge with 360 views. Even though we were on the 15th floor I would highly recommend earplugs as the traffic noise still reaches up there. The second stay was just for one night and we 1st got the suite withsofa bed, but asked if the had one with the twin beds and they moved us as the beds are more comfortable than a sofa bed. The hotel is really showing signs of age in everything, but is very clean.
The pool are is lovely however it is surrounded by tall buildings and palm trees so there is only certain amount of time when you get direct sun.
This hotel was good value at the location that it has.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Aloha Winterose,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with excellent service during your stay with us and you found the convenient location of the hotel to benefit you. We are also pleased to hear that we were able to better accommodate you in the Two Bedroom Penthouse and that you found the hotel to be a good value.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have been staying a Aqua Bamboo for almost a week and would like to report that we have had a most pleasant experience. The whole staff has been very friendly and accommodating. I have to do business while I am holiday and I found Michelle and Zenie to be very helpful in assisting me with my internet needs. This is a great little oasis in Waikiki, with easy access to the beach and groceries. We prepared all our meals here at the hotel and enjoyed them on the deck by the pool. The grill was a great asset.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool for a quieter experience. We had a room facing the street and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Aloha Pauline B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that our staff has been friendly and accommodating during your business stay with us and that you enjoyed our serene pool area and BBQ grill. We are also pleased to hear that you found the central location of the hotel to benefit you.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Comfortable - Clean - Relaxing and Excellent Service!
We stayed for 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. No complaints except for the street side is a tad noisey if you like to keep your windows or doors open to enjoy the fresh air. Next time I would ask for pool side instead. The staff were wonderful and very accomodating. Really enjoyed the fresh lemon water, lemon aid, coffee or tea 24/7 in the lounge area as well as the access to beach chairs to take to the beach at no cost.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Aloha Sandra2013_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy that you found the Bamboo to be comfortable, clean and relaxing and that our staff provided excellent service during your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the many complimentary amenities we offer such as beverages and beach equipment.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The Aqua Bamboo lives up to all the good posted in these reviews and then some. The hotel staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, definitely demonstrating the Aloha spirit. Our room on the 8th floor, had everything we needed, as promised. A king bed, a desk, a table, several chairs, a mini-kitchen and a small balcony with a couple of chairs. Although our room was near the balcony on which the washer and dryer were located, we never heard it. We also were not far from the elevator and never heard any noise from there either. In fact, we pretty much didn’t hear anything the entire time we were there except for twice when we heard police/ambulance sirens, which you would probably heard anywhere you were, except maybe a soundproof vault. (They run those sirens really loud!)

The lanai (balcony) was small and didn’t overlook anything particularly interesting, but we really didn’t have any time to sit around there anyway, since we were quite busy.
The kitchenette area includes a microwave, a small fridge, a sink, two burners, a coffee maker, and several cabinets and drawers. It was stocked with various cookware and dishes. We didn’t have need for any of them except the glasses and one sharp knife, but if you need them, they are available.

There was daily maid service, though it usually took place later in the day (I suspect they first clean the rooms of guests who have left so that they can be available as early as possible for newly arriving guests.) The beds were made, the room was cleaned, the towels were replaced (including the little one for the kitchen), the soaps and shampoos were replaced/supplemented, as were the tissues and toilet paper. Just what you would expect from a good hotel.

The king bed was comfortable. The bathroom was an acceptable size and the water pressure was adequate.

Check-in was very quick and efficient. They have a cart for piling up your luggage. The elevators are smallish, but we were able to get all of our luggage, which was on the cart, and ourselves, in at one time. The elevators were fairly efficient and we never waited long for the elevator.

The L-shaped lobby with Bamboo theme has free cold filtered water (lemon water)(the water in the room is fine for drinking too, by the way), brewed coffee (regular only), hot water with a selection of teas, apples and local newspapers.

Although the hotel is not “on the beach”, it is a mere 2.5 blocks from the beach. Now, one needs to understand what a block is in this case to have the appropriate perspective. In Manhattan, there are long blocks and short blocks. These blocks in Waikiki are shorter than the short blocks in Manhattan. In other words, the two blocks are really short. Another way to look at it is that it took us longer to walk to the beach at the Hilton Hawaiian Resort from that hotel’s front (when we went to the Atlantis Submarine Ride), which is “on the beach”, than it did to walk to the beach from the Aqua Bamboo. The Aqua Bamboo has a collection of “left behind” beach equipment they are happy to lend you. They also give you beach towel cards which you can exchange for beach towels each day. For my wife and myself we got 3 cards, one for each of us to dry off with and the third to sit on at the beach.

Note, too, that the Aqua Bamboo is very close to that part of the beach where the “Duke” statue is and also to the area where the free hula shows are held on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. (Get there early for a good seat.) It is also around the corner (1 short block) from the King’s Village, where they do a changing of the guards/flag lowering ceremony. There is plenty of shopping in the area, since the Bamboo is located in the heart of Waikiki.

One area that can use improvement is the parking situation. The parking is in the basement and there are very few spots for $25 per day now. If you want a spot, you should reserve it in advance. The spots are very tight, it is difficult to maneuver you car, and the ceiling is low or has low pipes in various spots. On the bright side, they valet park and retrieve your car between 8 AM and 10 PM. However, if you have to park it yourself or retrieve it yourself, it is a pain. The friendly staff did help me a couple of times outside of regular hours when the regular valet had left.

The concierges were quite knowledgeable, in particular pointing us to Queen Emma’s Summer Palace, which is on the way to the Paali Lookout, Byodo-In Temple and the Polynesian Cultural Center (all of which we did in one day) and to the “easy, new” fork up the final stretch of Diamond Head. The front desk staff was excellent and they were also very helpful at directing us.

On our last night we went to the hotel’s pool and Jacuzzi. Although the pool is smallish, it is appropriately sized for a boutique hotel, and the pool area is very nice. There is also bar-b-que equipment available for use.

As for Internet, I brought a short cable with me and used the wired internet in the room. It was quite adequate. I’ve read that they have Wi-Fi in the lobby and pool area, but I didn’t test it myself.

We’d like to give a shout out to P.T. at the Island Colony Hotel (a sister hotel to the Bamboo), a wonderful warm and caring person who helped us select the right hotel from the Aqua family of hotels.

The Aqua Bamboo was very conscious of the fact that this was a trip to celebrate our 25th anniversary trip and they helped to make it a very special trip that we will remember for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Aloha Larry N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased that we were able to make your special anniversary trip a memorable one! We are thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you found the central location of the hotel to benefit you during your stay. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your Studio Kitchenette room and the peaceful pool area.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,604 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
526 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing