We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"What more could we ask?"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Langley City, Canada
1 review
“"What more could we ask?"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Aqua Bamboo for two weeks. The staff were personable, friendly, helpful and extremely accommodating when we asked for a change of room to the pool side. The rooms had everything we needed and we could walk to Queen Kapiolani Park, the beach and downtown Wakikii and easy transportation. Great location and service!

Room Tip: If quietness is a priority - ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Aloha Joanne B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased that the staff was personable, friendly and that we were able to accommodate you in a Courtyard View room overlooking the pool. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel .
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    653
    218
    87
    46
See reviews for
383
766
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed four nights in October. Location was good and staff were friendly and helpful. However the whole place is outdated, rooms dark and the air conditioner VERY noisy. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Aloha Anna T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We appreciate your honest comments as they are vital tools for our improvement and growth.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. However, we do regret to hear that you did not find comfort in your stay with us. We will address the areas of concern with our management teams for improvement.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is quaint, clean, and perfect for expensive Waikiki. The price was reasonable, free wi-fi, large room, one block from the beach. Even though it's in the middle of non-stop activity, this hotel is quiet. Staff is courteous and friendly. I will definately stay here upon my return to Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Aloha Dcjw700,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value, with the complimentary wifi, your spacious room and it’s central location. We are also thrilled that you found our staff to be courteous and friendly.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful.Their knowledge of the area was very good and only to happy to help you out with any directions or suggestions for activities. Rooms are clean and well maintained. If you are looking for a smaller hotel (boutique) I would recommend. Close to all amenities and transport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillz164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Aloha Jillz164,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay and that you found the rooms to be cleaned and well maintained.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Aqua Bamboo. We had been staying at a condo on the North Shore and had some problems with bugs so we decided to move down to Waikiki for the last few nights. This little boutique hotel was heaven!! The entire staff was exceptional!! Our room overlooked the courtyard and pool, which was very tranquil in the center of town. We were amazed at how quiet it really was considering that you are in the middle of a city. Loved the little touches, like the welcoming letter and the note the day before you check out along with the bamboo flute. We will definitely be visiting this hotel when we return to Oahu!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfishingrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Aloha Rfishingrod,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are thrilled that you found our staff to be exceptional and you enjoyed your quiet room overlooking the pool.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Quaint Hotel with everything within walking distance. Quiet, Clean comfortable room. Very nice garden/courtyard with pool. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us as we arrived early. would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Aloha Jack S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable & the courtyard/pool area. We are thrilled that the staff was accommodating during your stay.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This little hotel had everything I needed and a lot of little luxuries I would expect at a really upscale place. The room was small but modern, with little touches like orchids and throw pillows, and the free upgrade to a kitchenette was a lifesaver! The courtyard has a lovely garden feel to it, with a small pool and hot tub - I barely used these since the walk to the beach was so easy. The restaurant was relatively pricey but good food and friendly service. Loved the lemon water and the espresso machine in the lobby. I was able to get late checkout at the last minute, too.

A few cons: the bed was quite soft (and therefore uncomfortable for me), the airconditioning unit was a little loud, and the bathroom was a little awkward, but these are minor issues and not a big deal when you consider what value and character you get for your money. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carynsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Aloha Carynsweeney,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are so happy that we were able to meet your expectations at the Bamboo and that our little touches were valued. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded kitchenette room and some of our complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby.
We would be happy to look into the challenges you experienced in your room. I would be grateful if you could email me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com with more information about your reservation with us so that we may address these concerns.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing