We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We arrived on an early flight from Sydney on a busy Saturday morning. My daughter was sick and the fantastic staff made sure we could access our room prior to check in time. Over our 10 day stay nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful team at the Aqua Bamboo. The room was comfortable and clean. We could have benefited from some extra crockery and cutlery in the kitchen, but we managed . I was surprised that for a full kitchen we only had a small bar fridge, this made it difficult to keep the groceries we needed. Yes, it was a little noisy at night, and I think it is time to replace the noisy airconditioning units. I would stay here again and ask for a room on the pool side. Thank you Aqua Bamboo for a great stay.

Room Tip: When making reservations ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Aloha Ann F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are so thrilled that the staff was able to check your family in early and took good care of your family throughout your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and we would be happy to ensure that you reserve a courtyard view room for your next stay with us!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    656
    219
    88
    47
See reviews for
387
769
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

stayed for 8 nights. staff were brilliant. had to have a room change-upgraded to 1 bedroom apart first one smelled of wet carpet..biggest complaint is noise from facing kuhio st- noise is constant.Problem with that was doors closed most of time but air cond is noisy so no relief from noise. ceiling fans may help with this problem,or newer units that are not so noisy.good location to all areas of shopping and beach-just a pleasant walk.bus stops across road.bit expensive for older smaller hotel.rooms had everything in them(kitchenettes).pool area very nice. pizza rest had great food and lovely owners.overall enjoyed my stay but would probably check out hotels more in side streets.

Room Tip: rooms facing pool area are definitely quieter but seem to go to regular stayers so seem to be hard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarky1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Aloha Clarky1501,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We apologize that you were inconvenienced during your stay by the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We do offer Courtyard View rooms, so if you do decide to give us another chance, we would be more than happy to reserve one of these quieter rooms at the time your reservation is made, as they are on very high demand. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location, the convenient kitchenette and the Lovin’ Oven restaurant.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This boutique hotel was in a great location for restaurants, driving to University of Hawaii, and good music down the road. Parking was a bit expensive. Internet was very spotty and frustrating when trying to take care of business, but the staff more than made up for things with their helpful attitude.

Room Tip: Try the special upgrades, when available for a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Aloha Claudia K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We regret to hear that you had trouble with your internet while you were here and that you found the parking to be expensive. However, we are pleased that the staff were helpful.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Waikiki...very beautiful boutique hotel...and we were upgraded to the studio! Everything else in Waikiki is starting to feel dated and old...this hotel has been remodeled and is beautiful, you won't be disappointed. Wonderful friendly staff too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Aloha SurreyNicole71,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are happy to hear that you were upgraded to a Studio Kitchenette room and that you found the staff to be friendly during your stay with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This place was such a dump. Sure in the photos they show some great sheets and linens with orange accents with wood trimming in the room, but once you're there it is totally schizophrenic. Sure, they invested in the nice sheets and some new wooden modern styled lamps and clothing drawers, but it was all very cheap so falling apart. The walls were all scratched up and stained like out of a horror movie, wooden furnitures chipped all over the place, the air conditioner was from like the 1960s and emitted an awful moldy smell (that, or it was the fridge), the bathroom was peeling. Worst of all, it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep if you unluckily ended up with a room facing the street. Who knew for such a small street it would be so noisy. The patio doors barely close so all night you hear speed races zooming by, the bus, people at 2am walking back from the bars. Another thing was the internet didn't work at all the entire time we were there, checking in at 9am until departure at 11am, but well that was just a fluke incident beyond the control of the hotel.

The common areas were even more horrifying- the lobby was a bad episode of Trading Spaces. They couldn't replace the old structure, such as the walls and marble flooring, but added some new things and it just makes it look tacky. The elevators were ancient, and the decor on the floors were just totally weird. If this is just to hang out with friends, that's fine but for a honeymoon or something romantic this place will be a huge disappointment.

The strangest part was the parking situation. I don't know if they have a normal lot below their hotel, but I guess since it was full you have to park at the hotel next door. Absolutely scary. My god.

On the positive side, the pool was lovely, lots of free newspapers, and breakfast had some nice coffees and simple eats. The staff was also great, I mean granted the hotel is what is physically is, but the people were really quick to address any questions and were really helpful. But remember, if you do stay here, BEG for a room facing the pool and not the streets. That seemed to be quiet, those lucky guys.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Peachtreec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Aloha Peachtreec,

Thank you for taking the time to outline the inconveniences that you endured. We are very sorry for this experience and are most disappointed to learn that your visit was tarnished. All things considered, we should have been able to meet your expectations with satisfactory accommodations that you would expect from Aqua Hotels & Resorts and the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki.

I will personally bring your comments to the attention of our management team. Please know that we are taking steps to better maintain our facility and we are very sorry for our inability to achieve the Aqua experience. Please know that we will include your feedback as we plan for future improvements.

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and truly hope that you were able to enjoy your time in beautiful Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a great hotel, with all the amenities, and particularly friendly and helpful staff. We had a week stay at the Aqua Bamboo, and were wishing it was two! Our room was spotless, and very comfortable. We had a great little coffee-maker with Kona coffee supplied by the hotel, which was a great way to start our days, and was much appreciated. There was a microwave, fridge, and two burner cooktop in our room, and all of the dishes and cutlery needed. We had towel cards, which enabled us to have as many beach towels as we needed. The lobby is very welcoming and always had lemonade, water, tea, hot chocolate, and fresh apples. The welcome was very nice, and the staff at the desk were very helpful, and very pleasant. We also had use of the laundry facilities, which were great. The pool is beautiful, and is a perfect oasis. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Aloha Joy G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are thrilled you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable during your time with us. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of our complimentary amenities such as daily coffee & refreshing beverages in the lobby, beach equipment and apples!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed our stay. Very nice and quaint hotel. Was better than I expected. Room was updated and had a small fridge, microwave, and small kitchenette. Comes with free in-room WiFi. Hotel supplies beach towels which is a great plus. Exchange them as much as you want at the front desk. Staff very nice and accommodating. Has a nice pool and hot tub in back. The rooms facing the street are a bit noisey but for the price this hotel is a great value. Hotel just about 2 blocks from the beach and very close to many restaurants and activities. $25 per night to park your car but that is typical for the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Aloha Thomas V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed some of our many complimentary amenities offered such as wifi throughout the hotel and beach equipment. We are also happy to hear the staff was nice and accommodating and you enjoyed our relaxing pool area.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing