We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A recommended place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 30 September 2008

My wife and I were looking to spend 4 nights in Honolulu, prior to moving on to Maui and were recommended this hotel by our agent. They were not wrong as we enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff were very willing and helpful, which made our stay so much more relaxed.
A simple but adequate breakfast was served outside by the pool and there was a 24hr complementary coffee machine in the lobby. There is no restaurant, but a complete range of dining options is available within a 5 minute walk.
The hotel had recently been refurbished and we had a non-smoking 2 bed room on the 4th Floor, which contained all we needed or wanted. We did not expect a kitchen, so it was a pleasant surprise to find the room was equipped with one.
The only minor downside was that our room faced the main road and the noise from the traffic took some getting used to, but this almost ceased at night. (Double glazing would help here.)
One advantage though is if you want to visit Pearl Harbour the #42 bus stops just across the road and $2/head gets you right into the site in about 1hr.
When we'd done with the sea and the beach, just a moments walk away, we went back to the hotel so we could use the pool and found it very relaxing, providing a quiet environment to catch up on our reading.
I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a small friendly hotel, but remember it is not for those who want all the trappings of a 400+ bedroom hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EyesAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2008

We enjoyed the staff especially Leonor Wong who went out of her way to not only spend time with us but also to make sure our visit was special. We felt right at home. The accomodations were also tastefully done with recent upgrades to the room that included flag stone flooring, new wooden cabinets, granite counter tops for kitchen and living room. The spacious Lanai also gave us extra room to spread out since the weather outdoors is always accomodating. Even with 4 of us we never felt crowded or cramped in the room.

We enjoyed also the continental breakfast which they always found fresh fruit or pastries which we could enjoy. The bamboozle night where the staff had a special reception for guests and was fun too.

We were so thrilled with the Aqua Bamboo and staff that we cancelled our stay at Sheraton Princess on our return to Honolulu for our final 4 nights to Aqua Bamboo.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RickUd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We booked with the Aqua Bamboo after viewing their promotion for "stay 5 nights and get the 5th night free". Our itinerary was to stay at the Aqua Bamboo for 5 nights, fly to Maui for 4 nights, and back to Oahu for our last 4 nights at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani. We enjoyed the staff so much at the Aqua Bamboo, especially Ms. Leonor Wong, Director of Guest Relations, that after checking to see if the same room was available for our return from Maui, we cancelled our reservations at the Sheraton to return to the Aqua Bamboo. Leonor was extremely professional, accomodating, and made our vacation extra special. I think we all wanted to adopt her into our family! Our family suite included bedroom with 2 queen size beds, family room with pull out futon and small fridge, large bathroom with 2 showers, 2 sinks, and soaking tub, kitchenette with 2-burner electic range, another small fridge, sink, microwave, small table w/2 chairs, two flat-panel tv's, and the best part was the over-sized lanai complete with teak furniture. Continental breakfast served poolside (tropical oasis) with coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit, and fresh pasties that were absolutely delicious. Thursday night is "Bamboozle Night" a guest welcome and appreciation night, featuring their Aqua drink special the Bamboozle, yummy, or tropical fruit juice, pupus of cheese, crackers, and fresh fruit and one of my favorite parts: complimentary 5-minute neck and back massages by one of their own massage therapists. What more can I say? Some say that bigger is better, but in this case the personal touch at this Aqua Boutique Hotel and Spa superceded our expectations. Mahalo once again to Leonor and the staff at the Aqua Bamboo for making our family feel at home. A hui hou.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HapaJapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed in Oahu for only two nights. The hotel was very nice and the staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel was great, close to wonderful restaurants, the bus line and Waikikii Beach. The sunset was magnificent. Very good hotel and very good pricing.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank FrannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

I chose this hotel because of it's high ratings and glowing reviews on trip advisor. I was expecting a special hotel nearer the beach, but two blocks behind the Hyatt is not "near". The only glimpse I had of the beach was if I craned my neck just right from my 8th floor One Bedroom "Superior". If this room was "superior", I would hate to see the inferior.

The street it was on was also very busy. It just wasn't my vision of paradise.

The staff was nice and smilely, but that hardly makes up for the disappointment of the tiny pool & poor location.

We hung in there for two days, but were pretty miserable so we checked out and went to a different hotel for the balance of our stay on Oahu.

I am not sure what people are used to when they give 4 and 5 star ratings to this place. It is a two star at best.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jeremy_S_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambooGstSvcMgr, Guest Services Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2008

Thank you for your taking the time to write about your visit. Aqua Bamboo and Spa is committed to providing “Guest Satisfaction” to all our guests and we regret not having the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Even though your comment is not favorable of our hotel, the mention of our staff is greatly appreciated. It was with disappointment and surprise that I learned of your dissatisfaction with the accommodations. Had we known of such dissatisfaction of the room stated, we would have been more than happy to correct the problem and it would have immediately been addressed; however, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that might have caused. Again we appreciate your feedback as it is one of our main tools to continually improve our service for all guests. If you have any questions regarding the Aqua Bamboo & Spa, please contact me at jadler@aquaresorts.com. It is still our sincere desire to renew your faith in the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We entice you to visit us again at our beautiful Aqua Bamboo & Spa.

Mahalo,
Joy Adler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We spent three weeks at the Bamboo celebrating our anniversary. We felt like we were treated like family. We recevied chocolates, flowers and even a cake. The rooms were comfortable and the service was very good. The Continental Breakfast and the get together on Thurs were most enjoyable , giving us a chance to meet other travellers. We would recomend this to all. Would like to give special thanks to Lenore for the extra attention . She always had the time in her busy schedule.
Barb and Gord

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cisco05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Stayed at the Aqua Bamboo for 6 nights. The staff could not do enough for us. They were always pleasant and attentive. They upgraded our room to our surprise. We enjoyed the small kitchen to store and prepare snacks and meals. Lenore and her staff went out of their way to make us feel special and even took special requests from our group for the continental breakfast on mornings we were in a hurry to catch a bus. They had a gift in our room when we arrived and had a gift waiting when we departed. They supplied clean beach towels as often as we needed and even had nice rafts and boogie boards for our use at the beach. The location is wonderful, just a few blocks from a wonderful beach. The pool and hot tub are small but just the right temperature, we used it several times a day. It looks like the rooms were very recently renovated. The furnishings were new and very nice, but the beds posts stick out and cause a hazard. I ran into it several times a day and left with a nice bruise on my shin. The street noise is very loud, but with the sliding glass door closed and air conditioning running it wasn't a problem to sleep. Overall a great hotel on a budget. I was very skeptical reading the reviews before we arrived, but I can tell you from first hand experience that they appear to be going out of their way to please their guests and it exceeded my expectations. I expected a clean room but not this level of service.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Denise624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
515 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
733 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,608 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £114 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing