We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse accomodated guests greatly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Penthouse accomodated guests greatly!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Definitely somewhere I would want to bring guests back to! Management was friendly, and offered an oustanding deal since we were bringing well known musical artists to their hotel. Despite a cracked window that was covered and tucked in the corner, the guests definitely enjoyed their stay. The two bedrooms accomodated our booking team and helped us cut costs in a major way. Thank you again!

Room Tip: Penthouse would be our only choice if staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iAmAlliCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Aloha iAmAlliCat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and you found the penthouse suite to be a good value for your guests. We apologize that there was a cracked window and we will ensure this is taken care of immediately.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    659
    222
    91
    49
See reviews for
395
777
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Got a room facing the street and cause to the traffic it was like sleeping on the highway. The hotel is in great need of renovation. It is more lika living in a appartement than staying at a hotel. Everyone was nice but they seamed extemly uninterested in you. You hade to approach them and almost interupt if you wanted to aks about something. They were always talkeing to eachother and never said hello when you passed the reception. Small poolarea that perhaps is nice if you have small children. Location is goo and only two minutes from the beach. The cleaning was not good. Kitchen was good (frigde, stove and oven) but they lacked most of the utenciles you need in a kitchen. Only a few balconies hade chairs.

Room Tip: Facing the pool but not at lower floor. If you want two bedrooms you have to face the street but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedenSweden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Aloha SwedenSweden123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We appreciate your honest opinions regarding your recent stay with us and we apologize that we failed to make your stay a remarkable one with us.

As we are well known for our genuine and personal staff, we do regret to hear that you found the staff unwelcoming and uninterested. We also apologize that you felt the cleanliness of the hotel was less than satisfactory and the busy streets of Waikiki was an inconvenience for you. Please know that the entire staff at the Aqua Bamboo is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure this is not repeated.
We hope that you were able to enjoy your time in beautiful Hawai`i and if you ever return to Waikiki, we hope that you will consider giving us a second chance.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and his co-pastor and her husband and I had the pleasure of staying in Waikiki as he and she performed a beach wedding for two of our church members. We carefully chose this hotel, wanting a lovely, quiet, less crowded environment amidst the "hustle and bustle" of Waikiki. We were not disappointed. We found the staff exceptionally friendly, helpful, ready to please at any moment. Our suites were quite large, with huge balconies, and plenty of space to relax. Great stay! We have already recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Aloha Jeffrey H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We’re thrilled to hear that we met your expectations for a lovely, quiet and less crowded hotel amongst the very busy Waikiki. We’re also pleased to hear that you found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and your rooms spacious and relaxing. Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was surprised by how big the room was - I probably could have brought a couple of friends with me and we would still have fit comfortably in the space! The building was older style, like many in Honolulu, but the room was perfectly clean and well maintained. The kitchen was great for making a simple breakfast each morning, especially as there is no restaurant for breakfast. There was a bit of noise from the street at night, but the beautiful breeze coming through the door made it worth keeping open! It was also nice to have air con when it was super hot. I liked the nice touches like a welcome letter and water/iced tea/lemonade/tea/coffee/apples in the lobby. There was also a desk in the lobby to book tours and activities. Staff were helpful with directions and advice. The pool area was lovely and comfortable. The hotel is also conveniently located to get to Waikiki beach, bars and restaurants in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mela266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Aloha Mela266,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We’re pleased to hear that you found your room to be spacious, clean and well maintained. We’re also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the welcome letter and some of our many complimentary amenities such as the lemonade or iced tea, lemon water, coffee and apples in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We loved staying at this hotel! It was so nice to be near Kalakaua, but not in the midst of all the Waikiki traffic. Being a block or so behind the "main drag" is great. Super quick walk to the beach, close to a couple of great restaurants (try ME BBQ for lunch-VERY good Korean BBQ), friendly staff, safe, small, quiet! The price is great, and they will beat any price - just ask! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehawaiiKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Aloha lovehawaiiKL,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We’re thrilled to hear that you benefited from our convenient location to Kalakaua Avenue, the beach and many great restaurants. We’re also happy to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and that you felt safe and comfortable during your stay.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Enjoyed staying at this little hotel off the main drag in waikiki. While my view was of the building next door, it didn't really matter to me since I wasn't in the room much and wasn't planning on sitting on the balcony anyhow. rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and staff was friendly. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Hotel is off the beach but on a busy road, so there is "city" noise but it wasn't a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Aloha Josh H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We’re very pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be clean, the beds comfortable and the staff friendly.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Traveling with another couple we were able to reserve the 2 bedroom, 2 bath penthouse for slightly more than 2 separate rooms. It worked out great. You get both mountain and ocean (albeit from a distance) views. Great access to beach 2 blocks away. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay at this properly again if in Waikiki...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjensen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Aloha sjensen81,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious Two Bedroom Penthouse with beautiful ocean and mountain views. We’re also thrilled that you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
450 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,630 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
562 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing