We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary was awesome but check in Guest service was bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 19 March 2010

My husband an I went to hotel for our anniversary and the Front desk agent "Faye" was very rude. She wasn't nice and didn't tell us where things were. Plus, the room we got wasn't what you would expect for an anniversary couple. I'm as a travel wanted to stay and let my clients know that Aqua hotels and services are good. Since my experienced at Aqua Bamboo, I really have second thoughts but thanks to Zenie, she helped make our stay a little more better. She moved us up to room that will make our anniversary stay much better. I've stay in other Aqua hotel, like the Continental Surf and it was wonderful. The staff there was very nice. I'm not expecting much but as a guest we expect friendliness and aloha. With the experience I had with Faye, it ruin our whole day at Bamboo. Other than that, we really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soraHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambooGstSvcMgr, Guest Services Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2010

Aloha soraHonolulu,

Thank you for your review. It is with deep regret that you experienced such. The issue has since been addressed to avoid it from happening again. Our guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us. We are pleased that someone did make a positive difference in your visit. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Mahalo,
Joy Adler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,812)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2010

We stayed here on military orders and only stayed 3 nights (rather than the 2 weeks we had reserved). We got the kitchen on the city side room. The room is soooo noisy- the housekeeping put earplugs on our bed! It's right outside a bus stop and the bus comes about every 5 minutes day and night. Anyway, I don't get why this is called a resort. All it has is a pool. It's got a spa in the "pool house." Nothing is complementary except coffee, hot water, and internet and they don't even have a restaurant. The hotel is very old but they did remodel it so it has the old but tried top make somewhat modern look. We were traveling with a baby and in the hotel room a lot so we asked for our room to be serviced at 11 AM so we'd know when to be out. It took 3 phone calls, 2 trips to the front desk and about 4 hours to get someone to come and service the room- they made it there by almost 3. THey are friendly but not willing to go out of their way to help.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HouseWife17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambooGstSvcMgr, Guest Services Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2010

Thank you for your review. Although it is not a favorable one, we appreciate your feedback. Please accept our deepest apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit. Waikiki is a very poplular area, and therefore may bit a bit noisey for some. We provide complentary earplugs for guests with noise sensitivity. We also proudly display the "Aqua Promise Fish" in every room. If there is something we may do to assist making your stay a more comfortable one, to please call Guest Services. If they are unable to assist guests to their satisfaction, they may call the General Manager. Should they require further assistance, the CEO himself may be called upon. My apologies we were not given an opportunity to assist you with this. Had it been brought to our attention, an alternative may have been offered. We certainly appreciate the feedback and will certainly use this to improve our services.
Mahalo,
Joy Adler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The Bamboo is a small "gem" in the middle of Waikiki. With the very inviting hotel entrance, to the helpful doorman, and the very charming lobby--it has an atmosphere of a by-gone era. We took advantage of most of what the Bamboo had to offer: the continental breakfast in the beautiful courtyard; cooling off in the lovely pool and then relaxing in the hot tub and sauna; preparing hor d'oeuvres in the well-outfitted kitchenette and then having cocktails on our lanai overlooking the pool; using the DVD player to watch movies and listen to music; getting a cup of tea from the complimentary beverage station and choosing a book from the small library in the lobby; and having an absolutely wonderful massage at the Spa. We were even able to have clean clothes for the trip home with the washer & dryer available to guests. We had a room on the 8th floor with two(!) lanais. We didn't need to turn on the air conditioning with the air flow created by leaving the sliding glass doors ajar. The room was quiet and well laid out, with the kitchenette separated from the bedroom. The decor was trendy but tasteful. And, the staff was so friendly and helpful--especially Fe, who assisted in getting us checked in and upgrading our room. We were thrilled to find such a great little hotel in Waikiki. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ORContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at Aqua Bamboo and Spa for 4 nights at the end of Feb. We loved the feel of the place, with wonderful decor in the lobby and around the pool area.

We had a studio kitchenette room facing the courtyard on the 11th floor (advise from other Trip Advisor reviews, due to street noise) we still heard the night life, but this wasn't enough to keep us up during the night, they even provided us with earplugs if needed.

The room was pleasant, however it did annoy me that only one side of the bed did not have a bedside table. The room was a little on the small side, but was comfortable enough for 2 people and our baggage.

It didn't matter being a little further back from the ocean, however it was not even a 5 minute walk to Waikiki Beach. Everything was within walking distance. Easy to catch TheBus and convient for purchasing food to stock up your bar fridge.

We were told that our package did not include breakfast (which was basic muffins/fruit) not the greatest selection, however we could purchase for $3 each. When we returned and checked our room details, it did say this included breakfast. So we did feel a little ripped off here.

Besides that, getting a great room for under $150US in the center of Waikiki, Bamboo and Spa was perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCYLOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

have stayed here before and will stay again someday,loved the service and close to beach.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank drlockw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

My girls and I enjoyed this beautiful place.... definitely need to go back...

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank NativeLady95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We recently stayed at the Aqua Bamboo for 7 nights, we really enjoyed our stay there. The staff were very friendly and helpful often going beyone their duty to get us the information we needed to enoy all the sights in Waikiki and beyond. Public transportation is right across the street, and one can pretty much walk to anywhere with this central location.

The rooms are newly renovated and beautiful. We visited several rooms, other than our own, and found that each one had a bar fridge, two burners, microwave and sink with plates, pots etc. Some rooms even have a fully eqiupped kitchen. This was very helpful for heating up a leftover meal or grabbing a cool drink when needed. Our first room, facing the main road, was very noisy, so we willingly paid a $25 per night upgrade to a room facing the beach side. It was definitely quieter. People do need to remember that the hotel is located in the middle of busy, loud Waikiki.

Breakfasts are simple; buns, muffins, coffee, tea and juice with bananas, oranges and apples. I recommend heading to Safeway to buy food to supplement your breakfast.

We did rent a car for 4 days (cheapest at the airport) and were able to park on Ala Wai Blvd, which is only a couple blocks away, for free. Be aware that there are a couple mornings a week when Ala Wai Blvd parking is closing for cleaning from 8:30-11:30am.

This hotel is certainly better than your average 3* accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darkmisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
600 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £111 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing