We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful old mansion in a quiet neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoa Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoa Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Honolulu B&B and Inns
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful old mansion in a quiet neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Manoa Valley Inn for four nights in early January, 2014. Making reservations was easy, and the staff was outstanding. The Inn is an older mansion in the university area. The neighborhood was quiet and safe. The house was old and beautifully decorated with antiques and artwork from the early 1900s. The furnishings were awesome for antique collectors like us. The lush vegetation on the grounds made us feel like we were outside of the city. The breakfasts that were served each morning were excellent, with fresh fruits, cereals, juices, coffee and hot selections. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and worked very well for us. The highlight was the outstanding staff, especially the young lady who was there to greet us each evening and at breakfast. What an outstanding hostess she was! We would highly recommend this eclectic Inn to anyone who wants to get out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki or downtown and the high rise hotels and condos for a relaxing stay in a wonderful quiet setting..

Room Tip: I suggest one of the suites, if they fit your budget. They were spacious, comfortable and very clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmanMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    49
    22
    25
    20
See reviews for
21
90
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Manoa Valley Inn for four nights in January 2014 - it was an absolute delight to stay there. We made our booking based on the incredibly convenient location of the property, which is less than a block from the university. However during our stay we were blown away by the hospitality of our hosts, the beautiful house and garden, the delicious breakfast and the super-cute house dogs and cat!

We stayed in the Cooke room on the first floor - this room has a stunning view looking across the garden, out to Waikiki, and far over the Pacific Ocean. The bed was very comfortable and the room had excellent airflow. In addition to an ensuite bathroom the room has a spacious closet, which meant that all luggage could be stored out of the way. There was also a shared sitting room (with fridge) on our floor - it was a wonderful place to work in the afternoon (free Wifi is provided). The entire house is furnished in keeping with the age of the house, which is itself on the National Register of Historic Places. It was particularly lovely on the lanai, which looks out over the tropical garden. There is parking at the front of the house and sometimes spaces run out if you get home late, but there is plentiful street parking and we never had any problems finding a space for our car in the immediate vicinity of the house.

Breakfast is included and every morning there was a delicious array of hot and cold options, with eggs cooked to order. Sitting on the lanai over breakfast and coffee was one of the highlights of our stay - even though you are so close to the city, it just feels like a quiet oasis. In the evening our hosts were fine with us sitting with a glass of wine on the lanai as well, with glasses and a bottle opener provided.

Other reviewers have mentioned the Manoa Valley Inn pets. The three dogs and the cat were just such sweeties! The oldest dog is 18 and a gorgeous little thing. We loved having the pets about and enjoyed their company and playing with them. However, the hosts were excellent about making sure that the animals were unobtrusive and respectful of all guests, particularly those who weren't animal people.

Most of all, our hosts were lovely. Upon our arrival we were welcomed by Monica, who was just so, so helpful throughout our stay! On our first night she recommended a restaurant to eat at and made the booking for us (a nearby Japanese restaurant - absolutely amazing sashimi!), and she helped us locate any other facilities we required. Overall, all the hosts and folks who work at Manoa Valley Inn are incredibly welcoming and a pleasure to chat with.

We will definitely be staying at Manoa Valley Inn on all our future trips to Oahu. It's a real gem of a place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cooke room on the first floor - this room has a stunning view looking across the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASBeavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Went here for one week over new years.
The house was decorated for Christmas and they had a beautiful great tree on the front porch I smelled/inhaled purposely every day as I came and went. The house itself is a historic structure and it is interesting just staying in a house this old on the island. The house is a little overdecorated in antiques which at times are a bit tacky but in general nice.
Do to last minute scheduling, we stayed in three different rooms. The rooms were all spacious with bath attached. Beds fairly comfortable. All the old windows closed easily. No AC. At times the neighborhood could be noisy but not too bad. We just were not used to sleeping with windows opened. Third floor room we stayed in most nites had a 5 foot entrance to the bathroom and I would hit my head a bout two to three times every night despite leaving a light on. Sheets, towels nice. They do not clean the room or change anything unless you tell them at breakfast. They should at least pick up and empty trash every day and make bed. Plenty of good hot water.
Breakfast was good. Eggs and pancakes made to order. Fruit was mostly pineapple and strawberries. Breakfast hot food was usually a soup, fried potatoes, greens, rice, and maybe fried spam? or bacon. The japanese (most of the residents) loved the hot food. I mostly ate eggs and croissant. Coffee was great.
We did not spend much time in the yard or pool but in the first 15 minutes we were there to drop us off,my three kids got 6 mosquito bites.
People who work here are very friendly and helpful. I think it is a bit pricey

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom where you don't hit your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pseudomonas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

There are not many true B & B options in Honolulu and if you are looking for a convenient base for Oahu sightseeing, you should definitely consider the Manoa Valley Inn. A rental car is a must as it is located away from the main centers of activity (which is part of its attraction). Free, off-street parking is available although the spaces are a little tight especially when the inn is full.

Our room (the Baldwin Room) was quite comfortable. Yes, the bathroom was a little old-fashioned and had its quirks - I believe reviewer Kerry Cardiff (10/26/2013) must have stayed in this room as he experienced the same problem as we did when turning off the shower. Hint to future guests: Just push in on the main shower control handle when turning it off and it will engage and shut off. Of course, they should get this fixed.

As noted by other reviewers, they discourage use of the window A/C unit (they describe it as somehow "un-Hawaiian") but we found their location to be too noisy to sleep soundly through the night with the windows open. However, we are "country mice" accustomed to total silence at night, "city mice" would probably not find the noise level at night a problem.

Monica (the owner's daughter) seems to run the place and she is delightful, hard-working, very helpful and wants every guest to be a happy one. We can attest to her strength as she single-handedly carried our two 50lb suitcases up the stairs - for which we were very grateful. I would recommend calling her on her cell phone an hour or so before your arrival so that she or someone will be there to welcome you and help check you in.

The family (quite a large one) - including pets - uses part of the downstairs and this makes you feel as if you are truly their private house guests. This may be charming to some and a little too cosy for others. Breakfasts were generally well done although some of the dishes offered were unusual for breakfast. The verandah is a delightful place to sit and enjoy your coffee however seating becomes tight if the inn is full. We did not use their pool which is quite overgrown with trees and shrubs resulting in a "grotto-like" feel - again, charming to some and possibly off-putting to others.

On balance, we felt this was a charming place to stay - we were there three nights. I feel my true rating would be 3 1/2 stars - it is definitely better than "Average" but has too many quirks for "Very Good".

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the rear of the house may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

"Luxurious and quiet experience" as this inn describes itself did not match our experience here. Floral wallpaper and table coverings everywhere, peeling paint, old faulty plumbing and an assortment of dogs and relatives and friends coming and going left us feeling that if we were friends, we wouldn't pay for this, and as customers we weren't getting what we paid for. The owner's daughter is delightful and working very hard but she could not find towels that didn't smell musty and even then replaced them only once during a three-night stay. The book in the room urges no air conditioning, so with windows open to the very busy street, it was hot and noisy. A request for a receipt was met with astonishment; it did come by email five days later. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MaryVacationer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I had a lovely time here. The owner was so sweet and kind and provided us with every amenity we needed. She even let us stay a bit longer after check out time to tend to some business that we had to do.

Kind staff, charming place. It has a Laura Ashley vibe to it that made me smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cairo22lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This classic house converted to a B&B is located a block from the University of Hawaii on a quiet side street. Our room (Cook) was large and had a beautiful view of the lights of Waikiki. The B&B has a lush garden and a small grotto-like swimming pool in a forest of tropical plants. The location was relatively quiet for Honolulu and had free parking unlike large hotels in tourist areas. It made driving around Oahu (do rent a car despite the traffic) easier because you can avoid the congestion of Waikiki and go to the islands best beaches. The breakfast was good - great fresh fruit - and local island breakfast fare. The place is not for everyone if looking for luxury, air-conditioning and 24 hour service. If you want a more personal island experience and do not mind a home-like atmosphere it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our favorites are the Moore and Cook rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoa Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoa Valley Inn

Property: Manoa Valley Inn
Address: 2001 Vancouver Dr, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822-2451
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoa Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manoa Valley Inn is a Victorian Inn filled with European antiques with a bit of island flair. This Historic Country Inn is an Oahu landmark located in an exclusive area of Honolulu right by the University of Hawaii. The Manoa Valley Inn was built in 1912 and provides a luxurious and quiet experience away from the din of Waikiki for visitors and local residents alike. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The prestigious Country Inn is conveniently located within minutes of Waikiki and the downtown Honolulu business district, yet it is surrounded by the beauty, luxury, and serenity of Manoa Valley. Relax in the quiet of the peaceful and spacious veranda and soak up a bit of Hawaiian nostalgia from years gone by. Stay with us, it's a very special surprise. It is an intimate retreat that provides a unique alternative to resort living. The Manoa Valley Inn has six special, spacious rooms and a charming country cottage waiting for you. We are within walking distance to U.H. Manoa, bus lines, restaurants and theater. Relax in our tropical saltwater heated swimming pool with a soft flowing waterfall located in a secluded garden with many trees and flowers. Breakfast consists of island fresh fruits, yogurt, bread, muffins or bagels, cold cereal, coffee, tea & juice, as well as brown rice, oatmeal with plenty of assorted nuts and dried fruits, a variety of tofu dishes and stir fried vegetables .. eggs when served are from an organic farm run by a family member. We buy local products from local organic farms as much as possible.Our Inn has five permanent guests who are 4 friendly and playful dogs and 1 mysterious black cat! E Komo Mai... Come In, Join Us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Manoa Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoa Valley Hotel Honolulu
Manoa Valley Inn Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing