We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manoa Valley Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
72
56
26
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
56
26
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet neighborhoodbed and breakfastnational register of historic placesantique furnishingsgracious hostsown bathroomfresh fruitsalt water poolhome away from homebreakfast is serveddowntown waikikievery morningpublic areasrented a carcookemaunaoahu
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Draped in the cobwebbed canopies of the early 1900s, renovated in 1982, features lingering bits of Victorian ribbon and bows, marble statues of Venus and Cupid, and brass lamp bases carved with freedom fighters engaged in battle -- the Manoa Valley Inn is an absolute delight. The decor -- consisting of crystal chandeliers, rippling silk and creamy lace drapes and oriental carpets accentuate the ornately carved bed frame, bedside stands and armoire. I love things old and historic and full of legends from by-gone eras, and I also appreciate how hard the staff (Monica #1) works to keep the seven rooms cleaned, changed and ready for daily check-ins. Being an Inn Keeper on Kauai, I can truly appreciate the amount of work that is required and accomplished by the Mano Inn staff. For example, the full course Chinese breakfast (fresh steamed vegetables, home made Miso soup with fresh snap peas, brown organic rice, fresh cubed potatoes), or standard American/British fare (eggs done to your preference, pancakes, breads, bagels, cream cheeses, jams and fresh fruit). The beauty of the Manoa Valley Inn, besides its charm and eclectic decor, is that it is close to the UH main campus, it the fact that there is off-road parking, it is located in a safe neighborhood, there are killer views of the city and mountains, it is s close to the arboretum, Diamond Head, the Blaisdell, Waikiki, Ala Moana, the H1, H2 and H3, and tons of restaurants. Waikiki. For an interesting, multi-cultural and charmingly historic experience The Mano Valley Inn is the place.
Thanks for a great stay!!

Room Tip: The Moore Room had a very comfy bed and a cot for a second person. Private bath, nice garden views, lots of trees.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAHINASHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Manoa Valley Inn for four nights in early January, 2014. Making reservations was easy, and the staff was outstanding. The Inn is an older mansion in the university area. The neighborhood was quiet and safe. The house was old and beautifully decorated with antiques and artwork from the early 1900s. The furnishings were awesome for antique collectors like us. The lush vegetation on the grounds made us feel like we were outside of the city. The breakfasts that were served each morning were excellent, with fresh fruits, cereals, juices, coffee and hot selections. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and worked very well for us. The highlight was the outstanding staff, especially the young lady who was there to greet us each evening and at breakfast. What an outstanding hostess she was! We would highly recommend this eclectic Inn to anyone who wants to get out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki or downtown and the high rise hotels and condos for a relaxing stay in a wonderful quiet setting..

Room Tip: I suggest one of the suites, if they fit your budget. They were spacious, comfortable and very clean. They are upstairs though, so be ready for a bit of a workout to get upstairs. It is worth the trouble though.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmanMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Manoa Valley Inn for four nights in January 2014 - it was an absolute delight to stay there. We made our booking based on the incredibly convenient location of the property, which is less than a block from the university. However during our stay we were blown away by the hospitality of our hosts, the beautiful house and garden, the delicious breakfast and the super-cute house dogs and cat!

We stayed in the Cooke room on the first floor - this room has a stunning view looking across the garden, out to Waikiki, and far over the Pacific Ocean. The bed was very comfortable and the room had excellent airflow. In addition to an ensuite bathroom the room has a spacious closet, which meant that all luggage could be stored out of the way. There was also a shared sitting room (with fridge) on our floor - it was a wonderful place to work in the afternoon (free Wifi is provided). The entire house is furnished in keeping with the age of the house, which is itself on the National Register of Historic Places. It was particularly lovely on the lanai, which looks out over the tropical garden. There is parking at the front of the house and sometimes spaces run out if you get home late, but there is plentiful street parking and we never had any problems finding a space for our car in the immediate vicinity of the house.

Breakfast is included and every morning there was a delicious array of hot and cold options, with eggs cooked to order. Sitting on the lanai over breakfast and coffee was one of the highlights of our stay - even though you are so close to the city, it just feels like a quiet oasis. In the evening our hosts were fine with us sitting with a glass of wine on the lanai as well, with glasses and a bottle opener provided.

Other reviewers have mentioned the Manoa Valley Inn pets. The three dogs and the cat were just such sweeties! The oldest dog is 18 and a gorgeous little thing. We loved having the pets about and enjoyed their company and playing with them. However, the hosts were excellent about making sure that the animals were unobtrusive and respectful of all guests, particularly those who weren't animal people.

Most of all, our hosts were lovely. Upon our arrival we were welcomed by Monica, who was just so, so helpful throughout our stay! On our first night she recommended a restaurant to eat at and made the booking for us (a nearby Japanese restaurant - absolutely amazing sashimi!), and she helped us locate any other facilities we required. Overall, all the hosts and folks who work at Manoa Valley Inn are incredibly welcoming and a pleasure to chat with.

We will definitely be staying at Manoa Valley Inn on all our future trips to Oahu. It's a real gem of a place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cooke room on the first floor - this room has a stunning view looking across the garden, out to Waikiki, and far over the Pacific Ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASBeavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Went here for one week over new years.
The house was decorated for Christmas and they had a beautiful great tree on the front porch I smelled/inhaled purposely every day as I came and went. The house itself is a historic structure and it is interesting just staying in a house this old on the island. The house is a little overdecorated in antiques which at times are a bit tacky but in general nice.
Do to last minute scheduling, we stayed in three different rooms. The rooms were all spacious with bath attached. Beds fairly comfortable. All the old windows closed easily. No AC. At times the neighborhood could be noisy but not too bad. We just were not used to sleeping with windows opened. Third floor room we stayed in most nites had a 5 foot entrance to the bathroom and I would hit my head a bout two to three times every night despite leaving a light on. Sheets, towels nice. They do not clean the room or change anything unless you tell them at breakfast. They should at least pick up and empty trash every day and make bed. Plenty of good hot water.
Breakfast was good. Eggs and pancakes made to order. Fruit was mostly pineapple and strawberries. Breakfast hot food was usually a soup, fried potatoes, greens, rice, and maybe fried spam? or bacon. The japanese (most of the residents) loved the hot food. I mostly ate eggs and croissant. Coffee was great.
We did not spend much time in the yard or pool but in the first 15 minutes we were there to drop us off,my three kids got 6 mosquito bites.
People who work here are very friendly and helpful. I think it is a bit pricey

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom where you don't hit your head.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pseudomonas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

There are not many true B & B options in Honolulu and if you are looking for a convenient base for Oahu sightseeing, you should definitely consider the Manoa Valley Inn. A rental car is a must as it is located away from the main centers of activity (which is part of its attraction). Free, off-street parking is available although the spaces are a little tight especially when the inn is full.

Our room (the Baldwin Room) was quite comfortable. Yes, the bathroom was a little old-fashioned and had its quirks - I believe reviewer Kerry Cardiff (10/26/2013) must have stayed in this room as he experienced the same problem as we did when turning off the shower. Hint to future guests: Just push in on the main shower control handle when turning it off and it will engage and shut off. Of course, they should get this fixed.

As noted by other reviewers, they discourage use of the window A/C unit (they describe it as somehow "un-Hawaiian") but we found their location to be too noisy to sleep soundly through the night with the windows open. However, we are "country mice" accustomed to total silence at night, "city mice" would probably not find the noise level at night a problem.

Monica (the owner's daughter) seems to run the place and she is delightful, hard-working, very helpful and wants every guest to be a happy one. We can attest to her strength as she single-handedly carried our two 50lb suitcases up the stairs - for which we were very grateful. I would recommend calling her on her cell phone an hour or so before your arrival so that she or someone will be there to welcome you and help check you in.

The family (quite a large one) - including pets - uses part of the downstairs and this makes you feel as if you are truly their private house guests. This may be charming to some and a little too cosy for others. Breakfasts were generally well done although some of the dishes offered were unusual for breakfast. The verandah is a delightful place to sit and enjoy your coffee however seating becomes tight if the inn is full. We did not use their pool which is quite overgrown with trees and shrubs resulting in a "grotto-like" feel - again, charming to some and possibly off-putting to others.

On balance, we felt this was a charming place to stay - we were there three nights. I feel my true rating would be 3 1/2 stars - it is definitely better than "Average" but has too many quirks for "Very Good".

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the rear of the house may be quieter
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews