We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marine Surf Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2008

I booked our condo thru Hawaiin Condo Resorts and everything went very smooth. We arrived late in the evening (11pm) so we had to pay for a late check-in even though they guy only had to cross the street to bring us the keys. We stayed in unit 1605 which was close to the elevator and we were facing Seaside Ave so we just had to look to the right to see the ocean and down to see the pool. There is only sun by the pool from about 11am to 3pm and it closes at 7pm. A parking stall came with our room at no extra charge and that was nice to have as we had a car. Unfortuneatly the first night we were there our brand new convertible was keyed and the staff we not very helpful and said they saw nothing on the surveillance tape. We also received a warning for parking in our own stall but got that cleared up PDQ as well. The staff got friendlier as time passed though and seemed genuinly concerned as to how we made out with our vandalised car.
The a/c worked great, many times we shut it off and opened the lanai door as it was getting too cold.
I saw roach hotels in the room but I never saw a bug of any kind. I was glad I took dishclothes and teatowels as there were none in the room. Also, there is laundry on every floor but the washing machine on our floor was out of order the whole time. You have to buy a 'laundry' card from the front desk for $5 and load it at a machine in the lobby, its 1.25 to wash and .75 to dry. We had to go and buy pillows as the ones provided were extremely flat. I know I will be leaving some the things I purchased for here in the room but I have no idea if they will stay there.
Things I would suggest you take along if renting a private unit is a paring knife, dish and hand soap, dishcloth and teatowel, salt/pepper, cling film/tin foil, laundry soap/dryer sheets and toilet paper and it's expensive here. I guess it depends on the length of your stay. We stayed for 3 weeks.
There is also and iron and ironing board and a vacuum as you are on your own, you have to supply your own toilet paper as well.
This unit is in a great cenral Waikiki location, close to everything.
It can be noisy but that's Waikiki, I don't know if you can find a 'quiet' place there.

Stayed: March 2008
3  Thank kirababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Marine Surf Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2007

Stayed there for one night Oct. 30. Room 1309. Moldy smell assaulted you when walking into the room Really bad. Over all condition of the hotel was Run down. Pubic hairs in the tub. Mold on the tile in bathroom. Only good thing was that we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mbleill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Stayed here for 6 nights. Good central Waikiki location. The room was clean and roomy. Car parking was good value for money.

Reception staff could be a little abrupt but overall a fine experience.

P.S. The Italian restaurant in the lobby is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sbworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We arrived at this hotel late at night and there were alot of sketchy looking characters in the lobby.....looked like prostitues, meth addicts, etc...The room's carpeting was filthy and the whole room smelled of urine. We left in the morning.

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank OregonMomoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

we stayed here from 4/18-4/22 before heading to Maui. This place is in a great location. We were on the 21st floor and the noise from outside was still a little much, but like others have said, turn up the ac or wear ear plugs. it is Waikiki so expect noise. The room was fine. We were only in there to shower, change and sleep. The fridge was nice and we liked the breakfast place across the street for the 2.99 breakfasts.
This place isn't the ritz but for under 100$$ for parking too, it is tough to beat for the location.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rthomppka9k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We stayed 8 nights in room 1009 rented from Carl Pierce through Vacation HomeRentals over the internet. We had a great time, the room was comfortable, a kitchenette was included with a regular sized refrigator and microwave. It was sometimes noisy at night even on the 10th floor but turning on the air conditioner drowned out the street noise. The location was great, in the middle of Waikiki, just up Seaside Avenue from the Royal Hawaiian shopping center. Beach access was convenient, just east of the Royal Hawaiian and the Cheesecake Factory. For the under $100 cost per night, parking was included, and it was much easier to have a rental car then trying to catch a bus, especially if you have been to Oahu before. I would reccomend this room to anyone on a budget and wanting to stay in Waikiki!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

This is an older modest high rise condo/hotel in a super location within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and Waikiki Beach. Our room, including fully equiped kitchen, stove, fridge, microwave and two double beds was spotlessly clean. Signs of age: the bathtub had layers caulking over caulking and the two chairs in the main room were vinyl covered. On the other hand, the washer and dryer on our floor were new brand name appliances. Small pool. Safe in room for extra small daily charge. Curious elevator key system. Take your pick - room air conditioner noise or street noise from bar on corner until after 3 a.m. Really helpful and friendly front desk staff. In short, a great bargain for Honolulu and I would stay there again because the price.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mary Lykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,636 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,874 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Surf Waikiki

Address: 364 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2532
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: £150 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marine Surf Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Marine Surf Waikiki Honolulu
Marine Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing