We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marine Surf Waikiki
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Skip this hotel”
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We arrived at this hotel late at night and there were alot of sketchy looking characters in the lobby.....looked like prostitues, meth addicts, etc...The room's carpeting was filthy and the whole room smelled of urine. We left in the morning.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank OregonMomoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
38
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
cape cod, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

we stayed here from 4/18-4/22 before heading to Maui. This place is in a great location. We were on the 21st floor and the noise from outside was still a little much, but like others have said, turn up the ac or wear ear plugs. it is Waikiki so expect noise. The room was fine. We were only in there to shower, change and sleep. The fridge was nice and we liked the breakfast place across the street for the 2.99 breakfasts.
This place isn't the ritz but for under 100$$ for parking too, it is tough to beat for the location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms were avg.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rthomppka9k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We stayed 8 nights in room 1009 rented from Carl Pierce through Vacation HomeRentals over the internet. We had a great time, the room was comfortable, a kitchenette was included with a regular sized refrigator and microwave. It was sometimes noisy at night even on the 10th floor but turning on the air conditioner drowned out the street noise. The location was great, in the middle of Waikiki, just up Seaside Avenue from the Royal Hawaiian shopping center. Beach access was convenient, just east of the Royal Hawaiian and the Cheesecake Factory. For the under $100 cost per night, parking was included, and it was much easier to have a rental car then trying to catch a bus, especially if you have been to Oahu before. I would reccomend this room to anyone on a budget and wanting to stay in Waikiki!

  • Liked — Parking included, comfortable room, convenient location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

This is an older modest high rise condo/hotel in a super location within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and Waikiki Beach. Our room, including fully equiped kitchen, stove, fridge, microwave and two double beds was spotlessly clean. Signs of age: the bathtub had layers caulking over caulking and the two chairs in the main room were vinyl covered. On the other hand, the washer and dryer on our floor were new brand name appliances. Small pool. Safe in room for extra small daily charge. Curious elevator key system. Take your pick - room air conditioner noise or street noise from bar on corner until after 3 a.m. Really helpful and friendly front desk staff. In short, a great bargain for Honolulu and I would stay there again because the price.

  • Liked — Price, location, facilities
  • Disliked — Age, street noise
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Lykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

We enjoyed two and a half days of plunging and bailing due to the 40 year old plumbing in the outstanding Marine Surf. Not even seeing the beach for that time. No help from front desk or the maintenance staff, they told us to call a plumber. the room was actually privately owned and managed by Hawaiian condo resorts, but they were no help at all. We had to pack up and occupy their office and demand a new room and have them promise us they would pay the 700 $ plumbing bill, made out in our name. One month later and we still don't have our deposit. The fine decor made it all worth while though, cirgarette burns and a fine popouri of exotic moulds and a decade of filth that danced on the cool evening trades. Great location to build a new hotel!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fritzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

I stayed there for two nights in December 2006. It is well situated right in the middle of Waikiki. The beach is only a few minutes of walk away, as are the International market and all the other shopping places in Waikiki.

I arrived later that evening, around 8:30 pm. The reception desk was not open, but I just had to pick up a phone nearby and few minutes later somebody came to check me in.

The room was spacious and tidy, a little noisy though, as it looked to the street side. But I know, that here in Waikiki, the noise is everywhere, so be sure to bring your ear plugs.

There was a small kitchen in the room, which makes this hotel also suitable for people who do not want to got out for dining.

I can surely recommend this hotel. It is nice, not too expensive and the personel was always friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundrop_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2006

Marine Surf is a “condotel” in an excellent location in the center of Waikiki. I have stayed here a couple of times and have never been disappointed. The finish of your room will depend on from whom you rent. The quietest rooms will be “Ewa” on a higher floor. Some units are privately owned rentals, while others are in a “hotel pool.” Basically hotel rooms with kitchenettes, I actually prefer the privately owned units. Past visitors tend to leave conveniences such as suntan lotions, salt/pepper, sodas, etc. In turn, I also leave my “leftovers” for the next guest.

The building is not a high-service hotel (who needs it). It is not on the beach (5 min walk). It is not glamorous or particularly romantic (nor is Waikiki for that matter). And it can be quite noisy outside (Waikiki is urban). But! if you want an affordable, clean, safe place to stay, I find this building to be a good value. Most recently I paid $80/nt for a last minute booking with direct negotiating. Go to ---.com for pictures/info, then search the net for better rates.

As always; I travel to Waikiki several times a year, I can advise that Waikiki is a nice tropical urban adventure. The city comes with the negatives of a big city, along with the overwhelming benefits of a beautiful beachfront resort. Generally, everything in Waikiki is “a little tired” although there have been continuous improvements in the last few years. If you are traveling solo, take Roberts Hawaii from the airport for $10 (no rsvr rqd). Two or more people, take a taxi from the airport to the hotel (should be under $30). In Waikiki, nearly everything is walking distance or a short shuttle/bus away. If you need a car for the day, you can rent one in Waikiki.


  • Liked — Quiet interior, stocked cabinets, comforts of home, location.
  • Disliked — Low ammenity building.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjgriffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Surf Waikiki

Property: Marine Surf Waikiki
Address: 364 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2532
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Surf Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Marine Surf Waikiki Honolulu
Marine Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing