We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marine Surf Waikiki
Nearby Hotels
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
28
41
18
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
41
18
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside avenuetropical studiodamage depositrented unitkey fobbeep beepcaptain cookgreat locationwashing machinebeach towelsdelivery trucksthe international market placeacross the streetsofa bedstay there againhome away from homelaundry room
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We booked 2 rooms through VRBO, dealing with two different owners. Both rooms met our needs perfectly. Well appointed, clean and in the heart of Waikiki. Ice chests, sand chairs, and beach towels were available for our use, as well as free Internet access and phone with U.S. long distance. Nice to have a full kitchen, though we found the food prices in Waikiki were very reasonable so we use the kitchen mostly for storing and reheating left-overs. As far as the street noise, we left our slider open at night with the fan on and the street noise was minimal (though loud without the fan). One night we ran the AC and there was no street noise heard. Should we return we would book again with Tom Merrick or Carl Pierce (VRBO.com #265223). Do bring your own shampoo, lotion, Kleenex and bath soap.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

The room itself is fine for the money - nothing special but has all the essentials and most of all is clean and presentable. The neighhood - that is something quite different. If you have insomnia - this isn't the place for you. You are right downtown and that coupled with the heavy trucks, transit and tour buses not to mention the gay bar across the street with live bands open until 4AM EVERY NIGHT, your in an insomniacs hell! Obviously found it hard to get any decent rest near, even during the daytime the noise is non-stop, but then again you are in the middle of a major metro city!!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank electron63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Firstly, this is not a hotel and has not been one since August 2009. The rooms are privately owned and usually rented out thru a leasing agent. I used "hawaii condo resorts" and have to agree with the previous traveler: stay away from them! They use bait and switch tactics when it comes to actual room location and withheld a part of my damage deposit to clean a stain that was there when i arrived.

That having been said, for the price i paid, the room was perfectly adequate. The location of the property is ideal for everything and every room comes with parking, which can make a huge difference. Room internet access was provided for a very nominal charge. There is laundry on every floor - you do have to buy a money card for non-refundable $5.00 and then "fill" the dollar amount in the lobby to use the pay machines.

There is a "desk" in the lobby, but they are only there to supply support for the property manager - NOT for the visitor. They will NOT let you keep your luggage there so checking out at noon and not flying out until 10pm means you have to drag your bags around with you all day. There is no security on site, but you dont really need it in Waikiki.

Be careful who you book thru, be aware there are no 'hotel" services, do your own damage/inventory list as soon as you get there and have a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ksosay2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

It comes with full kitchen near a grocery store to help with the budget. It has a pool
big rooms, great views, close to beach and International Market and other shopping.
On the bus line, close to restaurants that have meal specials. Laundry on premises,
free coffee every day. On the flip side there is no tour desk, but tour places near.
I have recommended this hotel to friends and will be staying there next Feb again,
my third time.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I'm an annual traveller to Honolulu and stay from 2 weeks to a month. I booked by phone with Hawaiian Condo Resorts. I was warned that this is not a luxury property as I had stayed at the Royal Gardens in 2007 and found it very comfortable.

However, I was not prepared for the dirty bathroom, kitchen (thick grease and dead bugs under the kitchen sink) and seriously stained rug. They did send someone in to clean and shampoo a few days after arrival but this should have been done beforehand. It takes valuable time away from your holiday when you have to spend time on the phone making arrangements and then sitting around waiting for them to arrive.

I was informed when booking that this was a 'recently renovated' unit and it was anything but with cracked tiles, damaged floors and bedding that did not fit the mattress properly. I understand that there are some fairly decent units in the Marine Surf but I wouldn't book with Hawaiian Condo Resorts again as you cannot trust what they tell you when you can't check things out beforehand.

The best thing about the place is its proximity to just about everywhere in Waikiki you'd want to go. Also the monthly rate was low for the location. As far as I'm concerned you benefit most when you're NOT IN the actual hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank teluogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harold364, Manager at Marine Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2009

Aloha Teluogirl - I apologize for your bad experience during your stay at the Marine Surf Waikiki. Being the Manager of the hotel, it is important to us that all our hotel rooms are clean and our guests are as comfortable as possible. As you may know, the Marine Surf Waikiki is a Condo/tel and as such some rooms are rented out privately while others are in our hotel operation. Unfortunately your experience was with a private unit that was handled by a private company which is not affiliated with the hotel and not under our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews