We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,551)
Filter reviews
3,551 results
Traveller rating
1,642
1,358
393
104
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,642
1,358
393
104
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastwaikiki beachthe breakfast areakimchiyogurtself parkingacross the streettwo blocksocean viewabc storediamond headhonolulu zooevery morningpineapplethird floorsofa bedbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
2,670 - 2,675 of 3,551 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for 5 nights before a cruise and 2 nights afterwards. Hotel is very modern but the first room we had was tiny and the bed far too hard. Had a mountain view. Breakfast is ok with lots of choice until it rains and then there is nowhere to sit without getting soaked :( Pool is small but ok and was a bonus to be able to use the hotel's laundry. Staff very helpful. Location is ok and the bar food is great and very reasonable.
After the cruise they upgraded us to a King Suite I think they called it on the Mezzanine floor which was huge!!! The bed was enormous and it was nice to have a separate sitting area too - wish we had this room first as I was seriously thinking of cancelling our booking post cruise.
Overall a decent hotel

Room Tip: Mezzanine Rooms are HUGE but suffer from lots of wind noise whistling through.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshcake038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hyatt Place is a newly renovated hotel a block from Waikiki Beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely appointed, extremely clean and safe, but on the small side.

A standard room with King bed, was large enough for two people, but not for more than two. We had a mountain side view room, but wish we had not paid extra for the view, as we were not in our room all that much. DO NOT pay extra for a view, at Hyatt Place. It's not worth the extra bucks.

Self-Parking was an issue (always full), so we relented and paid the extra for valet parking. The valet staff was more helpful than the concierge, as far as driving directions and things to see. Other reviewers have complained about the $28 valet parking fee. This is in line with ALL major city hotels. (San Francisco charges $50+ a night for self-parking, so quit complaining!)

The valets were especially helpful when it came to directions and things to see. They were actually more helpful than the concierge.

Concierge--there was only 1 and they were always busy. He was not especially helpful. A hotel this large and this busy, should have more than 1 concierge on staff.

FREE breakfast is a huge plus, as there are not many eating establishments nearby.

Many reviewers have commented on the pigeons in the outside dining area. Yes, there were pigeons, but they were not on tables, the buffet line, or trying to steal food. The manager was vigilant about squirting water on them, to keep them out of the eating area. What folks seem to forget....THIS HOTEL IS IN A BIG CITY, there will be pigeons if you are sitting outside! There are places to eat inside the lobby. The hotel provides trays in each room--if the pigeons bother you, take your food to your room and eat.

There weren't many restaurants within a short walk from the hotel, other than those located in hotels, or chain restaurants. This was a little disappointing, as you'd think there would be more options for eating out at night. We were usually too tired by evening, to fight Honolulu traffic to eat out. The Tiki Bar and grill, at the Aston was an okay option. The beachside tables were great. The food about average.

If we ever return to Oahu, we would probably choose to stay out of the congested downtown/Waikiki Beach area. Honolulu traffic is worse than Washington, D.C. beltway traffic or Atlanta during rush hour! Keep that in mind, if you need to be at the airport, Pearl Harbor, or anywhere else at a specific time, during the week. Leave extra time for getting to the airport!

Overall, the Hyatt Place is extremely clean, exceptionally safe (you cannot use the elevator without your key) and good location. It's a great choice, if wanting to stay near Waikiki Beach.

Keep in mind, the rooms are small. If you're bringing a family, opt for a deluxe room or two rooms. There is no bath tub, only a shower. This was fine for us, but families with small children might want a tub.

I would probably choose to stay elsewhere, if I return to Oahu. But, for a first time visit, the Hyatt Place was a good choice.

Great place for couples to stay, near Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: DO not pay extra for a view--not worth the money. Quiet rooms. Comfortable beds, but no tubs. Parking is an issue. Valet parking charges are in line with other large cities.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerFam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Aloha TigerFam3,

Mahalo for your through and helpful review and choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and our neat accommodation. We are sorry to hear that the congested downtown/Waikiki Beach area caused you inconvenience. If you ever change your mind, we would love to welcome you back with improved service.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the hyatt place in honolulu the last night of our Hawaii trip. The location was perfect, just a short walk to "the Wall" (best place for bodyboarding in waikiki) and the strip area. The hotel is also very close to Diamondhead and the farmers market at the local community college, which is open on Saturday. If you dont have to be on the beach, there isnt a better hotel for the money than the Hyatt Place Waikiki.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyStayGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were excited to book a stay at this hotel based on it's high Trip Advisor rating. While i have no real complaints about the hotel, it was clean, quiet, freshly remodeled, and a nice 2 minute walk to the beach.. there was nothing spectacular about it. I wouldn't stay there again, but only because I have stayed elsewhere on the island and have been much happier with the experience. Here are the things we liked/disliked about this hotel.

1. Breakfast - This was the only reason to stay at this hotel. Nowhere in Waikiki (that I am aware of) offers a free breakfast. Breakfast varies daily and is wonderful and clean for a hotel breakfast. I have read some reviews about the birds being a bother, but if you've ever eaten anywhere in HI, you'll know it's not just this hotel. It is a beautiful place to start the day and with the cost of island food, a nice break. If you're looking to save a few bucks on your food cost - this is a good option.

2. Location - About 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. We paid to upgrade to a Diamond Head view - NOT worth it.. all we saw was the back of the mountain and wasn't anything compared to the view we had when we stayed at the Marriott across the street. It is a nice area of Waikiki though because it is not as loud and busy as the main strip - which is one of the reasons we picked this hotel in the first place.

3. Room Size - SMALL rooms (even the "upgraded" room we had). They are clean an nicely decorated, but beyond that, nothing to write home about. Beds were very comfortable.

4. Shower/Bathroom Lights/Fan - There is no bath tub, only a shower. Not a problem, but something worth noting. Also, the lights for the bathroom and the vanity area are on the same switch, so if you need to use the restroom in the middle of the night, be sure you can do it in the dark or you will wake everyone in the room.

5. Staff - we never had much interaction with the staff beyond the concierge. The young man was not only not very helpful, but acted like we were bothering him. We were trying to obtain tickets to the Arizona Memorial and he was no help at all. He not only told us that if we got there early (5am) we had only about a 5% chance of getting tickets, but he wouldn't even look for $80 tour tickets for us. So, if this is something you plan on doing while you are there, make sure you book your tickets in advance. We were disappointed that we missed it because we didn't know you needed tickets years in advance.

6. Parking - Outrageous at $28/day. They say they have "self parking" for $15 a day, but they said to get those spots you need to park around 11 am/Checkout. Which, is pretty much when you will be using the car, so it makes it a useless prospect. Park across the street at the Banyan Waikiki parking garage for $15/day and they will give you a discount if you pay for the whole week. Kind of a lot of walking back and forth every time you need your car (and a roundabout way to have to get the car out and back to the hotel) but worth it to avoid the price of their valet.

7. Etc. - They offer no sort of snorkel rental or any sort of check out service, so be prepared to be buying everything you need, unlike some of the other hotels... this can add up fast.

In conclusion, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay and save a few dollars on breakfast, this is a great spot. If you are used to a resort experience - or looking for a resort island/beach experience, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a Diamond Head view. Viewing the back of the mountain is not worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank social_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Aloha social_travlr,

Mahalo for your through and helpful review and choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and our convenient location. Please allow us to apologize if our Diamond Head View room and the hospitality of our staff did not exceed your expectations. Please rest assured that we have shared your review with our managers and staff members as we fix any problems and strive to provide our guests with a more satisfying experience. If given the opportunity, we hope to welcome you back with a much more improved service.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed six nights here with family in August. Very good breakfast every morning starting at 6:30 a.m., in spite of pidgeons that other reviews warned about. We had a city view deluxe room on the top PH floor that was spacious. Wifi worked well. Staff especially Angeline was very helpful in giving tips for local restaurants, transportation etc. We hiked Diamond Head one morning and walked all the way back to the hotel. One thing that might help is to be advised that they cannot guarantee locking up your luggage in secure area. We checked out noon and took taxi at 4:30 p.m. Fortunately, they took it and put it in secure space, but I guess they will not guarantee that is possible with lots of guests checking out. Even with our expressed concern about laptops, ipads, etc. they would not lock it up for you, instead hotel will tie up with cable lock and leave in lobby area. Also, take Charley's taxi they have fixed rates to certain destinations, like airport. For $29 to airport one way for four people was great! Sat at the bar for happy hour discounted drinks. Had lunch there, would not recommend, since it is the same fare as the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfwunder_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Aloha Golf wunder_11,

Mahalo for your through, helpful review and choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and spacious accommodation. Please be aware that we cannot guarantee the security of your luggage due to guest traffic and lack of storage space, and we apologize if that caused you any concern during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews