We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$386/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$546
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,424)
Filter reviews
3,424 results
Traveller rating
1,591
1,313
375
96
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,591
1,313
375
96
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastwaikiki beachthe breakfast areakimchiyogurtself parkingabc storeacross the streettwo blocksocean viewdiamond headhonolulu zooevery morningpineapplesofa bedthird floorbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
2,558 - 2,563 of 3,424 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Hyatt Place is located near everything, including a short walk to shops and an Apple store. It is located on a bus stop that can take you almost anywhere. Check in was not only easy, but they let us in our room early, which was a bonus after a very long flight. The room is a very comfortable size. The bed is really comfortable. We had a dresser, with an empty refrig that was already on cold, a sofa and a separate area with a desk and little coffee maker. We also had a balcony overlooking the ocean. Since this property isn't waterfront, the view was obscured, but still amazing. We saw a magnificent rainbow the first morning we were there over the ocean. The hotel provides a pool, gym and a complimentary hot breakfast. You can bring the tray from your room if you want to bring breakfast back to your room. Don't miss the pineapple! I would definitely come back here again. There are ABC stores everywhere in Honolulu, basically a well stocked convenience store. There is one two minutes from the front of the hotel. I went there for bottled water and anything else. The items were reasonably priced considering the location.

Room Tip: We were in room 1733. Great room, balcony and water view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gneiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Aloha Gneiss1,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, comfortable guest rooms, and our amenities. We hope to welcome you back and provide you with another memorable experience in the future.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We used this hotel for two visits whilst we island hopped and on both occasions our room was upgraded.

There are a few problems with this place but nothing serious. No matter what floor you are on the noise level from outside is quite considerable even with all doors and windows closed and the AC on. This is not the first Hyatt I have experienced this in it must be something about their construction. The AC whilst mainly quiet suddenly sounds like it builds up a head of steam and spouts out a 30 second loud wailing sound. This happened in both rooms so it must be general.
Our second room also had a small layer of slime around the bath and sink areas nothing serious but noticeable.

Ok that's with the negatives now the positives.

Both rooms offered were large with two queen beds which were comfortable. They are well equipped with a fridge, ours did not work one day and was replaced, coffee machine, television, balcony, safe and free WiFi. The staff were very friendly and offered a good service especially when said fridge broke down.

Whilst not on Waikiki beach it is only five minutes walk away and as are the shops and restaurants. The breakfast offered has a great choice and is served on the third floor outside around the pool. This is ok but when it rains under cover seating is limited. You can take the breakfast back to your room if you wish.

Also make note that the elevators in the hotel are in constant use so give yourself a little extra time if you are in a hurry to get from your room to the lobby and out.

As far as an inner city hotel goes this is one we would still consider on a future visit to Honolulu as it measures up to most chains and gives good value for the price paid.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher level just to cut down outside noise a little.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Aloha wakey47,

Mahalo for your through and helpful review and choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location and comfortable accommodation. Thank you for bringing the AC and bathroom issue to our attention as we have shared your review with our maintenance department. We are thrilled that you would consider us on a future visit and hope to welcome you back with improved service.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for 5 nights before a cruise and 2 nights afterwards. Hotel is very modern but the first room we had was tiny and the bed far too hard. Had a mountain view. Breakfast is ok with lots of choice until it rains and then there is nowhere to sit without getting soaked :( Pool is small but ok and was a bonus to be able to use the hotel's laundry. Staff very helpful. Location is ok and the bar food is great and very reasonable.
After the cruise they upgraded us to a King Suite I think they called it on the Mezzanine floor which was huge!!! The bed was enormous and it was nice to have a separate sitting area too - wish we had this room first as I was seriously thinking of cancelling our booking post cruise.
Overall a decent hotel

Room Tip: Mezzanine Rooms are HUGE but suffer from lots of wind noise whistling through.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshcake038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hyatt Place is a newly renovated hotel a block from Waikiki Beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely appointed, extremely clean and safe, but on the small side.

A standard room with King bed, was large enough for two people, but not for more than two. We had a mountain side view room, but wish we had not paid extra for the view, as we were not in our room all that much. DO NOT pay extra for a view, at Hyatt Place. It's not worth the extra bucks.

Self-Parking was an issue (always full), so we relented and paid the extra for valet parking. The valet staff was more helpful than the concierge, as far as driving directions and things to see. Other reviewers have complained about the $28 valet parking fee. This is in line with ALL major city hotels. (San Francisco charges $50+ a night for self-parking, so quit complaining!)

The valets were especially helpful when it came to directions and things to see. They were actually more helpful than the concierge.

Concierge--there was only 1 and they were always busy. He was not especially helpful. A hotel this large and this busy, should have more than 1 concierge on staff.

FREE breakfast is a huge plus, as there are not many eating establishments nearby.

Many reviewers have commented on the pigeons in the outside dining area. Yes, there were pigeons, but they were not on tables, the buffet line, or trying to steal food. The manager was vigilant about squirting water on them, to keep them out of the eating area. What folks seem to forget....THIS HOTEL IS IN A BIG CITY, there will be pigeons if you are sitting outside! There are places to eat inside the lobby. The hotel provides trays in each room--if the pigeons bother you, take your food to your room and eat.

There weren't many restaurants within a short walk from the hotel, other than those located in hotels, or chain restaurants. This was a little disappointing, as you'd think there would be more options for eating out at night. We were usually too tired by evening, to fight Honolulu traffic to eat out. The Tiki Bar and grill, at the Aston was an okay option. The beachside tables were great. The food about average.

If we ever return to Oahu, we would probably choose to stay out of the congested downtown/Waikiki Beach area. Honolulu traffic is worse than Washington, D.C. beltway traffic or Atlanta during rush hour! Keep that in mind, if you need to be at the airport, Pearl Harbor, or anywhere else at a specific time, during the week. Leave extra time for getting to the airport!

Overall, the Hyatt Place is extremely clean, exceptionally safe (you cannot use the elevator without your key) and good location. It's a great choice, if wanting to stay near Waikiki Beach.

Keep in mind, the rooms are small. If you're bringing a family, opt for a deluxe room or two rooms. There is no bath tub, only a shower. This was fine for us, but families with small children might want a tub.

I would probably choose to stay elsewhere, if I return to Oahu. But, for a first time visit, the Hyatt Place was a good choice.

Great place for couples to stay, near Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: DO not pay extra for a view--not worth the money. Quiet rooms. Comfortable beds, but no tubs. Parking is an issue. Valet parking charges are in line with other large cities.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerFam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Aloha TigerFam3,

Mahalo for your through and helpful review and choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and our neat accommodation. We are sorry to hear that the congested downtown/Waikiki Beach area caused you inconvenience. If you ever change your mind, we would love to welcome you back with improved service.

Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the hyatt place in honolulu the last night of our Hawaii trip. The location was perfect, just a short walk to "the Wall" (best place for bodyboarding in waikiki) and the strip area. The hotel is also very close to Diamondhead and the farmers market at the local community college, which is open on Saturday. If you dont have to be on the beach, there isnt a better hotel for the money than the Hyatt Place Waikiki.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyStayGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews