We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with a Smile!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here in September 2013 for 4nights/5days. The hotel was perfect! From the friendly Aloha to the check in process, it was all done with a genuine smile. I paid for a City View base room and was pleasantly surprised when the guest check in liaison, Kimberly, upgraded us to the Penthouse level with a deluxe room! This was on the 20th Floor and had views of the city plus the mountains, it was breathtaking.

The room was quite spacious with 2 queen beds and a lounge area. There was even a balcony that had two chairs and a small table. The room was very clean and very modern with a luxe feel to it. Most Waikiki area hotels say they're on the beach, but they are actually across the road. The Hyatt Place is literally 2 minutes walk to Waikiki Beach. You can see the beach from the entrance to the hotel. They even give you beach towels which was and added bonus! There is a free continental breakfast everyday on the 3rd Floor along with the hotel's pool. The pool was simple and small but who needs a pool when you're a splash away from the beautiful Pacific! Other reviews complained about the breakfast and the pigeons. The breakfast area is an open are to the outdoors hence birds are about. Once you stay with your food, the birds don't bother you, however if you walk away for a second, say byebye to whatever you had on your plate! Breakfast was filling, ranged from french toast, to eggs and bacon. There is a selection of breads and bagels along with cereals and also 2 types of pastries. The nice thing about this hotel is that there is a tray in your room that you can bring down, should you wish to take your breakfast back to your room. I've not stayed at any other hotel that offers this. There is also a Gallery Menu in the lobby area which serves up a variety of food items at reasonable costs. Happy hour is also on daily from 4-6PM. Oh, and there is a 24HR fitness center (very nice and spacious) and a guest laundry (3 washers / 3 dryers). The laundry takes coins and credit cards. $3.00 per wash, $3.00 per dry and $1.50 for detergent.

The rooms do come with bottled water at a cost of $3.50 each, but 1 minute away from the hotel is a convenience store, ABC Stores, with bottled water at 99cents. Along with great souvenirs, snacks, drinks, food, medicine, actually anything that you will want or need and at great prices too!

The hotel is actually centrally located, you can walk to the Honolulu Zoo ($14 entry), small but nice, and all restaurants and shopping is right around the area. There is also an Expedia agent at this hotel where you can book tours etc.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for location, price, amenities and great, warm, friendly service!

Room Tip: A mountain view room offers spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ganesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Aloha Ganesh W,
Mahalo for your heartwarming review. We love to read how wonderful your experience was with every staff member you came in contact with during your stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Each of our staff members has a unique personality that they bring to our team, which makes our hotel full of great hospitality and memorable experiences. Your enthusiasm means a lot to all of us here, and sincerely appreciate you highly recommending us to fellow readers.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,165 - 2,171 of 2,990 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed one night before taking the cruize around islands. Room was very large and well appointed. Breakfast was a full breakfast not just continental, outside on the terrace. A little problem with pigeons but hey you are in a big city. The staff was very attentive and polite and held our bags before we got in our room and the next day before we left. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Great stay.

Room Tip: We took a city view and the rooms were huge. A little street noise but we were on 18th floor so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinkapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Aloha chinkapin,
Mahalo for your review. We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It is always a pleasure to read that our team left you with such a memorable impression. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Its just such a zoo. The pool deck is a wind tunnel and breakfast - served there each morning - is a zoo. On the upside the guest laundry takes credit card so you don't need change. I loved that! Great location near the beach and main drag, but that's also a negative as Honolulu is so crowded and the traffic and trams all come right passed the door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Aloha Lally L,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy you appreciated our guest laundry, but regret if the crowds at breakfast caused any inconvenience. Please be assured of our best efforts to regain your confidence in us, and hope to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Had an ocean view king room that HAD a view of Waikiki but our room was VERY small, bothered my husband more than me, only a shower in the bathroom, no tub, which made leg shaving difficult!! They did offer to upgrade us to a larger room at no cost but it wouldn't have been an ocean view, we decided to stay where we were! All the employees were extremely nice and friendly, including the lady in the gift shop who "persuaded" my husband that I needed the earrings to go with my new necklace! The location was great, not right on the beach but close enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Aloha gigitay,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear how much you loved staying at our hotel! Each of our staff members has a unique personality that they bring to our team, which makes our hotel full of great hospitality and memorable experiences. We hope your husband bought you those pretty earrings at the gift shop! It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed in the Pali wing and found it well located but a little noisy because we were low down and close to the street entrance and the noise of buses and traffic was present. The service was good and staff offered advice on a seafood restaurant that we found excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach hotel and we couldn't be more impressed! From the moment that we arrived, the staff were so helpful. We had made 3 specific requests prior to arriving and all of our requests were accommodated. We arrived at around 11.00am and were able to access our two rooms immediately which was most appreciated after the long flight from Australia. The rooms were clean and spacious and the inter-connecting rooms were a hit. The kids were very happy with the hi-speed wi-fi and the breakfast choices offered. Don't be put off by some of the negative comments on Trip Advisor, we never waited more than a few minutes for the lifts and the birds in the breakfast area were never a problem. All in all, this hotel represents great value for money and we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor facing the Ocean or Diamond Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki-196602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Aloha Nikki-196602,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our neat accommodations and friendly staff. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back again soon to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

arrived atthe hotel a few hours early . room not ready so we waited in the foyer .

rooms were nice, good showers and lifts were fast to arrive.

hotel is well placed 1 block form the beach, but is no shining star in the Hyatt chain. more like a 3 star .

breakfast was so terrible that we ate elsewher after the first 2 days there. better hotel would be teh Hyatt Waikiki.

Room Tip: High fllors give great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christobel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £151 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing