We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for Waikiki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for Waikiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Started our 10 days in Hawaii with a quick 2 nights in Waikiki and tried the Hyatt Place. Hotel is a block off the Main Street that runs along the beach at the far end by the Honolulu Zoo. Staff was very friendly and the room fairly upgraded although you can definitely tell the rooms were once old with popcorn ceilings and old textured walls. They tried to scape down the ceilings and paint over the texture which does a somewhat good job of giving the room an updated look but you can definitely tell it was once an old style Waikiki hotel. Bed was very comfortable and the furniture updated. Our room had a very nice Lanai which wrapped around to see some of the Pacific through the buildings. The free breakfast offers a basic meal to get your day started and saves you lots of money as meals in Waikiki tend to be expensive. Pool was kind of a letdown as it's tiny and the fitness room also leaves a little to be desired but all in all a very reasonable place to stay in Waikiki. They also don't charge an annoying resort fee like almost every other hotel in Hawaii.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnieckos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Aloha Schneickos,
Mahalo for telling us about your experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Yes, our hotel was renovated about three years ago and underwent a major renovation to refresh our guest rooms and public spaces. We hope you enjoy our contemporary decor and breathtaking views from your private lanai. Our hotel offers the resort feel without the hefty resort fees that other hotels impose on their guests.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    1,021
    276
    74
    38
See reviews for
922
887
121
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We flew into Honolulu at the beginning of a two week Hawaii holiday. When we come to Hawaii we usually stay at Waikiki for the first few days to get acclimatized before moving on to one of the other islands.
This is our third trip to Hawaii and this time we picked the Hyatt Place Waikiki to stay for four nights. We arrived late due to plane problems and when we arrived at the hotel, even though we had booked an ocean view room, we found we were upgraded to a very nice suite with a view of Diamond Head and the ocean on the 18th floor. Check in was very easy and the desk staff were friendly and helpful. We found the room clean and well appointed. The room included a first class breakfast by the pool every morning. The only problem is it is outside by the pool and if it is stormy, you have very little seating under cover however, you can take your food to your room or to seating in the lobby no big deal. The only other minor problem we found was in the wing we were in, there were only two elevators. When it is busy, the wait for an elevator can be quite long.
We found the Hyatt Place Waikiki was great value for the money relative to other hotels in Waikiki. The free breakfast and free Wifi was a definite plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Diamond Head. We were on the 18th floor and it was relatively quite fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Aloha Don A,
Mahalo for your review and deciding to get acclimated at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It is nice to hear that you were upgraded to a Diamond Head view on the 18th floor upon your arrival. We are glad you found us to be a great value and look forward to your next return!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is in a great location far enough away from the noise and yet close enough to the action in Waikiki. The rooms are spacious with a modern decor and very clean.Service is exelllent.Would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 573triciaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J House Greenwi... H, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Aloha tricia a,
Mahalo for your review and for highly recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Our spacious accommodations and service excellence makes us one of the best kept secrets in Honolulu. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just spent a couple of day in Honolulu transiting from Australia to Canada; which meant flying during the night and landing at 08h00+. So arriving quite early around 09h30, the pleasant people of the Hyatt welcomed me warmly and made a room available right away.

Room was excellent, King Size bed as requested, quiet and functionning Air Conditionning, good size flat panel TV, and a fridge. Excellent washroom with shower only but super for me. No noises came from the street; hence, a good night of sleeping. The hotel is within 4 mins walking to the beach; how can you beat this. They had valet parking or self-help... the actual parking is under the hotel and a door directly lead to the hotel; so don't bother using Valet parking.

There is an office of Expedia (local folks) who found me an excellent catamaran cruise (3.5 hrs on board KoOlina)); the cruise picked me up at the hotel, super catamaran, great snorkeling at two different places seing huge turtle, 8 dolphins, loads of colorful fishes, and even a whale. Food was excellent and with good alcoolized drink too (2 provided free).

The same Expedia guy checked for Luau and show.

Room Tip: Use self-parking! Do not bother to go around waikiki by car... just walk!
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual don't change linen or towels. Lowest temperature setting is 68F and it is sufficient.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeronDevou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J House Greenwi... H, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Aloha HeronDevou,
Mahalo for your review. We are pleased to read that our team was able to make your transition easier after the long-haul flight from Australia. Traveling such long distances is really tough, but glad the Expedia staff was able to recommend a fun catamaran cruise to take the edge off. We hope to be your hotel of choice when traveling between Canada and Australia in the future!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place for 4 nights at the beginning of our Hawaii vacation. The room Was Very clean and recently updated. It was on the smaller size as far as rooms go, but it did have a full sized couch and dresser. The TV was on top of the Dresser which was on the left wall, not at the foot of the bed. I think if they had arranged the rooms differently, it would feel like a much better use of space. It was not laid out well. The bathroom was near the door, and not visible from the bed, so it gave the room a little larger feel. The sink was on the outside of the bathroom and had almost not space for toiletries. If you are more than one person, you have to put them under the sink. Again, a poor design and use of space. The bathroom had a walk in shower and commode. That room had no a/c but did have a small window that needed to be opened after each shower to let the steam out. There was a safe in the closet and a small frig in the bedroom. There was a coffee pot and coffee as well. There is a large tray in the room, best used for the complimentary breakfast on the rooftop. Breakfast was excellent and included a huge choice of foods to everyone's liking. Plenty of hot coffee, tea, cereals, pastries, eggs, potatoes, yogurt, fruits and juices. The staff keeps everything full and replaced. There was never anything missing. The birds are a problem and it requires a little team work to get your breakfast at the table without the pigeons attacking. The staff tries their best to keep them away as well. That is why the tray is necessary, so you can carry all your food at once and not have to leave it unattended on your table. I do think they could come up with a "green" solution to keep the pigeons away, like owls or fishing wire. I did not seem to notice this problem at any of the other outdoor areas we ate. Parking is expensive and that costs balances the "no resort fee". However, if you park across the street, it is a little cheaper.

Room Tip: The higher floors seem to be quiet. The hotel is about two blocks off the strip, so none of the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfwjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J House Greenwi... H, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Aloha dfwjetsetter,
Mahalo for your review. Our guests generally rave about our larger guest rooms and ability to fit larger families traveling with kids. Please be aware that our parking costs are very competitive with other hotels in the surrounding area. While the pigeons can be nuisance at times, our team does their absolute best to provide our guests with plenty of dining options (i.e. in-room trays to transport food). We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was my second stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki, having visited the exact same week in 2012.

All staff members are very pleasant, helpful and accomodating. Great location, fresh-looking rooms and a more than adequate breakfast spread. Value, value, value is the name of the game here and it's a huge asset if you've done your research on other hotels in Waikiki.

Many people complain about the birds at breakfast, but all open air restaurants in Hawaii have birds. Even the Four Seasons Maui has persistent birds at breakfast. Don't leave your food unattended and you'll be fine. The pool is small, so if you arrive expecting to see a flashy resort pool, you didn't do enough research.

I was so pleased to see Nick behind the gallery bar again. He makes wonderful happy hour drinks, has a loyal following of guests and really is an excellent ambassador for the Hyatt Place.

I will happily return here and will continue to recommed this hotel to others!

Room Tip: After making our reservations on the Hyatt website, we chose the optional upgrade to a room on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnnyI0695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Aloha JohnnyI0695,
Mahalo for sharing your comments and returning to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel. Your kind remarks will be shared with Nick, and he too will be very grateful to hear them. Thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers, and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Located in a great spot right across the road from the beach. The buffet breakfast was amazing the quality of food and the selection was top notch. The service pool side was great. checking in and out was breeze.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeloBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,104 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing