We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as the Regency” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As good as the Regency”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Usually stay at Kahala but on a short trip Waikiki is best so chose this hotel for the first time.
Totaly remodeled from an existing long term hotel apartment complex, and an excellant transformation.
Excellent check in, room was huge, no view on tiny lanai but who cares when one block to beach. 42 inch plasma tv, separate sink shower areas. Breakfast included just fair buffet but you are encouraged to bring everything to your room. Trays provided for ease. Pool is small but all the kids are at the beach so its quiet. Excellant gym right near the pool and 24/7 for the gym.. very professional staff and lots of security. Will definitely stay here and save $200 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a high room facing towards the mountains. Very quite. Check out is very fast so don't wa...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellant. Everything sorted by staff out of site.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha Sand K,
Mahalo for summing up your recent experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We were never an apartment complex, rather an independent hotel prior to renovation. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our 24/7 fitness center and quiet pool. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    1,021
    276
    74
    38
See reviews for
922
887
121
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My family and I recently stayed 7 nights at this hotel, and were pretty impressed. We didn't have a good start - having booked an ocean view room, some 6 mths ago, we arrived to find our room sold. We had to settle for a "city view" room (ie carpark view) for 4 nights, until an ocean view room became available. Gil, the duty manager, agreed to reduce our room rate for the duration of our stay, by way of compensation. This helped to reduce our disappointment.
Compared to other hotels we've stayed in, in Waikiki, the room rate was reasonable. Breakfast was included. The offerings were 'average', but sufficient. There were only two elevators servicing 20 floors, which was frustrating. Aside from this, we were pleased with the hotel, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha Christine B,
Mahalo for taking your family to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for a week! We regret if your stay did not get off on the right foot, but glad our team was able to offer a compromise right away. Our success is based on our affordable rates, super friendly service and complimentary top-notch amenities. We hope to welcome you back again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent 7 nights here. We arrived before 11am but got check-in immediately. Free breakfast buffet probably saved us $300. The downside is small pool and no spa, but Waikiki beach is just out there. Nice location to walk everywhere including Safeway, Rainbow Drive-in, Leonard's bakery, Zoo, Aquarium, beach park (you can do snorkeling there) and when we got so tired from walking, we just take the bus back to hotel, the bus stop is right across the hotel!

Room Tip: We had the room on 3rd floor in Diamond tower. I was worried about it because some reviews said it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha Vicky H,
Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are one of the best kept secrets in Honolulu, offering a great value, convenient location, and delicious a.m. Kitchen Skillet. Also, we are just steps away from great dining and fun attractions. We hope to see you again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hyatt Place (HP) is located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. (Don't mix it up with Hyatt Regency which is across the street from the beach.) There are 2 buildings in Hyatt Place: Pali and Diamond. Other than location, I don't know what the difference is.

Our room was awesome, complete with a little reading nook by the window which was perfect for watching the sunrise. There was free wifi, mini fridge, large screen TV, coffee maker and a mini balcony with chairs. The room was smallish but liveable for our 7-night stay. The room was refreshed daily (Lanie was so thorough!). Other amenities were available upon request (curling iron, baby chair, shaving kit, etc).

The friendly staff were relatively quick with service. The lounge area was huge in the front. Off to the side was the 24/7 Galleria Cafe/Bar with another lounge area. Computers with internet/printer access are behind this area. Expedia reps comprised the Concierge desk. They work daily 0700-1800. Our rep was Chris B who was patient and explained things well. There were also foreign language reps, offered by a different company. There is a small pool and fitness centre.

Breakfast was complimentary daily 0630-0930. We weren't expecting much. But we were surprised: there were 2 different daily hot portions (waffles and sausages or French toast and scrambled eggs) plus a section with miso soup (plus rice and kim chi). There was fresh fruit, breads, toast condiments, oatmeal (with condiments), yogurts, cereals, pastries, granola, juices and coffee. The hotel recommended coming early or bring your tray and eating in your room. Tables were constantly busy. (Watch out for the aggressive pigeons!)

Overall, HP was worth the price especially if you get a deal. We didn't drive but just like any downtown touristy area, parking is expensive. The city bus service is pretty good. But look around for free trolleys. We found out you could book a free trolley from the neighbourly Aston hotel. The access to shopping is ridiculously easy. Check out the smaller independent shops (like Maki shop beside Subway on Kalakaua Avenue). Be prepared for the street sellers (only one wholesale tour salesman was supremely aggressive). I was surprised to see the high numbers of homeless individuals. But the mild weather attracts people who are not financially prepared to live in Hawai'i.

Room Tip: Before you go, look at surrounding buildings. We were on the 8th floor, facing the ocean. But 2 high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanc0uverght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha Vanc0uverght,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We always enjoy reading the ins and outs of a guest experience, and it makes us proud to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations! It sounds like the cozy corner, our efficient service, and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast really stood out during your recent stay. Fellow travelers will greatly appreciate your sightseeing recommendations, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

A belated review having stayed at Hyatt Place for two four night stints either side of a 7 day US mainland trip. Rooms were excellent, good size, spotlessly clean and well furnished. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Although essentially an eggs and bacon breakfast person the range on offer (which doesn't include them) was more than sufficient and appetising to fuel up for the day ahead. The staff were always friendly and ready to help where required. The free computer/internet access were particularly useful for bookings ahead etc. Although located only 100m or so back from the beach Paoakalani Avenue is right at the end of Kalakauana Avenue (just by the zoo) so at the end of a tiring day it can be quite a lengthy walk if you finish your evening at the other end.

Room Tip: There are two towers and as neither are on particularly busy roads there is probably nothing to sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nathansupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha nathansupporter,
Mahalo for your review. We are flattered to read that you felt the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach was "all you could ask for" in a hotel. Our complimentary breakfast variety definitely sets us apart and we are glad you enjoyed it. Happy Holidays and we hope you have a wonderful New Year.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We enjoyed our 10 day stay here in December. The staff are great and very helpful. The room was good, liked having WIFI in the room and the bed was so comfortable. The hot and cold breakfast in the morning was great. It was so nice not to have to go out and find a restaurant in the morning and if you are on a tour you are usually picked up early so we didn't have to rush.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 117Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel has everything. the rooms are very clean an roomy for me anyway , I had a wonderful stay here , the staff gave me a worm welcome from the first day too the last, the breakfast buffet is great, pick your time to eat or there well be some waiting time, the bar was nice for a drink or two, the beach is just on the other side of the street , seen one of the rooms with the ocean view nice but high priced wish I had the money for this. I like to set in the room an look out at the view of Hawaii in the afternoon then go shopping in the evening then go out for a great glass of wine. you must try the trolley hop on hop off great to get to one place to the other or to just see Hawaii.

Room Tip: on the 16th floor the noise was less
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franksgogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,104 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing