We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair value - good location - small rooms - tiny balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here from April 22nd to 26th, 2014.

Good things:
- Free breakfast with plenty of selection. That is a nice touch considering in Waikiki meals can be pricey. Fruits, pastries, hot and cold cereal, bacon and eggs etc etc. It was very busy as to be expected, but we felt it was run quite efficiently and the food didn't run empty.
- Rooms were nice and clean as was the rest of the hotel.
- Comfortable beds
- Good location. We didn't find it too noisy (Waikiki can be very loud) because we were facing a side street. The hotel was just a couple of minutes walk to the beach. Most of the beach front hotels are very pricey compared to being a block or two away.
- Free wi-fi (the other hotel we stayed at in Waikiki charged $10.00 per day)


OK things:
- Front desk staff were just ok. Not overly friendly, but not rude. Just doing their job...nothing more, nothing less. The bar staff were a little more in tune with customer service I think. They have a happy hour in the afternoon and make good tropical drinks.

Things we didn't like:
- If you want a decent size balcony with a view, you may want to give this place a miss. We were on the 5th floor (I asked for the highest floor possible and that was it - hotel was apparently very full). The balcony was so small that you couldn't even face forward in your chair. You had to sit sideways because it was only about 2 feet deep and maybe 8 feet long. We gazed over a rather ugly apartment building. Needless to stay, we didn't spend any time on it. Maybe you get a bigger balcony with a room upgrade??
- The room was tiny.


You get what you pay for. Overall no big complaints about this property. We were satisfied. We paid about $170.00 per night here. We stayed at another nearby Hilton property when we returned to Waikiki after the cruise we took. The Hilton was about $50.00 more per night and you paid for wifi and no breakfast included. It was worth paying the extra though to have a larger balcony with a fabulous view from the 30th floor, not to mention a much larger room.

Room Tip: higher floor if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Aloha David S,
We greatly appreciate you commentary on the highlights of your stay with us! Guests continually praise us on our hotel-wide Wi-Fi and a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, oatmeal, fresh cut fruit, and Asian specialties available daily in our Gallery Kitchen. We regret to learn if our strong sense of aloha spirit was missing during your recent stay, and can guarantee you this is a rare occurrence. Please be aware that the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is one of the very few hotels in Waikiki that offers guests a private lanai. We understand that everyone has different preferences in a hotel, however, we are happy to find ways to custom tailor a guests' experience to make sure their stay is exceptional!
Mahalo,
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,078 - 2,084 of 3,053 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Soild value with free (and good) breakfast buffet. Free wi-fi. No charge for toll free numbers. Clean. Mini-fridge. Large TV. No DVD. Short 2 blocks walk to calm protected beach. Ask for a room that looks down on a side street NOT a main street which are noisy. Short ride to Diamond head - do it - $7 to park then 2 hour or so round trip hike to the top with fantastic views - take lunch (from breakfast buffet). Don't do it if you have probs with your legs. Includes a tunnel and lots of steps near the top.

Room Tip: overlook a side street NOT a main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Staying one block away from the main strip will knock the resort fee from your bill. The informed traveler who books a non-refundable, 21 day advance reservation, will find that the price will be 20% lower than comparable like the Hyatt Regency, or the Marriott Resort, right across the street.

While the numbers are by no means a bargain, they do provide great comfort given the generous amenities, like breakfast and free Wi-fi. The location is just perfect: you are close enough to the beach, but tucked away so as not to be too bothered by the noise.

The staff is professional and extremely friendly. The style is bed and breakfast boutique instead of corporate procedural. Service is timely and efficient. Housekeeping replenished all the needed accessories.

Upgraded suite had a view of Diamondhead. Room was spacious and uncluttered. Mini-living room couch and table is separated from the bed area by a tinted glass partition. The refrigerator was working fine.

The desk is large enough for a computer and paperwork to spare. Strategic electrical plugs are built into the lampshade.

Free Wi-fi is right for basic surfing needs. It had an average download speed of 150kb/sec and maxing out at 175kb/sec. A 2-tiered option for a faster download could be a good paying menu choice.

Layout is well-thought out. More LED lighting could increase the hipness quotient.

It was overall a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lapster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Aloha Lapster2011,
Mahalo for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are happy that you had a very satisfying stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, and greatly appreciated our great value proposition in Waikiki. Thank you for your beautiful comments about our location, our superior room amenities and our outstanding service. It was a pleasure to host you on this visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back for plenty future stays...
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of January 2014 and were initially disappointed that we were put in a small bedroom with only one bed, when we had specifically booked a room with 2 queen beds. The reception staff were unable to move us and seemed to have no record of the beds we had requested. Not a great start - but seems to be a consistent theme when booking using booking.com.

However, apart from the room, we thought the location was great for the price, and the hotel was clean and well maintained. We also liked the breakfast, even though it could be a little windy in some of the seats. I am sure there there are better hotels right on the beach, but for the price this is a great place to stay for the convenience of a short walk to Waikiki beach which was just amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Aloha VanessaDonnelly,
Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! Please be aware that Booking.com is one of our hotel partners and as such we do not purposely assign less desirable rooms based on the origin of our reservations. We are pleased that you enjoyed our pristine accommodations, complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and close proximity to the beach. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is kept very clean, and the staff was very helpful. Did not like having to pay the $28 for valet parking as the other parking was full, EVERY TIME. The breakfast was quite good although I would like to see more hot choices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Aloha Stanice,
Mahalo for your review. Parking is limited in Waikiki and we regret that you were not given more options when searching for a spot. We are happy that you found our team to be very accommodating during your stay, but regret if our breakfast options fell short of exceeding expectations. Please be assured that our skillets offer a wide variety of freshly prepared hot breakfast options, such as our Signature Breakfast Sandwiches, as well as Low-Carb options, plus waffles, pancakes and Cinnamon French Toast.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was a great hotel!.Informed at check in that we were upgraded to mountain view room. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and it was over the top!. Had a sitting area with sofa bed that was separarted from the beds by a partition. Gave extra room for my grandson to play. The beds were super comfortable. No resort fee, which most hotels in the area charge. Breakfast was great but after th 4th day the menu repeats.Room was always clean upon our return. The staff was great. Responded quickly to our requests. No need to call front desk for stuff. just text and they respond quickly!! LOVED this option! Pool is small but the beach is 5 minute walk away. If you have children this area for the beach is great as there is a break there,so it's a little safer.Had some activities for kids like making leis for free! We did not rent a car since it was our first time there and we were fine. The hotel has an agreement with Charlies Taxi for $29 flat rate fee to/from airport. Across the street at the Marriot you can catch shuttles to just about any attraction you may book and the bus pick up is nearby also.5 minute walk to zoo. Shopping and eateries nearby. Away from noisy night life but easy walk to that area. Yes, there are homeless prople laying around on sidewalk, which was surprising but they didn't seem to bother the visitors.This was a GREAT location for our stay and I would stay again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views but if it's windy you can here the wind blowing.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank vacaGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Aloha vacaGloria,
We are happy to hear that you were upgraded upon arrival! What a nice surprise. Our cozy corners are great to six back and chill out, and provides additional space for the family to gather or play with young children. Glad you enjoyed our text messaging platform at the hotel...this has proven to a be a very successful tool for our guests. Many of our guests truly appreciate our partnership with Charlie's Taxi, and consistently take advantage of their affordable transportation rate to and from the airport. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Overall great experience. Hotel was clean. Staff was friendly. Only 5 minute walk to the beach. Great beach area for small children (there is a breaker in the ocean so no waves). My 2 year old had a great time. Very close walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The breakfast was average considering it's free but that was ok with me considering I didn't want to fill up on breakfast food when I would be eating out for lunch and dinner. The hot food was different every morning. Fresh fruit, yogurt, variety of breads and cereals, and juice. No resort fee.
The only cons were the elevator machinery was loud and could be heard from our room and the self-park garage was full so we had to valet park which was pricey.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Aloha Grace M,
We are so thrilled to hear that you had a such a wonderful stay with us and we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our convenient location, friendly service, and our pristine accommodations. Mahalo for choosing the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,547 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,166 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,620 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £147 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing