We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location and overall value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location and overall value”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Beginning with the welcome and tour of the facilities all the way to the excellent front desk check-out, the impeccable housekeeping and cleanliness and the great choices for breakfast, this is an excellent value in Waikiki. It is not a resort and activities are limited but also the price reflects that difference. There is no added resort fees (for things I will not use) and you get free wi-fi, free breakfast, there is a small gym and pool and you get fresh towels to take to the beach. For an extra $20 or so I had a room with a separate seating area with lots of outlets to plug all my electrical/electronic stuff (very hard to find in the older hotels). The lobby is large, outdoor/indoor and lots of space with good wi-fi connectivity to work or hang out. You can get fresh coffee and snacks 24/7 and there is also a bar available (reasonable prices)
I am (was) a big fan of Hilton but slowly but surely are moving to the Hyatt family and Hyatt Place is a great brand within the family.

Room Tip: I would splurge and get the room with the extra sitting space. Would also get a higher floor with an...
See more room tips
Green Features: The plants looked very local and fit in with the Hawaii feel. I was offered not to change linen and I did not.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeisariRami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    1,091
    294
    77
    41
See reviews for
1,006
963
135
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Clean, helpful, all you look for in a hotel. Breakfast area is a bit eeerrr, other than that, a fantastic experience. We had no problems with the lift as others had complained about. ......."..........

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha Robert A,
Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are thrilled that you had a fantastic experience with us. We look forward to your next return!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel to be quiet, convenient and excellent value for money. While the rooms may be a bit on the small side, they are comfortable and supply all necessary amenities. The room rate also includes a free buffet breakfast that was more than adequate and free wifi. The Hyatt beds are second to none so there's no problems getting a good nights rest after a busy day exploring beautiful Waikiki and surrounds. This hotel, while not directly on the beach front, is a very short walk to the beach which is never too crowded. It is also close walking distance to the shopping strip along the main beach road and great restaurants and has all the tour buses and shopping transfer shuttles stopping right outside. All in all a perfect hotel for those who aren't fussed about not being right in the middle of the strip. Enjoy your stay, we did.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha Karen L,
We offer one of the best values in Waikiki Beach with our wide selection of complimentary amenities and comfortable accommodations. The Hyatt Grand beds are very popular, since many of our previous guests continually rave about them in their reviews. We are glad you enjoyed our location off the beaten path but within close proximity to all that Waikiki has to offer.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay was great. The room was large, clean, and easily fit our family of 4. The free breakfast and free wifi were an excellent addition to the stay. Short walk to the beach. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha ellie999,
Mahalo for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers! We look forward to providing you with another excellent stay in the near future.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

New hotel with great rooms - can choose, beach, city or mountain view rooms. Great housekeeper, cleaned very well. Front desk staff need more employees, service was slow at front desk and bar. Main lobby was not air conditioned - very muggy. Overall, good experience, 2 minute walk to the beach and strip. Very conveniently located.

Room Tip: Rooms on the city side are nice, view to the city and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha LovetotravelT,
Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, however, regret if the wait time caused any inconvenience at the front desk and coffee to cocktails bar. On your next return to Waikiki, we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great Location and Fantastic Customer Service. My husband and I were allowed to check in early and staff were very accommodating and extremely helpful. The location to the beach, nightlife and zoo were wonderful.
I cannot say enough about the excellent breakfast buffet in the morning and again the fanstastic staff that go the extra mile.
Well done Hyatt, Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendeljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha Wendeljean,
Mahalo nui loa for your wonderful compliments! We are very grateful to hear how much our a.m. Kitchen Skillet exceeded expectations during your stay. It always puts a smile on our face to see that we've impressed a guest with our accommodations!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great value hotel with very nice rooms close to the beach. Breakfast is included and has a reasonable selection although some of the food is pretty poor quality. Overall I recommend highly for those not wanting to pay the higher cost of the beachfront hotels

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julian_bartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Aloha julian_bartlett,
Glad to hear that you felt the hotel was a great value and especially considering our close proximity to Waikiki Beach! Thank you also for your candid feedback regarding the breakfast menu. We pride ourselves in offering a variety of hot and cold breakfast items including hot breakfast sandwiches, hot oatmeal, fresh fruit, and an array of breads and pasteries. We sincerely regret that this did not meet with your liking. We hope that if you return again we will be able to regain our faith in our hotel.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing