We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Place on Waikiki Beach for 3 nights. The location is great. It's easy to get to with a car and the hotel is along Waikiki Beach so there are plenty of restaurants, shopping and things to do nearby. There were 2 downsides to the hotel during our stay. In the evenings, one of the two elevators was not working. So, there was a long line for the elevator at night (not something you want to have to deal with after a day out in the sun). The second hiccup was parking. When we arrived, the hotel ran out of self parking so we had to pay extra for valet parking. There is a charge for self parking, but valet is more. Other than those 2 minor complaints, the hotel was great overall. Breakfast is included with the stay and they had a decent selection (eggs, meat, cereal, etc.). We enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvDebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha LuvDebe,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us! We are happy that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet. Please pardon the minor delays you experienced while waiting for the elevator in the evenings. We appreciate your patience and understanding while we worked to repair one of the elevators. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    1,108
    296
    78
    42
See reviews for
1,039
975
136
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is good if you have been to Hawaii many times and you are just looking for a place to crash. I would not necessarily stay here if it was my first-time as I would want it to be special. The hotel is very clean and the staff is excellent. It has a nice gym with free breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Overall no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaikikiTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here in April as a family of 4. The location was great. It is easy walking distance to the quiet end of Waikiki and the kids beaches. We had a room on the 14th floor which was beautifully quiet and had a nice enough view to Diamond Head if you craned your neck a little! The staff were wonderfully polite and helpful as were the guys working the valet. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was served daily and was more than enough to get us going for the day - and we really appreciated the opportunity to take a coffee away too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AU_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good location. Value for money, great no taxes and free breakfast. Breakfast got very boring after 10 days but we are not complaining it saved us lots of money which we spent elsewhere! Local buses take you everywhere for $2 so you don't need a car. Comfortable bed and air conditioning. Fantastic to have free Wifi. We would be happy to return.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view which was fine, an ocean view would have been nice but why pay more when most...
See more room tips
Green Features: Need to sort out pigeons which are a nuisance, not only here but around beach. Council environmental department needs to formulate a strategy for their control. Perhaps the hotel could consider putting a fine net canopy over breakfast
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biff75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Aloha biff75--Mahalo for your lovely comments! It gives us great pleasure to read that you would return to us again. -The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights for the first leg of our 2 week Hawaiian vacation. The hotel is very close to the beaches and I was very happy with how modern and spacious the room we had was. The hotel was completley up to par and we have no complaints.

The breakfast was ok - the frist day there was this strange omelette thing - but other than that it's fine - don't go in expecting a gormet breakfast - if you just want something to eat before starting the day it's perfect.

We are from a large city to Waikiki tired on us quickly - but the beaches are lovely and if you like shopping you're in for a treat.

Maybe the only negative would be the wifi - weak at best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abnyc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Aloha abnyc16,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the beginning of your Hawaiian vacation! We are happy that you enjoyed our modern and spacious guest rooms during your stay. It seems our a.m. Kitchen Skillet and WiFi fell below expectations, and will address the internet concern internally to ensure that no other guest reports a problem moving forward. If you ever decide to return to Waikiki again in the future, we hope you will stay with us!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

When we arrived at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, the receptionist was very nice and told us that we had an upgraded room. We had booked a city view room for 10 nights but, we got a bigger room with a separate living room. The room was very clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We did not go outside as our view was an ugly apartment building. The complimentary breakfast was amazing and the birds did not bother us at all. The free Wi-Fi was great to have. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. Only a block to the beach and the main strip. Very easy to take the public transportation across the street to go to the shopping mall, diamond head, etc. About one block walk to the zoo. The Hyatt Place is very well located. We really enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend the Hyatt Place.

Louise C.

Room Tip: Higher floors to have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Aloha Louise C,
What a nice surprise to be upgraded as soon as you arrived at the hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your deluxe city view room. It is great to hear that our central location, aloha spirit, and comfortable Hyatt Grand Bed. Mahalo for highly recommending the Hyatt Place to the TripAdvisor community, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed in a "mountain view room" but had to look through the other high rises hotels to see them. There were a few things that I liked, no resort fee, 24/7 access to their gallery menu, beach or swimming pool towels, free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast. In regards to parking, you can pay $20 a day for self-park or $30 for valet but we went a completely different route. A block a way from the hotel is the street parking and from 6pm - 7am its free! If you are planning on spending the day by the hotel you can move the car into the zoo's parking lot and pay $11 to keep there until 6pm then move it back to the street. This worked out for us because we took a day trip 2 out of 3 days we were there. Instead of spending $60 on parking we only spent $20 for the entire time. Another suggestion is if you are planning on spending more than 2 days on the beach I would suggest buying a beach umbrella from the ABC store ($18) instead of renting one for $20 a day from the stands on the beach.

Room Tip: High floors have better view and less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Aloha Bill G,
We offer one of the best values in all of Waikiki with our 24/7 Gallery Menu, complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, no resort fees, and delicious a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast offered daily. Future guests will appreciate reading your tips on parking on the island, and where to get the best deal on an beach umbrella. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,363 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing