We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Hyatt Place Waikiki and found it to be quite clean, safe and convenient. Approximately five minutes walk from the beach. Hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the Waikiki stretch. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was good, fresh fruits and mixed selection of items everyday. Ocean view rooms are so worth it you can take your breakfast to the balcony. Would definitely stay here again.
Mahalo to the staff of Hyatt Place!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha Sherry S- Mahalo for the great compliments and acknowledging our convenient location, extensive breakfast selection, and friendly gallery hosts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    1,074
    291
    76
    40
See reviews for
986
943
129
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is generally what you expect from a Hyatt Place, which is a tier lower then the regency. But IMHO they don't lose much of the service, it's just not as stuffy. younger crowd or those who don't plan on spending much time in the room. It's literally a 3 min walk from the beach. Has a pool, decent (but not amazing) breakfast, good and very clean gym with lots of treadmills, bikes and elliptical machines. Bar is open late. Music at the bar on the weekends.

Pros:
Staff and service were excellent. Went out of their way on every occasion.
Like I mentioned - blocks from the beach
Rooms are very big.

Cons:
Elevators take FOREVER. Easier to take steps but sucks if you're on a high floor (unless you want to use it as your work out)
Breakfast is a bit of a battle zone as everyone is there to suck down the grub and get to the beach
Parking - we didn't rent a car overnight (that's the key, just rent a car for the day and bring it back to the rental agency at night. Then rent it again in the AM to save on parking). Parking at the hyatt was $24.

Overall I'd say stay there. Esp. if you have points.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-corner room or you'll be able to hear the adjacent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanandreasfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha sanandreasfault,
Thank you for acknowledging the strengths of the hotel and staff. When we are full capacity there is naturally more people in the building which impacts the response time of the elevators. During peak hours especially, we recommend allowing more travel time in and out of the building. We appreciate your patience and are glad that you would choose to return, especially for Gold Passport points! .
Mahalo,
--The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I think we were in the older part of the hotel. It was formerly called something else, so its not set up like a normal Hyatt Place in the tower we were in. Maybe the other tower was, Im not sure. In the older tower that we were in, it smelled a little musty, but the service was still great, breakfast was good & changed each day. We could still look out our balcony & see the ocean & a portion of Diamondhead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolliAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha HolliStutz,
Every guest room at our hotel was remodeled during the transition from Ocean Resort Hotel to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach.
--The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had a very large room that was clean and comfortable if not particularly stylish. I like the hotels location, very near the beach and strip, but slightly removed from the action—easy to walk everywhere. This hotel struck me as being extremely good value and a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha Gandaratravels- Mahalo for the great comments! Our hotel offers one of the best values in Waikiki, and glad you had a nice and relaxing getaway with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I had read negative reviews about this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, clean and spacious. We didn't wait for elevators but I don't know if this is a busy time if year or not. The free Bree breakfast was great. A big selection and fresh every day. The wind was a bit if a problem hen you were eating breakfast, but a tray was provided to take breakfast to your room. All in all a great hotel. Would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim92956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Kim92956- Mahalo for the great feedback. We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and spacious guest room. It would be a pleasure to see you again!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This was a stay-cation and specifically booked this hotel for the fire pit and breakfast. I had room 710 on diamond head tower.
The room was small and not like the photo which showed a pullout sofa. Our room just had a one sitter. The bed was great! Hair dryer and iron in room with mini fridge. One cup coffee maker and in room tray was a plus.
My first night went to the fire pit at night to find ... It's not on! Oh snap! The feature I was looking for and it's not turned on! Please advertise on the website when it's on ... I felt a big letdown.
So my second gripe was the minuscule balcony ... Two chairs facing each other with a table. The view was nice of Leahi but the air unit was behind one chair making it very uncomfortably hot.
As for breakfast, it was okay. Egg croissant and French toast. Hot and cold cereals. Variety of breads and juices. We only drank juice.
I felt the complimentary coffee should be put out earlier in the lobby and at night when guest returns. We weren't able to use this service.
The exercise room was nicely equipped.
We paid an extra $50 per day vs another budget hotel during a stay in May.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spunky_spud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Aloha spunky_spud,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us for your stay-cation! We regret to learn if the fire pit was not functioning during your stay, and hope you brought this to the attention of one of our Gallery Hosts. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A lot of reviews accurate - elevator wait, some sign of age, rooms that are close to each other are really not quiet, and a room within close proximity from what I had (12th floor, Deluxe Mtn. View) gets loud with the in & out of other guests. Parking is another thing, only 20, or so self-park spots (more on that later though). Although, the hotel did it's best to fulfill my "Quiet room" preference. They did all they can, that's the thing. Those cons didn't outweigh benefits. Very helpful staff upon check in. - literally a slew of 20+ people from a van that offloaded just in front of me but front desk (or, Gallery Host, as they refer to themselves) quickly took next person and expedited my check in. I know why they're referred to Gallery Host because after check in, they show you around, well, the Gallery. The lobby, as most people say, is beautiful. Open air, tropical setting, public computers. Very nice. That's what I mean, elevator wait (c'mon, you're in Hawaii), age of hotel (very clean and updated rooms, what'd you expect for older part of island overrun by tourists all the time), etc. Especially accommodating was the overnight staff. I mean, I had a specific request for a specific time frame and they pulled through - Matt (Gallery Host) and Mark De Guzman (parking attendant), you know what you did! Awesome. I mean parking was either self-park (not usually available) and public parking up until midnight each night for fee as well. But, Mark, he'll take care of you. Trust me, he did for me. All in all, breakfast included, nice location, updated rooms (I mean, walk-in glass door, shower). Great stay!

Room Tip: Higher room but if elevator wait a problem then lower, like 6th floor, or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Aloha JD,
Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your great experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! You can't beat our location in Waikiki, in addition to the five-star service provided by our enthusiastic team members. We will be sure to share your praises with both Mark's at the hotel, and they will greatly appreciate hearing the nice feedback!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing